Proton working to close quality gap to competitors

One of the primary concerns for Proton’s new vice president of manufacturing, Yoshiya Inamori, when assuming his new role, is quality. The national carmaker has been experiencing less than satisfactory market sentiment as of late, some of which are attributed to customers’ perception on the quality of its vehicles.

“Because the reputation or variation of the market outcome (involving) customers (relating to) our Proton vehicles for quality, I see (it as) not so good,” he said.

In an attempt to rectify the issue, Inamori revealed a number of steps that have or will be taken. He acknowledges that there is a gap in terms of quality from Proton’s competitors. Efforts include carrying out surveys to better establish the difference in quality between market players to gauge Proton’s position. This will allow it to better set quality targets, which he can then strive towards.

“Now, we are doing some survey work, checking the competitor’s quality. We see some of the gap between the competitors, so in order to overcome the competitor’s quality issue, we are setting the quality target,” he explained.

Aside from observing its competitors, internal key performance indexes (KPIs) have also been revised to promote improved quality. These improvements will be introduced as running changes from model to model (as opposed to through major facelifts), as the company is selling cars every day, according to Inamori.

“My job for the coming months is to overcome the competitor’s quality level. I setup KPIs for the quality, internally, so we have already started to improve our quality KPIs,” said Inamori.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Many comments express skepticism about Proton's efforts to improve quality, citing past repeated failures and ongoing brand trust issues. Some feel Proton’s quality still lags behind competitors like Toyota and Honda, with complaints about build quality, aftersales service, fuel consumption, and reliability. Others highlight that Proton's image has been damaged by years of poor quality and design problems, making it difficult to regain consumer trust. Several commenters suggest Proton needs to prioritize quality right from the design stage and improve manufacturing efficiency, possibly through better collaboration and technology sharing, as seen with Perodua and Geely. Overall, sentiments are cautiously optimistic but emphasize the long road ahead for Proton to truly close the quality gap and restore its reputation.

• Joholan on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:41 am

Syabas P1 Luaskan Kuasamu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • John Delloid on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:11 am

Lifetime warranty > All

• Mohd Ishak on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:30 am

Mr Inamori, not just quality you have to concentrate, focus on KPI and efficiency also. Cause Proton is so inefficient, it cost the rakyat berpuluh billions to bail Proton out every year

Your ex company Mitsubishi got 6000 workers in Thailand and yet they produce 320,000 cars per annum

Our Proton got 9600 workers but can only produce 60,000 cars per annum.

Why is this so?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
        • Mohd Ishak, going by your logic, PROTON’s 9,600 workers need to produce 511,999 cars per year. They don’t have 85.3% of the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • sabahan on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:29 pm

PROTON found your negativity very disturbing. Be poi-sitive dude!

• stasta on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:20 pm

going by his logic, since proton dont have much market share, they need to sack half of their workers.

• Sama L00 on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Majority Malaysians were surprised when they upgraded frm p1 to toyota vios and P2. Superb reliability, durable parts and low running costs.

Best of all, no more unexpected car breakdowns. Buy smartly, drive safely !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
        • ex-VGM staff on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:20 pm

we understand if one part of the car went faulty. that is normal. that is the reason for warranty.

what we cannot stand is the attitude of service centre personnels. the slow and lazy staff, syaing ini normal bang. tak boleh claim bang. warranty reject bang sbb abg service lambat.

in the case of Honda (why they were rated LAST in JD Power, most of the dealers are open 7 days a week but for warranty claims can only processed on workdays).pls learn from these mistakes – both Proton and Honda are under DRB.

Volkswagen did learn the hard way. sales is as good as zero nowadays.

• salahsape on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Keyword : DRB

• U speak as if Honda MY is under DRB.

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Honda is NOT under DRBH.
            DRBH is a minority shareholder at HM. Not everything the Japanese do is right.

• Because there is no demand laaaa….please stop posting cancerous comment!

• I only like the first four words of this article’s title. If that happens would be a very pleasant day for Malaysians.

• matador on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:47 am

This can be one story with four sub-heads. Where and when was this interview? Am assuming it was a one-on-one. Journalism basics, the four W’s and 1 H’s. You can’t even give basic background on the motivation and setting of the interview (do y’all even have editors?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:34 am

It wasn’t a one-on-one. Point is to get the message across, which this story does.
      Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Matador must be an old school dude. News must be news style. Alas, its the 21st century.

• Gomorrah on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Nothing wrong with that. Nothing wrong with proper grammar, punctuation, syntax or parsing. It would ensure that the message gets across accurately.

• Ex-proton on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:48 am

Don’t forget about being appealing to the customers. Either by the car design or the after sales services.

Proton’s design is so meh.

• tokmoh. on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:44 am

Enough of design la.

Myvi all these while pretty is it? Was dugong vios pretty?

What for pretty and designy like proton, but qc, fc ke laut? That’s the main reason why proton fails.

What do all best sellers have in common? Better qc and fc, that matters most. With fuel price increasing every week, u think u rather be happy with low fc car or pretty car?

Screw design, it doesn’t matter one bit. Improve fc, qc way more effective to get sale, and it starts with getting rid of campro and punch cvt. Bring in latest Geely powertrain that’s fuel efficient, stat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:41 pm

design is one thing, but performance, cost of ownership (FC, maintenance service) , reliability, JD power CSI and last but not least – resale value.

• tokmoh. on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:53 pm

RV depends on demand, and demand depend on all those factors u mentioned.

People tak nak pening, tak nak fikir. If the car low fc, low service cost, after sales take care of them well, they will beli je, no hesitation, no regret.

Any car that delivers this, will always have demand and RV will be stable. See Honda, most new models deliver all this, that’s why they can sell more than Proton. That means more people rather topup than buy Proton, bcuz none of Proton’s car can deliver. They had a chance when Perodua offered them Dual VVT-i powertrain, but they were stupid to turn it down.

• Eh hello, don’t assume Honda is that good lah. You have to own one to know one. I have the latest Accord, I can assure you the aftersales is not as good as you think. QC pun je laut juga, I waste so much of my time at their crap service centres to attempt fixing defects from factory.

• seriouslyguzzlinggas on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Here here! One reason why I immediately did not consider proton is because lol 10-12 km/l average in 2017. Safety be damned.

• tokmoh. on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:44 pm

People laff at Bezza so tonggek, so ugly.

But they have Dual VVT-i, and seeing past few months’ fuel price, who’s laffing now?

Meanwhile open fb, always got feed from proton owners group page complaint fc so high. Well done, this happens when company thinks it’s important to have proton wording in headlamp than having good fc. Good job Proton designers, look at all the fuks owners give about design : ZERO. Bezza tonggek, so what? 500L boot space + good fc, tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, beli je! Persona now people say fatty on small wheel, yet they’re among best seller, cuz practicality and fc > design, dumbass proton!

No more nonsense like this that can only happen with incompetent buffoons in the helm, time to DRAIN THE SWAMP AND MAKE PROTON GREAT AGAIN, worthy to be part of Geely family!

Geely > all
          Proton > all

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Pipu valued Proton handling more than Better qc and fc

• st3wp1d on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:16 pm

handling macam lotus, enjin tak power nak buat ape bro? dah le guzzling fuel… sekarang sudah 2017 laa bro… bukan tahun 1997.

• st3wp1d stoopeat on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Minyak tak la jimat sgt, handling kat highway mcm sampan buat ape bro? Dah le safety ke laut…sekarang sudah 2017 laa bro..bukan tahun 1977

• John Delloid on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:15 am

Peter Schreyer also a retired pencen designer.

Proton should hire him and make Proton the actual BMW of Asia!!

• Mohd Ishak on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:02 am

We have heard this story so many times since 1985. After each launch, the same story is said out. How Proton has repented and is going to increase their quality in the current launch.

From 1985, I have seen and heard this story 10 times since Iswara, Wira, Waja, Gen 2, Persona, Satria, Savvy, Tiara…….the list goes on and on.

Every 4 years we think Proton has changed. Every 4 years the same old problems occur.

How to believe? Once kena tipu ok. twice kena tipu ok but kena tipu so many times…..aiyaa fed up already.

By the way, I have owned 10 different Proton models the past 30 years. I know what I am talking about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 13
    • dimitriy on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:44 am

10 diff proton model for the past 30 years? means 1 tahun 3 kereta proton u beli..yg bodoh tu kau sbb sendiri yang nak kene tipu dengan proton. plus org bodoh tak beli kereta ‘tipu’ setahun smpai 3 kali sepanjang 10 tahun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
      • Mohd Ishak on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:23 am

all 10 company cars. You see, your mind is so narrow. Company buy for me mah….what to do?

Pls open your mind and try to think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • dimitriy on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:42 am

you ‘owned’ and u ‘drived’ is different thing. company buy for u doesnt make u the owner of the car. unless u r the owner of the company n literally the cars r yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Mohd Ishak on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:13 pm

bro, there is no such word as “drived”. You need to improve not only your maths but also your English.

• Bro he said 10 models in 30 years. Which means 1 model in 3 years.

• rayc216 on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:31 am

Klau 1 tahun 3 kereta proton dah jadi 100 oh… kau punya math…..

• rayc216 on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:32 am

Sorry, 99 proton to be exact.

• jamari on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:37 am

Lembu….sendiri tuliskan “By the way, I have owned 10 different Proton models the past 30 years. I know what I am talking about”

keta kompeni apak ko!!!…..tulis sendiri pon lupe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Kalau nak tipu tu, pls jgn malas pakai logic lar. Ni pulak dah kena tapau dgn org lain.

• common sensor on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:06 am

Excuse me Sir. I don’t expect VP Manufacturing to be in suit and tie, especially you being Japanese Sir. Please go to genba;, dirty your hand and do some genba genbutsu genjitsu Sir. You will be amazed on the outcome Sir!

• lilytan on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:14 am

Mr Inamori, your competitor should not be perodua. So dont be satisfied by just bettering perodua. A sensible quality target is at least the with the current geely models which is probably at par with mazda.

• Hhaha … out of nowhere, suddenly Geely is at par with Mazda. Syoknya sendiri.

• Focus on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:15 am

They focus too much on safety without thinking efficiency

• Trueornot on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:42 am

Please bear in mind that your competitor is not Perodua, it should base on the best car in the segment worldwide not Malaysia

• John Delloid on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:17 am

Yes compete with hand-made cars like Rolls Royce.

Low volume, big number of workers. Each Proton assembled by hand with love & tender.

• johnnas on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:52 am

gap? what gap? all i see is a valley!
    Good luck!

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:54 am

why are some people trying to tell him how to do his job?
    give the man a chance to get on with what he was hired to do. if he delivers.. great for proton, if not, then you can tell him off.

• panjang on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:12 pm

everyone seems to know what others should do….
      If the P1 management commit to this then the result be be seen in less than 1 year. Its all about management commitment and direction.

• Old horse on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:44 am

Now we going to bet is cronies suppliers gone first or Mr Japanese back to Japan first..Good luck..

• Ini adalah perkara bagus buat proton bila ada VP yg pengalaman dari Jepun dan Teknologi dari China. Selama ini proton byk masalah, kita komplen, hina, caci… ya.. mereka dengar semua itu dan buat improvement sejak dari model preve..tapi masih belum cukup..quality dan FC masih fail.. sekarang ada kerjasama dari kedua arah..harap proton hebat balik seperti zaman kerjasama Mitsubishi. Perodua begitu berjaya pun sebab kerjasama dari daihatsu dan toyota..teknologi sharing and idea sharing.. thats wat Perodua today. If u not from manufacturing background..tak perlu la cakap kosong cakap besar mcm la faham operasi sebuah kilang..kos2 yg besar. Perodua dari dulu lagi stabil kewangan sbb adanya daihatsu dan toyota…itulah kelebihan kerjasama 2-3 pihak dlm industri besar ini. Kalau lah perodua hari ini tiada daihatsu dan toyota..lagi teruk korang hentam dia sampai kelaut…

• asali on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Perodua Kancil & Proton Saga. Reflect on the Past to Shape the Future.

• Carlover on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:54 am

What kind of quality issues, he is talking about?
    This talk about quality etc issues has been going on like forever. Cause everyone is hanging to their job. Period. New guy or new management will keep on saying d same thing unless they are from alien planet. Every car manufacturers has got quality issues . crisis of proton now is about the proton brand name itself. They have to regain trust from Malaysian. Y malaysian still buying honda whereas its known for takata premature deployment of airbags issue.

• Seems that this Japanese VP is going to be the new mascot for Proton instead of CEO Li, Rashid and Alzan, the designer.

• BbalingBiru on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:09 pm

Regarding the quality issue, Proton especially new bosses have been telling this so many times. My opinion is, competitors level is important, but most important is INSTILLING QUALITY RIGHT FROM THE START, THE DESIGN STAGE. How are you getting quality products if ‘quality points’ are neglected in your product design? And to do this, you need only highly knowledgable and experienced engineers to deign your product. This as how I noticed Toyota groups do with their comprehensive across the board quality system and manuals.

• azhar on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:02 pm

good..you are on the right path..my Iriz roof rubber lining came off after only 2 days collecting the car..so go figure

• MenteriPasola101 on Nov 22, 2017 at 3:24 pm

30 years divide 10 car = 3 car per year ???

Proton macai math level same as proton management

• so Proton admits their quality is lacking when compared to rivals.

• Weng Soon on Nov 28, 2017 at 5:47 pm

The Brand is tainted. Proton went through too many years of really brand damaging events, like Gen2, badly finished Wiras, Savvy, Tiara, shoving hugely expensive but useless “Accessories” down our throats, and mostly, BAD quality finish.

Proton went through Years of their own mechanic saying this like,..”Standard la, ini Proton ma”, or, “Tak boleh adjust lagi, in design Proton la,…”, And squeeky mouse running free somewhere in the passenger compartment or engine bay, almost more chances of trapping a real mouse, than actually solving the problem.

After years of abuse by Proton, and some measure of liberalisation of the Auto Industry, people having more disposable income, other Car brands appear more affordable, have better resale value and provide better value. So, where does Proton stand now? 4th or 5th, behind P2, Toyota and Honda.

It lacks imagination, lacks commitment to deliver quality, knowingly and continuously accept material supplies far below accepted standards, resulting in failure after failure of all their launches.

People NO LONGER trust Proton. They rather pay that extra 10-20k for an entry level Toyota or Honda, and if they don’t even understand that, it’s gonna be a LONG road for Proton to even break even (short of another few billion RM write off, probably fr our hard earned tax dollars/EPF).