Proton to launch new models every year with Geely

Under Proton’s strategic partnership with Geely, the cooperation is set the bring forth one new model every year starting with the Geely Boyue at the end of 2018. Before then, the partnership will be focusing on improving aspects such as customer service.

“It will be very difficult for me for the next 14 months, because we will have no new products. But we have some metrics to do something. For example, we can improve customer satisfaction, SSI and CSI. Then we can get more potential good dealers to come with us together,” said Li Chunrong, chief executive officer of Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd (PONSB), who has replaced Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali.

The protracted timeline for the introduction of new models – beginning with the Boyue at the end of 2018 – is due to the prioritising of the aforementioned objectives, namely the improvement of customer experience and the expansion of its dealer network.

“We will jointly develop new products. The most important for the company is to focus on customer satisfaction. We will have [time for three] car clinics. We should understand what do Malaysian customers would want. Then we will, according to their needs, redesign [the car]. After the first new product, we have decided to launch a new product every year,” Li added.

Geely, however, acknowledges the size and complexity of the tasks ahead, which require coordination between teams in two countries. “We understand that the team, including our Malaysian and Chinese colleagues as well as Geely’s R&D team in China will have a very intensive timetable to deliver the new products,” said Daniel Donghui Li, DRB-Hicom-Geely board member.

In a nutshell, a steady stream of new models are to be expected, but not before efforts to improve customer engagement have commenced. What do you think of this?

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments on the Proton-Geely collaboration primarily express optimism and hope for technological advancement, with expectations of new models every year based on Geely's lineup. There’s admiration for Geely's recent acquisitions like Volvo, signaling confidence in their tech capabilities. Many hope Proton will adopt modern engines, gears, and maintain key features like the signal stalk on the right, to improve quality and sales. Some critics remain skeptical, citing past failures, quality concerns, and the need for Proton to return funds owed. Overall, comments favor Proton's future growth with Geely’s influence, emphasizing that a strategic focus on innovative, affordable, and competitive models could lead Proton to reclaim a stronger position in Malaysia and ASEAN markets.

• tahniah Geely Malaysia for showing them how to do work properly, just like P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
    • Nope. Geely showed them theres brighter future against a P2 alternative of souless moving deathtraps, overprice for underspecs, constant pleading for new cars, new tech, and more money, oh, and rear axles that has the penchant to roam free of its linkage to the car.

Tahniah Geely Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 45
      • Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:10 pm

Proton can talk all they want but pls return all the hutang of RM1.5 bil and RM1.8 bil you have taken. Also, Mustapa also said past 20 yrs, have taken addition RM15 bil.

Pls return all that. Then we talk about your great plans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 85
        • Alredi returned. Pls ask Geely instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 80
          • Geely : Thats small money for 12,000 slaves. Hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Not enough can always ask Rohingyas to work in Proton factory

• Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:49 am

pls show evidence that Proton has returned the money. Is this another fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
          • Geely buying P1 is hinged on Geely settling the loan. Since the transaction is complete, ergo implied Geely HAS paid the loan.

Now its ur turn to show PROOF that Geely din make the payment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 8:24 pm

People cannot understand one thing. Proton was born in 1985. But Geely was born in 1997.

And yet, Proton is taking technology from someone much younger than it.

How can Geely, started far later than Proton, have so much of technology and knowhow? Remember, Proton is 12 years older than Geely.

In most case scenarios, the older company will always know more than a younger company.

what has Proton engineers been doing the past 30 yrs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 85
      • And yet u claimed P1 started 10 years b4 merdeka. So mana cerita betui ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 65
        • Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:49 am

Another fake news? Pls show evidence that Proton started 4 years before 1957

• What? U the one that claimed P1 started same time as Kia which predates Merdeka. U shud be the one showing proof to back that claim.

• You are embarrassing on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Mmmm tech is not about young or old, even uncle like you learn using hp from your grandchild. Malu betul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 66
      • Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:51 am

all tidur during office hours. No invention from Proton the past 30 yrs.

Only come out with Campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • Ohwai on Oct 01, 2017 at 8:33 am

Huh? You must be insane not t admit p1 intervention even during rebadging time

• Nasi Ambeng on Sep 30, 2017 at 8:26 am

And you are still driving waja and shitty saga eswsrs. They bought over volvo

• Progeeli on Sep 30, 2017 at 8:30 am

Proton busy makan karipap la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
      • Rowan on Sep 30, 2017 at 4:16 pm

All of Proton’s cars before the Waja were just rebadged cars from other brands, during this time they were not developing technologies. Geely also managed to buy Volvo, a company much older than either Geely or Proton, which is where the majority of Geely’s tech comes from.

• Jonn Dol on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Everyone knows the first model out of the Proton-Geely alliance would be the re-badged Geely Boyue, but what models comes after that is certainly the most interesting new product to watch .It’s the “real” product of the Proton-Geely collaboration.

• Teropong on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Tak payah pening, tak payah fikir.
      Tanjung malim pasang volvo saje lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Hopefully proton becomes a proper taxpayer. Millions have been burned to satisfy one man’s ego.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Nope, Proton is always a proper taxpayer. It is the responsibility of Malaysians to support our national car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
      • tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:32 pm

They’re not. When companies make losses, they get business loss allowance, so instead they get privileged by tax collector.

Paying excise duty does not count as being tax payer, as other companies pay the duty too. And really, excise duty is actually paid by customers (or banks for most people) upfront, proton and other companies are just temporarily holding it, then they gotta pay Kastam.

The only difference between proton and others is others are profitable in their operation and thus pay corporate tax.

• Patriotik Konon on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:33 pm

But excise duty also factored in otr car price which multiplied by GST tax and then jerked up again inside car loan interest charges.

So basically car buyers being double taxed and they deserved to be called double patriotic.

Whenever you or idiotic macai like John trying to talk anything about patriotism, look no further than any car buyers around. They’re the most patriotic people by paying the most ridiculous extortionate tax ever without even realise it.

To be exact it’s around Rm20 billion of car taxes and possibly another Rm30 billion of car loan interest charges alone, not to mention other car related GST taxes such as car insurance and car services etc. per year. That’s RM50 billion worth of patriotism paid by car buyers.

Now tell me who is actually not patriotic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • If u and ur fellow poor Malaysians can’t afford a car, there is always the option of public transport provided by our caring Gov

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
          • Public transports is for all.
            Public transports is for environ.
            Public transports is the future.
            Public transports > all

• sabahan on Sep 30, 2017 at 9:44 am

No brain komen. public transport?
            Kudat to sandakan how leh

• Public transport > all

• Tricycle on Sep 29, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Support our national car lah, white elephant lah…Mana mau nie

See – https://paultan.org/2016/02/18/govt-to-allow-duty-exempt-import-of-100-tesla-model-s/

• fadzili Rahman on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:05 pm

we have been hearing this since 2012 when DRB came in and destroyed proton to take over their shah alam land. this will materialize only when Geely in full control and no DRB or proton deadwoods involved. to design a screw they need a year time and 1000 engineers!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Ruslan Bahari on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Hahahaha! You’re a comedian?
      DRB-HICOM didn’t have to destroy PROTON. That was what their own management did. It all started under that FMCG prince who felt his CAMPRO was a proper engine, and believed that Malaysians didn’t need a glove compartment!
      He then collaborated with the French for a drivetrain that sent an inherently good car – the Savvy – south.

• Proton Geli on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:07 pm

Perodua, Honda, Toyota are in trouble. Proton-Geely will dominate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Biasalah, new broom sweeps well.

• balldisc on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Currently Proton already has 6 car models range in its line-up (including more than 5 yrs old Exora and Preve). if Proton launch 4 new models in the next 4 years (based on Geely cars), it will be quite useless if the focus remains for Malaysia (relatively a small market).

Proton must immediate recognise the importance of its presence in both old and new markets.

• John Tongsan on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:11 pm

What we want from Proton cars:

1. Remove Campro, replace it with Toyota dual-VVTi engine. Minimum 15km/L fuel economy.

2. Remove Punch gearbox, replace it with Aisin Toyota gearbox.

3. Signal stalk on right-side of steering wheel, not on left side.

4. A 10-years car warranty + 10-years free service parts & labour (unlimited mileage).

5. New chief designer. Preferably Peter Schreyer.

Fulfill all the above and Proton surely can sell 1 million cars per year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • Yeah right on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:45 pm

If can achieve all those criterias but selling at Toyota price, would you still buy Proton? You would most probably be hypocritical and go back to buying Toyotas, right? Stop talking like all those things comes free, dude (well, except for the signal thing).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • My england is bad on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Toyota engine dah ketinggalan, better throw into longkang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
        • I study in UiTM on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:16 am

Dual VVT-i ketinggalan? Then single VVT Proton enjin should throw into garbage can!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Every single P1 engine evolution has better HP and torque and response than predecessor. Toyota junk dual-VVTi has lousier response, lower HP & NM than dino 1NZFE. So it shud be sent straight to melted down instead, and make into shiny new P1 VVT engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
          • Dual VVTI no powah at lower RPM. Vios is accelerating like snail when it in full load.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Taknaktoyota on Oct 01, 2017 at 8:37 am

Dual vvti is useless i wont save fuel 2x than single vvti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • What we want from Proton cars:

1. No dinosar engine like Toyota dual-VVTi fuel guzzler.

2. No ancient noisy and selowpoke gearbox like Aisin Toyota gearbox.

3. Keep the signal stalk left, as its more intuitive.

4. Reasonable warranty & servicing unlike unrealistic & stupid basher demands.

5. New chief designer. Preferably NOT copycat Schreyer.

Fulfill all the above and Proton surely can sell 1 million cars per year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 50
      • Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:56 am

syiok sendiri kampung mentality. Already aim 1 mil cars when now, 60,000 cars already cannot sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 50
        • Why blame me why I only repeat what u said? What a weird person , u are!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
        • Why get angry at what u said? Be poi-sitive ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
        • Tarakbaca on Oct 01, 2017 at 8:39 am

Cannnn if p1 be right hand side car producer fir geely like skoda in west and the market is all over ASEAN. Basher tarak baca!

• Cash is King on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Good luck to you Geely. It means you’re ready to burn RM1 billion every year for Proton also.

• suhaimie on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:16 pm

First thing is to decide which models to chop.
    No use keeping the Perdana & Ertiga when royalty has to be paid & margin is practically at zero.
    And looks like all the hoo haa about the new range of engines is empty talk. Not gonna happen cos it just doesn’t make economic sense.
    Wet dreams are over. !!

• The Ricardos is still applicable. Its still more advanced than anything Geely has right now.

• Chris on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:38 pm

Its simple, all we wanted are Cheap and Good. And, please NO MILO TIN. Let’s kill the japs

• Johny on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:38 am

U see, China Help Malaysia!

• Gabriel on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:15 am

I can’t wait for the third national car company to kick in when the opposition is elected to power after GE14. Long live our beloved PM Mahathir!

• “launch new model every year”
    “launch x number of model every year”
    most car co failed to deliver such promises
    but lets keep our finger crossed and see if they deliver new model every year

• Najib Patut Mampus on Sep 30, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Now Proton quality will be even worst. This is the end of Proton, since only dumb people will buy Proton after this.

• Rajkumal on Sep 30, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Tutup saja dah. Tak payah nak improve itu dan ini. Proton buka kedai jualnasilemak dan kopi O bagus. Dah berapa tahun proton menipu rakyat malaysia…..China produk tak da kuality…tak kan tak tahu…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • UNCLE WILLIAM on May 01, 2018 at 12:09 am

Hi John Tongsan,

I am with you 101% on the signal stalk on the right because we are right hand drive.

Earlier saga and even wira were on the right. Later Proton was ambitious to market Europe and USA so tried to save cost with one stock only on the left.

One minister asked why drivers seldom signal. Proton is the reason.

Other thing is the exhaust pipe now it is on the left behind the front passenger. Should be behind the driver like all Nissan, Toyota and Honda.

Uncle Willia