Background checks are being conducted by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) on drivers of e-hailing services Uber and Grab. The checks are being conducted with the Road Transport Department (JPJ) and police to ensure drivers do not have a criminal record and have safe driving records.
SPAD chief executive officer Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah said this during the Land Public Transport Symposium 2017 in Kuala Lumpur. “Once we are done then we will register them with the commission,” Azharuddin said in a The Sun Daily report, adding that the e-hailing operators had been cooperative in submitting drivers details to SPAD.
Regarding a question on the oBike bicycle sharing platform, Azharuddin said SPAD is supportive of the idea but pointed out that the commission is not a regulatory body. “The regulator would be the respective local authorities it operates in, and we are open to assist the local authorities in establishing a consistant regulatory scheme that clearly states how the system should be managed and regulated,” he said.
This was in response to the recent incident where the Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) seized over 250 bicycles belonging to bike-sharing platform. The bicycles were seized because they were causing obstruction but the matter has since been resolved.
Spad oh spad. Before you check Uber and Grab, why don’t you check your normal gangster teksi guys?
They still
1) smoke inside teksi
2) rude to people on the road
3) dig nose non stop
4) talk dirty things to girls
5) try to modify meter and cheat.
Till today so many Mat Salleh kena RM300 from KL Sentral to KLCC.
Complain to SPAD also no point. ALl tidur.
Item 3 & 4 are attitude bro, change can only comes from within or how they are brought up..
if you want to know SPAD, when uber was introduced here in 2014, it already initiated the background checks for all drivers. which is reason why there were almost zero cases involving uber drivers. maybe 1 or 2 but those drivers had no criminal record before.
you are 3 years behind uber. take that.
It is good that SPAD check the drivers with JPJ & police to ensure drivers do not have a criminal record & have safe driving records for Uber/Grab.
Super hot weather nowadays..more & more pdrm and jpj buddies taking shade under cherry trees and overhead bridges. hehe
This misuse of resources has to stop, its overcomplicating a simple issue.
As a rider, I’ve dealt with weird drivers, one who wanted to steal my suitcase. As a driver, people are just weird now – zero respect for drivers as human beings.
Uber and Grab are operating on a illogical premise of trying to monopolise a market. The simple non-startup, non-hype, responsible, accountable way of doing business is just to charge a fair price for rides, compensate drivers enough, take a small commission (not 25% – crazy) and operate a safe and courteous system. They refuse to ban rude and unsafe riders and drivers all in the name of market share.
People are NOT bothered by the fare. How can RM0.65/km, RM0.20/minute be adequate to compensate a driver?? BEFORE COMMISSIONS! No one is going to complain if they charge RM1.00/km, RM 0.40/minute NETT if they actually behaved like a responsible, accountable company intent on providing a quality service. But no, startup logic dictates that they need to behave like ruthless demigods in the name of market share and to gain billions in investments in the name of self-enrichment and self-glorification.
I would not use either, but unfortunately, we don’t have a decent alternative now, and maybe people just don’t care enough of the human beings driving them around.
What u say is true , we need to respect the driver who bring us back home safe
Hi admin,
Can u elaborate or state type of criminal & bad driving record which caused on the failed background check for uber/grab driver. etc; the driver itself have summons for speeding (minimum summons eligible for a year?)
can help my acount driver active. my background settle oready. .i hope grab can give me to drive grab car. i have family to looking me..i need this jop..pls grab can help
i need ro drive cos i have family to looking me..i very need work..gope grab can give me drive..tq
The best way for many ride organizations like uber will do verification so that verified drivers can be appointed and there will be no worries for anyone and that what this blog also verified. Thank and keep updating.
Cancel my account to drive grab car