More infrastructure projects in the rail sector will come online by 2027 to boost the rail network capacity across the nation. These key projects include the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (350 km), the Johor Baru-Woodlands (North) Rapid Transit System (4 km), the East Coast Rail Link (700 km) and other rail lines in urban areas, bringing the total rail mileage in Malaysia close to 3,000 km, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.
Taking a long-term view, a reliable, integrated and modern land public transport network would accelerate socio-economic growth and improve the quality of the environment, all of which was crucial for the sustainable development of Malaysia, said Najib at the Land Public Transport Symposium 2017 in Kuala Lumpur. In a The Sun Daily report, Najib emphasised that “improving the first-and-last mile connectivity to make travel seamless for commuters, remains a priority for the government as well as the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).”
“Driverless vehicles, predictive maintenance for trains, electric cars – who knows what else the future will entail,” he said. “However, what is clear is that people and cities are on the cusp of changing rapidly and dramatically as advancements in mobility technology converge in the marketplace.”
Giving an assurance that land transport was not just about mega infrastructure projects, Najib said work to further transform the sector would not stop despite advances made in the last few years and remains a priority for the government. He also said transformation plans for cities in the future is being driven by new technologies, disruptive business models and commuters’ demand for higher levels of service.
ECRL is a waste of money at RM60 billion. To recoup such cost, per ticket has to be few hundred ringgit. Currently, the Trengganu and Kelantan folks even want to pay RM20 bus fare to KL also susah
How they gonna pay few hundred ringgit?
you think they only make money from ticketing is it?
but “public” transportation like lrt, mrt and monorail is not meant for making money, providing public transportation is not business and should not be driven by the capitalists. it is the government’s responsibility to deliver such facilities – and definitely they will loose some money (tax payer’s money, sigh). anyway, i fully support ecrl but i do agree that the cost should be reviewed as it is currently a bit too expensive.
Please enlighten us how else they make money?
Make money – spur economic growth along development corridor. Better economy, more taxable income, less subsidy for the poors.
They also make money through freight, provided there’s demand.
Government, unlike private company, able to capture any external spillover positive effect, that arised from their investment. So ticket sale is not the only way they earn back their investment.
Don’t lie la. When festive season comes, all east cost folks have go through heavy traffic jam. They can afford a car, who said Terangganu & Kelantan folks are orang susah.
They can’t afford a rm20 ticket bus but they own a car.
Kelantan to KL RM20? already RM50 long long time ago
Spend billions here and there but basic environment issues cannot sort out.
Malaysia still using Euro 2M petrol. this was outlawed in Europe in 1994 cause it is confirmed to be cancer causing.
That was 23 years ago.
So why spend billions here and there when the fumes we breathe cause cancer? Isn’t that more important?
Thats why government invest in public transport, its the only way to reduce pollution (noise, air etc) and traffic congestion. But still our public transport have a lot to improve here and there
Let him be. He tot only upgrading to Euro 10M can reduce pollution.
Smart Selangorku bus plan implemented by the Selangor state gov, was very popular with the rakyat and saw 11 million public transport passengers benefit from free bus rides.
Selangor state gov already launched 100 Smart Selangorku buses to help ease the burden of Selangor people with the rising cost of living.
Same goes with this ecrl. This is for rakyat although government will lose money.
You think public transport is not solving the problem what? Taking of millions of car users of the streets with tech older than 30 years because their owners felt that the ownership is not benefitting and cost effective will also provide the solution to pollution. Mass transits answers your problem. I don’t know which school you graduated from, Tadika NoReadOnlyBS is it?
Who’s stopping you from going to the petrol pump and fueling with Euro4 grade then?
If we all change our mindset to be clean, don’t you think the fuel stations will also stop stocking a dirtier fuel?
Great idea and good for people
Good idea for other ppl to build them at lower costs and higher quality too.
Do Audi (higher quality) sold for the same price of Perodua?
Deliver it like mrt1. Earlier is better and within stipulated budget. There’s always people who will badmouthing that’s because of their bad history or they just can’t perform.
The Govt also need to take a hardline look to reduce the ‘internal combustion engined’ vehicles on the road… at best require P1, P2 n Modenas to produce and sell only low emision hybrids and electric vehicles by 2030. The trend has been set by France and Germany and we really need to look into this as many, many more people will own vehicles by then.
Hooray, another opportunity for duit masuk poket! No objection to all sorts of development for the benefit of the rakyat, loathe how these ‘project’s cost billions when in fact the actual cost less than 1/3 of what is reported!
So help other My pipu to know how much is the real cost. Can u?
scared kena jailed under OSA like rafizi
Thank you. We need this for many countless years, we are seeing it now and we are seeing plans for the future.
Keep it up.
another 10 years ? moving too slow
while Sabah/sarawak only have the only one highway in Borneo
At least for the start and mind u it’s toll-free.
It may look like “toll-free” but in actual fact, nothing is FREE in MY/World. We will pay for it one way or another directly or indirectly IF U get the drift.
No, I can’t get the drift. Pan Borneo is free.
The $$$ to build Pan Borneo drop from sky isit ??!
Although much is to be said about his leadership and policies, Najib certainly is doing a good job with regards to improving public transportation in Malaysia. The LRT and MRT lines are suprisingly dependable and punctual, well they certainly aren’t Tokyo level of connectivity, not even matching that of our Southern City State neighbour, but its getting there. The future Sungai Buloh-Putrajaya MRT line and the proposed Circle MRT line certainly would benefit Klang Valley residents and also reduce reliance on private transport, Finally giving the rakyat, at least in the Klang Valley, a more reliable means to do our daily commute. Almost all developed cities require a reliable system of public transportation; London, Berlin, Tokyo & Singapore, and pushing a more connected system of modern rail networks will certainly make Kuala Lumpur a truly modern city.
However, It seems our approach to public transportation is more to an American approach rather than a Japanese approach, good inter-city rail network, terrible inter-state rail network. The opening of the ECR and KL-SG HSR may be a step to addressing our lack of inter-state rail network, but than again, places like Kuantan and even our 2nd and 3rd largest cities, Penang and Johor Bahru, lack any means of reliable public rail system, espacially Penang where space is severely limited and property prices are skyrocketing, a Butterworth-Georgetown/Air Putih should be seen as a necessity.
Regardless, Public rail transportation in Malaysia certainly have a Bright(er) future, and as our population begins to grow, so is our traffic, and reliance on private transportation shouldn’t be our main mode of transport in the future.
Im sabahan..But i dont know why sabah and sarawak still dont have rail like that?eventhough sabah and sarawak among the rich state..