Honda Malaysia offers relief programme for Penang flood victims – 50% discount on affected parts

In light of the recent flood tragedy in Penang, Honda Malaysia has announced a flood relief programme for its customers, whereby discounts of up to 50% will be offered on affected genuine parts.

Customers whose Honda vehicles are damaged by the flood will first be required to lodge a police report, as well as prepare an insurance cover note (original or copy). Following that, they will need to call the nearest authorised Honda service centre and inform them about their car’s condition before scheduling an appointment.

The affected Honda vehicle will then be towed to the designated service centre, whereby the necessary repairs will be made. “Our thoughts and prayers goes to those affected by the flood in Penang,” the company said in a post on its official Facebook page.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 07, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Well good luck with that. The stations are all packed and lots of people need their cars tow.

Waiting list 2weeks estimate time arrival for tow. If your gearbox need to claim 50%

Prepare 5 digits money or just sell the car more better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • Bagus Honda prihatin. Proton tunggu apelagi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Roney on Nov 07, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Why are you so negative ?

• Gendang 2 tin on Nov 07, 2017 at 5:08 pm

What if Honda do not offer anything? What happen to those owner who still have 7 years remaining of loan? If they sell their car, can cover loan meh? Please, be positive

• hateshonda on Nov 07, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Hey tell me which shop that are no packed, no need 2 weeks waiting time and cost less than 5 digits, please?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • littlefire on Nov 07, 2017 at 10:20 pm

If you dont care about warranty, road side mechanics is a good choice and half-cut or second hand engine & gearbox can cost half of what new Honda parts are selling. Some also provide with warranty from 1 to 3 months depending on the mechanic or half-cut shop.

• 12yrsold on Nov 07, 2017 at 3:47 pm

This is a noble & sensible way of showing U cared for your customers. Bravo Honda. Now it is for the rest to follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Good job...good job.. on Nov 07, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Kudos to honda…1st brand to step up…other brands got no balllls….pity those folks ip north..wat we experience in klang valley is peanuts…be gratefull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • malaysianz on Nov 07, 2017 at 4:05 pm

i am wondering if Kedah and also part of perak and Perlis also affected by flood, will they get covered with the promotion too?

• pengayuhbasikal on Nov 07, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Good thing of your vehicle is covered with special perils . I think , after this … car registered for usage in flood prone area will have higher coverage..haishhh….

• kaizen on Nov 07, 2017 at 7:57 pm

if it is covered by the insurance, why there is a need for a 50% discount? is honda protecting its customer? or rather insurance co’s customer?

what happen to the customers who are not covered by any form of insurance?

holly cow!.

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 07, 2017 at 8:24 pm

car owners in malaysia normally not interested to extend their first party insurance to cover natural disaster (act of god) peril.

they put their trusts on pure luck. i believe majority car owners have to bear the repair costs on their own.

• masukkan dalam parit je…claim kemalangan

• discounts of up to 50% not all part 50%. Mislead on title.

• pengayuhbasikal on Nov 08, 2017 at 10:54 am

for me…after close encounter with falling tree..immediately…the next year .. include special perils in insurance coverage…problem is…this additional coverage a bit expensive on already expensive insurance…although my car cost RM30K only…

they shall return on certain percentage on special perils amount if not claim made…