MBPJ CCTV monitoring system – we are watching you

As part of measures to keep an eye on things, especially controlling traffic flow and preventing petty crime, the Petaling Jaya city council (MBPJ) now has 22 closed-circuit television (CCTV) cameras installed. This is combined with 24 cameras installed by the Ministry of Housing and Local Government, and the 60 cameras belonging to the Selangor state government.

Petaling Jaya mayor Datuk Mohd Azizi Mohd Zain demonstrated the CCTV system to reporters during “an evening with the mayor” event organised by the MBPJ enforcement department. During the visit, Azizi explained how the CCTV system, which includes loudspeakers for public announcements, worked, and showed a live feed from cameras monitoring Section 52 in Petaling Jaya.

Azizi said the CCTV was mainly used for traffic control, especially when it came to illegal and double parking in the Section 52 area. He said this allowed enforcement officers to rapidly head to specific areas to clear illegal parkers and prevent traffic congestion.

All camera feeds go to a central control centre located on the 22nd floor of Menara MBPJ which then issues instructions to officers on the ground. Monitoring of the CCTV feeds is done by the MBPJ Enforcement and Safety department with a secondary feed going to the Petaling Jaya police headquarters.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ben Yap on Oct 24, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Time to skodeng.

• Hasan Rojak on Oct 24, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Syabas MBPJ ! Compared to the costly ITIS system in KL, MBPJ definitely has a much more effective and cost-efficient solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
    • Diff system, CCTV is only part of ITIS. CCTV only records but not respond, ITIS will feedback in real time whats happening and update accordingly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
      • rosdi on Oct 24, 2017 at 6:20 pm

MBPJ system speedier response time. All camera feeds go to a central control centre located which then issues instructions to officers on the ground. This allowed enforcement officers to rapidly head to specific areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • Thats where u mistaken. ITIS is not just an enforcement system. Its a comprehensive info gathering, sorting & delivery system which not only does the enforcement part, but feeds news info to mainstream media, car RDS, info display boards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
          • 12yrsold on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:31 am

Any system is better than NO system. The problem is enforcement. According to MBPJ, they use it to control traffic effectively if there is a car blocking or illegally parked.

They use the loud speakers to tell the driver to remove the car or else …

See the video provided. It is heartening to know MBPJ is doing something useful with the tax collected. Bravo MBPJ.

• Im not saying its wrong. But to compare ITIS to MBPJ’s and call it lousier, shows how shallow his understanding of ITIS and how its used. Its like comparing a kancil with S keras.

• Chris on Oct 24, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Sure or not? Later 6 months down the road camera rosak, say no budget to repair..

• Jamari on Oct 24, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Jalan berlobang pon xmau repair….

• Wasting resources as by now should now common place for traffic jam. Should assign 2 personal to monitor at hot area like seksyen 52. Eg: PJ state have few personal rounding/station.

Also when petty crime occured, is MBPJ would be cooperative to share the video as im sure there will be excuses/red tape.

Finally improvise the parking system to digital (FlexiParking) where other Council have implement to ease our life.

No harm asking ask people opinion(using poll) before implement as idea to see how effectiveness rather than implementing blindly.

• sg way on Oct 24, 2017 at 7:41 pm

No harm asking ask people opinion before implement. You referring to the GST?

• Wong Mee Ling on Oct 25, 2017 at 8:18 am

If I may humbly correct your article, folks who park cars are not called parkers. ‘Parker’ is a surname not a word. It’s a real shame such jarring error can appear in a major newspaper. We all know how badly our standard of English has dropped but that does not mean we can condone bad English in newspapers.

• Aniki Tan on Oct 25, 2017 at 8:42 am

watching the road means watching you??? you should have put some camera at places where criminal usually happen like bank etc and also places that is very dark and dangerous for people to walk along. For me ban motorbike in the country and make the price for car to the motorbike price range will be the best solution. In USA their 2nd car can be easily bought at less than USD1k… That’s why their car is around USD10-20k, they don’t drain their citizen money but we do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6