Hyundai alert system to remind of kids in rear seats

Children forgotten about and left behind in a locked vehicle is one of many things which could go wrong. Hyundai aims to rectify that with the Rear Occupant Alert System, which uses ultrasonic sensors to monitor the vehicle’s rear seats.

The system employs aural and visual alerts to draw the driver’s attention to the matter. When the driver is exiting the vehicle, a visual prompt first appears on the centre instrument display; if movement is detected in the rear seats after the driver has left the vehicle, the horn will sound, lights will be flashed and, if connected to the Hyundai Blue Link system, the driver’s smartphone will receive an alert.

Child deaths by heatstroke in vehicles is a lamentable statistic. In the United States, 38 children have died from heatstroke in hot cars, while more than 800 children have died in the country from heat-related ailments in vehicles since 1994. Parents unaware the child was in the car accounted for 55% of such occurences, according to Hyundai.

The Rear Occupant Alert System will be rolled out on Hyundai models in the US, beginning in the 2019 model year. “This system is a first step in preventing tragedies. We understand only a brief lapse in judgement and inattention can have terrible consequences,” said vice president of product, corporate and digital planning at Hyundai North America, Mike O’Brien.

Nissan has a slightly different approach for the same purpose with its Rear Door Alert, which will alert the driver to check the rear passenger compartment if a rear door was opened prior to a drive, but has not been re-opened once the journey has been completed.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• MeToo on Oct 04, 2017 at 12:43 pm

This will definitely help those parents who “accidentally” leave their children locked under the noon sun…

• Hyundai89 on Oct 04, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Think of Hyundai santa fe. Good for local family with 6 or more kids

• Stupido Parents who forget la,,,wth on Oct 04, 2017 at 1:04 pm

unbelievable! Parent could forget they have kids in the car?? Maybe Maybe they under lots of pressure that having kids just adds to it, and the brain kinda wanna forget they exists? WTF is this man…

• AddPepperAddSalt on Oct 04, 2017 at 4:44 pm

You never know, parents these days are very stress. All stressing to earn more money to ensure their kids are well fed and get good education.

• If in the end, the kid KO, then whats the point? Rather the kid have a relatively stress-free life and live like a kid.

• potato on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:21 am

I sometimes do forget the grocery bags i have at the back seat.

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 04, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Nice tech innovation…

• jibby v2.60 on Oct 04, 2017 at 1:41 pm

very good initiative by hyundai. clap clap clap

• anuar on Oct 04, 2017 at 1:50 pm

just imagine you back late at night with this car.

suddenly you car honk and head light flashed giving alarm there is movement in your car.
    and the Hyundai Blue Link system give an alert to you phone with video from rear seat.
    There is children in your car, and than your realized that you are single.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • When I see 9GAG user comment, I upvote

• shogun on Oct 04, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Damn creepy AF. Same case with my friend, he’s driving late at night. Suddenly the car sound the alarm because the passenger not fastening the seatbelt. He is driving alone.. .

• dolloh dari seberang takir on Oct 04, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Demm la u just gave me a scary story to remember on the drive home frm a night-shift work.

• James Wan on Oct 05, 2017 at 7:51 am

Your idea @anuar : James Wan approves :D

• Benda bagus untuk jaga keselamatan anak kita kena puji.

• Driver's Choice on Oct 04, 2017 at 2:08 pm

I think it’s better to add on self-turn on engine+air con after triggering the horn,light,message to prevent the child from heat stroke.

• Parents who can even forget their kid is behind shud never be parents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
    • 12yrsold on Oct 04, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Do not be too FAST to judge & too SLOW to compliment. U wouldn’t know until it happen to U. Am sure the parent’s who have “forgotten” are suffering NOW bcos of a lapse of concentration.

• If animals can ensure the safety of their offspring, what sorry excuse is sufficient that can absolves them to ignore the basic instinct of a living being?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
        • 12yrsold on Oct 05, 2017 at 8:36 am

By using animal as your point of contention makes U an animal! Speaks for yourself. Humans are NOT Animals.
          Lets hope U do not make the same mistake because humans do make mistake. U must be the exception to the rule.

• Good Riddance on Oct 04, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Too much hatred, he is.

• Very good initiative!!

• dolloh dari seberang takir on Oct 04, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Ooh what if we bcome dependent on the tech? What if parents cannot remember to take out their children without the system reminding them? What if the system goes kaput, car parked in a roofless carpark on one sunny day, no warning comes out to remind the parents that they are not taking their babies with them?

• good initiative but wont work in malaysia lah, becos if drivers can ignore the “wear seat belt” sign, you reckon they will bother to read this alert?

• I needed this on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:16 pm

I once left my cat…i still hve nightmares u know

• When the check rear seat lights are on, driving late at night, and you remember you’re single and don’t have any kids.

• potato on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:19 am

can it be disabled like passenger seatbelt warnings, because sometimes parents do leave their kids in the car on purpose.

it’s not a big issue when the windows are slightly down and all brakes/gears properly locked and not under hot sun.

• And risk getting ur kid & car stolen like recently? Is the risk worth it?