Mobike bicycle sharing service now in Malaysia – available in Cyberjaya, Setia Alam; RM1.50/half-hour

Mobike bicycle sharing service now in Malaysia –  available in Cyberjaya, Setia Alam; RM1.50/half-hour

Touted as ‘the perfect first- and last-mile solution’, smart bike-sharing company Mobike has expanded its reach to include Malaysia, in partnership with Cyberview Sdn Bhd and Mastercard. The bicycle sharing service arrives in Cyberjaya from its origin in Shanghai in April 2016, and is slated to reach one new city in Malaysia every month; the region is the second to receive Mobike’s after Setia Alam.

Now in 180 cities globally, Mobike has readied 10 bicycle parking hubs and over 100 bicycles for the Cyberjaya region; more will be added to the fleet if and when an increase in demand is seen. Malaysia is the second country to receive Mobike’s sharing service after Singapore; Thailand is slated to follow next.

A little bit about the bicycles themselves – these are aluminium-framed, single-speed shaft driven bicycles, which feature a dynamo in the rear hub for electricity generation in order to power each bicycle’s headlamp, GPS and QR code-enabled lock. Solid, airless rubber tyres are fitted to magnesium wheels, which feature a drum brake in front and a disc brake at the rear. Mobike estimates a four-year maintenance-free lifespan.

Mobike bicycle sharing service now in Malaysia –  available in Cyberjaya, Setia Alam; RM1.50/half-hour

To use the Mobike sharing service, users will first need to download the mobile app (available from the Apple App Store for iOS and from the Google Play Store for Android). Upon registration, a one-time refundable deposit of RM99 is required, with a half-hourly usage rate of RM1.50. For its debut month of October, the promotional rate stands at RM9 for deposit, and free-of-charge usage.

In terms of safeguards, Mobike covers its users with AXA third-party insurance, and to ensure reasonable use, Mobike incorporates a demerit points system which will go towards a higher price of admission in the event of misuse, such as parking or abandoning the bicycles in areas other than the designated parking spaces.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AhKeong on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:28 pm

oBike and then moBike? im going to start emoBike!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:58 pm

These startups are going to fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • frog inside the well on Oct 04, 2017 at 9:57 pm

Plz go to study Mobike before make such comment :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • Please study their financial report before talking. Just like Proton, Mobike is on life support from investor’s funds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
          • ELectric Scooter more syiok lah!!

• If u only look at financial repots to judge, then u dunno how these internet startup entities operates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Kalau bab business, Proton clowns should be the last to comment. Bab jual company, then its their forte.

• So apparent that caveman cant understand how techpreneurships being done.

• For someone working in a company that jual sana sini despite heavily protected by the government wants to talk about tech entrepreneurship. hahah… them Proton.

• Well i admit, even thou we No1 in MY, we do try jual sana sini in ASEAN but need to rebadge to mother Diehatsu 1st.
            And what does P1 has to do with startups? Clearly u have no idea whats an internet techpreneurship.

• What happens if Ofo and Mobike decide to merge?

Surprise, Mofo.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Nothing brilliant about these startups using deposits and spinning it in money market. Scrap metal gangsters, low ridership, credit card disbelievers, abusers, harsh weather will put an end to these eye sore monstrosity piling on our streets.

• I may be interested in concept if it has electric power to push the wheels. Manual cycling in Malaysian hot humid weather is only for mad dogs and Englishmen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Donno on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:15 am

And how do you prevent besi buruk guys from carrying them off to be sold for their scrap value?? Bicycyles left unattended is a tempting target for these guys.

• Ben Yap on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:42 am

I’ll compete with u and all of them and start demoBike.

• 4bini on Oct 04, 2017 at 9:04 pm

I hope this does well in Malaysia. Most importantly, our Ministers must show by way of example by riding to Parliament.

How can the rakyat be expected to ride when our leaders don’t show by example?

In overseas got so many Ministers now riding bicycles to Parliament.

But in Malaysia, Ministers all travel by limo, escorts, bodyguards and about 10 cars of ball lickers wherever they go.

Can our Ministers start to ride also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
    • Why yes. Our Sports Minister KJ is an avid rider to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
    • They should place a sticker, “ please dont cycle in wedges/heels”

• Yaakob on Oct 05, 2017 at 7:53 am

Our dear Pahang MB cycle home from lunch break okay, don’t play play

• Kelvin on Oct 05, 2017 at 8:17 am

Why the need for ministers to show the lead on something like this? Or anything for that matter? Can’t you as an adult make a decision based on your needs? Why follow when you can lead? Stop the mindset of putting our ministers on a pedestal.

• karam singh on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:22 am

safety la bro.

• pedestrain path also not integrate, not to mention bicycle
    path.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Meanwhile MBPJ is confiscating Obikes. Both in Selangor yet diff policies. R those running it, knows what they doing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
    • cybetron on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:22 am

MBPJ confiscating obike coz no proper licensing application and they have no policy regarding the bike sharing. MPSepang on the other hand be a bit more flex. As long the bike doesn’t obstruct the road or pedestrian, they are ok with it. also they support any smart city initiative that can give benefit to the community as it also contribute to their low-carbon city framework (LCCF) kpi.

• In another words, Selangor is not the same page as Selangor. Mana CAT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
        • Funkymonkey on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:48 am

Cycling orso wanna politicized. Real dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
          • All I did was point out 2 similar businesses that got diff treatment. If they were truly Competent and Accountable, wheres the Transparency in all of this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
          • applegreen on Oct 05, 2017 at 8:28 pm

Blind and barking.

• WHat is the difference with Oobike?

With the Oobike, I can park at some many hub but Mobike has only 10 hubs???

• Diff is Oobike is not allowed while Mobike is allowed. Guess something is going on behind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Anonymous on Oct 04, 2017 at 10:57 pm

The idea of having this in Malaysia really gets on my nerves.
    I wonder if the relevant parties even assess the business model and our infrastructure before handing them the license to run such a nuisance service.
    Proper bike lane is missing! Also, helmet is required to ride a bike on any driveway (even motorbikers aren’t wearing them these days). And the most ridiculous problem – you can freaking park your bike anywhere – someone please park all the bikes right in front of MPSJ/MPPJ/DBKL office!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Not your money right?

• lsikalie on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:12 am

u didn’t read the article, aren’t u?
      or u just don’t know how to read?
      dude, u CAN’T park your bike anywhere.
      Mobike incorporates a demerit points system which will go towards a higher price of admission in the event of misuse, such as parking or abandoning the bicycles in areas other than the designated parking spaces.

• Anonymous on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:00 am

I am sorry about not understanding the wow, sending it back to a designated parking spot.

But your opinion on the helmet?the bike pathway?

• TreeHugger on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:04 am

First, rm99 deposit is just ridiculous vs obike deposit of only rm49 which is already at borderline to be expensive.

Second, it’s very inconvenient for users to be forced to park the bike only at mobike hubs, which are very few hence inconvenient as in you have to go find where it is, away from your actual destination, and then have to walk back to your actual destination. In contrast, in Singapore, you can park any of these rental bike (obike/mobike/ofo) at simply any nearest public bike parking facility.

Third and most important, single speed is a stupid idea as our landscape are hilly, not flatlands like Amsterdam. In university malaya, which is very hilly you can see many users have to get down and push the bike every now and then.

If you are not customer centric and only syok sendiri with your business idea, I don’t know how long do you expect to survive.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Oct 05, 2017 at 8:27 am

Don’t forget, other than oBike (silver coloured bike), we also have Ofo (yellow coloured bike) operating in Putrajaya. They offer at cheaper rate compared to oBike. Currently, Ofo are offering a free ride, and no deposit payment needed, I think, based on my experience using it twice last month. But oBike have more bicycle, you can see it at many places in Putrajaya.

Anyway, IMHO, this is a good alternative to our public transportation for short distance. Hopefully, they will not be touched by vandals.

• Someone told me only a fool wud say bicycle is public transport wor

• Ben Yap on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:44 am

single speed bikes sucks… if i ride to Genting Sempah along the hilly areas, my legs will snap.

• cybertron on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:05 pm

apparently it is to cater short distance travel within city. tapi ape jadahnye smpi ke genting sempah.

• Stupid Idea on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:25 pm

which cuckoo fellow will go for this in this heat ah??…cheaper and safer take the blodddy grab or uber la..wth

• Madman on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:39 pm

I want to steal ONE! :D