Daihatsu sponsors badminton in Japan and ASEAN – Perodua Malaysia Masters 2018 established

Daihatsu today announced its sponsorship of Badminton World Federation (BWF) tournaments in Indonesia and Malaysia. The events will be called Daihatsu Indonesia Masters 2018 and for us in Malaysia, the Perodua Malaysia Masters 2018, presented by Daihatsu.

The sponsorship was formalised by a partnership signing ceremony between Daihatsu and the Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM) in Kuala Lumpur today. The use of Perodua branding for our country makes sense, as the Daihatsu affiliate is Malaysia’s auto market leader and a household name.

BAM says that the Perodua Malaysia Masters 2018 event will be upgraded from GP Gold to Super Series level, which will attract top-10 ranked players.

The popularity of badminton is growing in Japan, and Nozomi Okuhara is the current women’s world champion. Japanese pairings also won silver and bronze in women’s doubles and bronze in the men’s doubles at the 2017 BWF World Championships in August. The compact car expert sponsors the Daihatsu Yonex Japan Open, a BWF World Superseries tournament.

“Badminton is an extremely popular sport on Asian countries such as China, Malaysia, Indonesia and Singapore. It is, in fact, to a certain extend considered as the national sport in Indonesia and Malaysia, the two countries where Daihatsu has a close affinity with the local communities,” Daihatsu said in a statement.

“Daihatsu has chosen to support badminton in these countries in order to contribute to the countries and local communities,” it added.

Moving forward, Daihatsu intends to support the Japanese national badminton and para-badminton teams and at the same time actively promote the development of the next generation of players through its sponsorship of the All Japan Elementary School ABC Tournament and local events.

More than just having its name on the event title, Perodua will also do its bit for grassroots development of the sport. According to Perodua Auto Corporation vice president Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad, P2 will have its own programme to discover young talents aged 9 to 11, in support of the education ministry’s 1 Murid 1 Sukan initiative. It will complement BAM’s own National Junior League for players aged 18 and below.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 4bini on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Instead of Daihatsu Japan doing all this nonsense, why don’t you do something more important like insisting UMW and Perodua give VSC in all their Myvi cars sold in Malaysia?

Also, Axia, not only got no VSC, it has no ABS even

Saving lives through VSC and ABS is more important than Badminton.

Malaysian Government already said, if all cars have VSC, accidents and deaths can be reduced by 45%

• Maria on Oct 06, 2017 at 10:05 am

Lol, they should focus on how to improve safety on their current lineup.. ABS and VSC and also 6 airbag should come as STANDARD in every perodua lineup..This is 2017 not 70s…Or maybe perodua still in the cave maybe..

• 12yrsold on Oct 06, 2017 at 1:20 pm

I-Say-Man, give la some chance for P1 to sell more cars. If P2 comes with all the features mention, they will sell even more cars.

By mid 2018, P2 cars would have sold another 150,000 units. When P2 finally have VSC as std, They will have taken more market share from P1. It’s better for P1 to make/sell NEW models instead of facelift.

I know it’s hard for P1 to swallow that P2 have sold more cars than P1. Maybe the CAVE that P2 are staying have all the MODERN marketing tools that P1 is lacking.

• Can all ur MODERN marking tools saves lives in ur ESC-less, 2 airbaged cars?

• 12yrsold on Oct 06, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Ha ha ha. Gud question asked. Cars, any cars are not meant for accidents. They are suppose to take U from A to B comfortably. If U drive recklessly, all the VSC & Airbags cannot help U.

In a straight line emergency breaking, a tire without ESC can stop faster than a car with ESC bcos the tires are heated up thus generate better breaking power. The ESC is only useful if U know how to steer clear of the accident.

In short, U will be in ICU thinking that VSC, ABS & Airbags can help U when U drive like a mad dog.

• So let me ask u this, why do u buy life insurance if u dun plan to use it? Cuz safety features in a car is just the same.

• P2 did what P1 did before…sponsoring Badminton events in Malaysia many years ago..
    Not sure how much exposure P2 will get and if it converts into more sales..

• P1 sponsored international renown tournements. P2 just sponsor shiok sendri championship. Not even LCW come sapot.