Mercedes-Benz S-Class inspires Emirates Airline’s redesigned First Class Suite in the Boeing 777

It’s difficult not to associate the word ‘luxury’ with the Mercedes-Benz S-Class, so much so that Emirates Airline used one as its inspiration for the completely redesigned First Class in its Boeing 777 fleet.

“We are delighted about the partnership with Emirates, which is one of the most well-known airlines in the world. With immediate effect, travellers in the Emirates First Class are now also able to enjoy the sense of luxury of our Mercedes-Benz S-Class above the clouds”, said Jens Thiemer, vice president of marketing at Mercedes-Benz Cars.

To get you up to speed on some of the features found in the new S-Class-inspired First Class Suite, the airline has roped in The Grand Tour host Jeremy Clarkson for a formal introduction.

According to an official release, the First Class Suite is the result of a three-year long cooperation between both companies. The aircraft interior designers were particularly impressed with the design of the new S-Class, taking into account the choice of materials, the high standard of workmanship, the controls and also the car’s ambient light system.

These items are present in the cabin, along with a dedicated entertainment screen and zero-gravity leather seats, which are derived from those used in NASA space travel. As Clarkson points out, you’ll be enjoying all the luxuries the cabin has to offer while cruising in the skies at 1,126 km/h (700 mph).

The collaboration also extends to include an exclusive S-Class Chauffeur-drive service, whereby passengers flying in the new First Class cabins can make use of new S-Class models for door-to-door transfer to and from Dubai airport from December 1, 2017.

“As a pioneer, Emirates implemented the concept of the First Class suite as early as 2003. Today it sets the standard for First Class travel in the entire aviation industry. Over the years we have continually refined and enhanced it,” said Tim Clark, president of Emirates Airline.

“We are extremely delighted with our new suite, which offers unprecedented levels of privacy, comfort and luxury. Our cooperation with Mercedes-Benz brings together two global brands, both of which stand for innovation, quality, luxury and comfort,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• TheDean on Nov 14, 2017 at 10:58 am

Matta Fair got, ah?

• tiadaid (Member) on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:06 am

If you have to wait for Matta Fair, you can’t afford it…

• SOCHAI on Nov 14, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Is smart consumer, even if you have the money it doesn’t mean u need to pay premium if there is a discount there. Shallow thinking.

• Normally, First Class seating dun have offers. Matta Fair goers arent the target market for this class.

• practical on Nov 14, 2017 at 3:28 pm

This deserves a medal…

• wait till pipu see Malaysia airlines inspired by proton…. stunning.

• Better than el cheapo Air Asia lar.

• Otto aeat on Nov 14, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Buy a alphard 3.5 executive lounge u can enjoy first class everyday

• Tido oh tido on Nov 14, 2017 at 3:45 pm

But you are still on the ground and stucked in traffic jam