SPIED: 2018 Nissan Serena seen testing in Malaysia

The fifth-generation Nissan Serena MPV has been spotted undergoing testing in Malaysia, thanks to paultan.org reader Kenneth Lee who spotted the vehicle in Cheras recently. The MPV first made its debut in July last year, bringing with it a revamped design and equipment list.

You can tell this is the new Serena due to the distinctive character line along its sides, which originate from the middle of the headlights, progressing below the door handles and towards the rails for the sliding doors. This cue isn’t present on the current Serena on sale here.

Naturally, the test mule seen here is wearing some camouflage to hide its true guise, where the front end features the brand’s V-motion two-slat grille. Below it is a more sculpted apron that accommodates a smaller intake as well as the fog lamps.

Other exterior cues found on the latest Serena include the additional trim around the rear nameplate, a more aggressive-looking rear bumper and shorter headlights. As these photos clearly show, all the areas mentioned are covered, although the new roof-mounted spoiler is still shown in all its glory.

Though we didn’t get any shots of the vehicle’s interior, the all-new Serena is known to receive a more upmarket cabin. Highlights include a new top dash with a wider instrument cluster and displays within, a new centre stack with a touchscreen infotainment system and a sportier-looking steering wheel.

For the Japanese market, the Serena is powered by the S-Hybrid powertrain, which consists of MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected twin-CVTC four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 147 PS at 5,600 rpm, while torque output is 210 Nm at 4,400 rpm.

The mill is mated mated to an Xtronic CVT, and is supplemented by an ECO motor that controls the car’s Idling Stop function and serves as an alternator during deceleration. The 1.8 kW/200 A motor also allows for a “torque assist” function, providing a 50 Nm boost for up to one second when moving away from a standstill.

The MPV also boasts a host of driver assistance features like Intelligent Park Assist and ProPILOT. The latter is Nissan’s autonomous drive technology, which can automatically control the accelerator, brakes and steering when driving on the highway, in both heavy and flowing traffic.

With the current Serena S-Hybrid on sale in Malaysia being a locally-assembled (CKD) model, could the new one follow suit? Other models in Nissan Malaysia’s pipeline include the second-generation, all-electric Leaf – to debut here in 2018.

GALLERY: Nissan Serena (fifth-generation)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Komodo on Oct 27, 2017 at 3:35 pm

(Like) Nissan Serena.
    (Dislike) Toyota Innova

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 14
    • tempoyak patin on Oct 28, 2017 at 7:24 am

I’d go for KIA carnival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • I bought a Kia Carnival (2nd batch CBU) and has been driving it for almost one month now. Free 3 years service & maintenance. No regret buying it. I like it’s powerful engine, spacious seats and storage, quiet and comfortable. It is also stable driving thru corners. But I don’t like the slow delivery of the car, small head unit the artificial steering feel (lack of road feedback behind the wheel). I have only considered Honda Odyssey, Hyundai Starex and this car before buying. Nissan Serena and Toyota Innova are not considered due to they are not popular or not sold in developed countries. Reconditioned Alphard & Vellfire are also not considered as the mileage and years are mostly fake, while their new car is out of my budget.

• Fugley on Oct 28, 2017 at 9:26 am

Moving fridge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Honda Odyssey

• WiLLonLYBuyiFhAve6AirbaGsAndCbU on Oct 27, 2017 at 3:57 pm

TC, make sure minimum 6 airbags and CBU and don’t simply remove specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • Government must support TC higher tax breaks for ckd localisation, higher export incentives and reducing excise duties. then only NAP succeeds to promote msia production of Energy Efficient Vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Gov have gift tax break but the problem is do this channel to the customer.

• AutoFuel on Oct 27, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Is it just my eyes or the front of the blue Serena looks like a combo of 2010 CRV and the current Myvi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • They really need to replace all the aging model for serena/Teana/livina/almera/Xtrail to stay competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • iriz_ultra on Oct 27, 2017 at 4:35 pm

buy Serena, recond Alfat or 2 Exora…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • ETCM product planners forgot about Teana facelift and X-Trail facelift? Those models are more important than Serena lah… adui….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Farghmee on Oct 27, 2017 at 7:55 pm

I guess this is a proper mpv: sliding doors & seatbelt tether at the seat.
    Sliding door is great for ingress & outgress at shopping mall.
    As for child seat (non-isofix type) installed at 2nd row, seatbelt tether at the seat eliminate the hassle of unlatching the seatbelt for 3rd row passenger during ingress/outgress. This is so as the belt is in the seat (not connected to c-pillar).

It looks good too, interior & exterior!

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Oct 27, 2017 at 11:08 pm

Please change the siakap head

• Phil chin on Oct 28, 2017 at 12:53 am

Nissan are pretty good cars,but they hav the lousiest design in the world. Is time they send me over to redesign all their cars. No joke

• if I’m not mistaken, this photo is taken by the driver himself, right? ( based on the angle of the first photo)

it’s a wrong example to take photo while driving, given the road condition and weather condition, while driving in high speed.

loss of attention and alertness for seconds could have caused a serious consequences.

the number of Malaysia’s road accident is already high enough, we don’t want to see anymore higher than it already is.

• Ben Yap on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:45 am

I test drive the serena and due to the height of the MPV, it is not stable to sweep the corners.

Nissan should lower and widen the MPV for a less flimsy look and better driving experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • simon on Oct 28, 2017 at 11:27 am

you buy an MPV to sweep the corners???

i think you need to buy a broom to sweep your brain instead.

MPV meant for ferrying people, not tackling corners.

go buy a GT-R if you want that.

• Midship on Oct 28, 2017 at 12:27 pm

It’s an MPV, not a Porsche…

• Hahaha on Oct 28, 2017 at 1:12 pm

It is an MPV, not a sports car…

• This is why Nissan offer “Ultra Racing” brand stage 1 & 2 stabilizer bars as an optional accessories.

• Lotusftw on Oct 28, 2017 at 2:25 pm

MPV is not for sweeping corners, you want you go for exora

• Boloh on Oct 29, 2017 at 2:08 am

Go get Estima or Alphard, Serena design for Japan small size car categories for lower tax and insurance

• aku nk qashqai la…. bukan serena hybrid….mangkuk tan chong motor…bwk masuk flagship model la…sg dah ada, malaysia bila?

• camtakpro on Oct 30, 2017 at 6:36 am

Does it even has front crumple zone or a front bonnet? It is so short like a van but unlike Kia Grand Carnival where there’s a minimal length to adhere to safety standards in EU.

Again, Nissan is still famous for ugly cars.

• LOK CHYI YEU on Oct 30, 2017 at 8:13 am

i think they dont disguise the car also no ppl will notice that it is a new serena

• johnnas on Oct 30, 2017 at 10:55 am

its marketing gimmick.

plus, you would think they could have employed better ways to cover up those facelifted areas instead of duct tape which could easily ruin the paint’s finish.its not like we have not seen the new one in Japan. basically, like ur implying, does it matter to disguise or not to disguise?

• Arthur 08 on Nov 02, 2017 at 11:52 pm

Good improvement for Serena I like this!!

• Azizan on Jan 09, 2018 at 10:12 pm

Hi, bila Nissan Serena 2018 fifth
    generation nak jual kat Malaysia tq