Toyota C-HR Malaysian price list surfaces: RM146k est

We’ve been awaiting the arrival of the Toyota C-HR for a while now, ever since the B-segment crossover was first previewed here in August (the car has since gone on a whirlwind tour across Peninsular Malaysia).

Now, a member of the Prius Club Malaysia Facebook group has revealed another piece of the puzzle, and that’s its estimated price of RM145,500 on-the-road without insurance, for a car fully-imported (CBU) from Thailand. Note that this pricing has only been given to those who registered their interest earlier this year.

The price list also mentions the kit count on offer, and it’s practically identical to the Thai-built car previewed last month. Automatic projector halogen headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, front and rear fog lights and 17-inch alloy wheels can all be found on the outside.

Also equipped are keyless entry, push-button start, automatic wipers, dual-zone climate control, leather upholstery, powered driver’s side lumbar adjustment (seat adjustment is still manual), an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a 4.2-inch multi-info display and a DVD player with a seven-inch capacitive touchscreen, Bluetooth, USB and HDMI connectivity, a reverse camera and six speakers.

Safety-wise, there are seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TRC) and ISOFIX rear child seat anchors, plus a Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA).

Under the bonnet sits a 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine with Dual VVT-i. Outputs are rated at 137 PS at 6,400 rpm and 170 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, sent to the front wheels via a CVT with a seven-speed Sequential Shiftmatic mode.

Standard colours for the C-HR include Metal Stream Metallic and Attitude Black Mica, and you can also get White Pearl CS or the two-tone Blue Metallic and Red Mica – both with a black roof – at an extra price. Also available are the DVD-AVN navigation system, a digital video recorder (i.e. dash cam) and a luggage tray.

So, what do you think of the price of the Toyota C-HR? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR previewed in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• A little too steep for the equipments and engine offered… but it will sell well anyways thanks to design and brand power. Will be just another niche model from Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 86
    • George Abdul on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:29 am

146K such high specs & stylo. Super value buy!
      grey imported CHR oredi 205k w kosong spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 46
    • Kevinlhc on Dec 05, 2017 at 12:48 pm

With that price, I prefer Honda Hrv cheaper, or CRV same prices. But it will CKD next 2 year, and it confirm will reduce price rm30k-40k later. I willing to wait and see, maybe it come with 1.2T or hybrid version too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Up..up..up... on Dec 06, 2017 at 2:33 am

anything can happen only at bolehland.. the world no1 brand had been killed by UMW…

• Racerguyman on Dec 05, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Well, mazda cx3 2.0 oredy considered as overpriced, but the more overpriced chr 1.8 i rather buy cx3 2.0 la ehhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Proton oh Proton on Dec 04, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Definitely its over price…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • NEXT Pls on Dec 04, 2017 at 1:40 pm

This kind of price??? Is a No No No…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • end of story UMW, can’t believe u put this price..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Damn, surely buying this. So cool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 97
    • Buy 1st and Cry!!! on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:26 am

Cry later… bcos New Rush is better spec n lower price….

• kaizen on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:32 am

wait for Boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
      • Moktar mohd nor on Feb 11, 2018 at 12:09 am

Boyue from china, only ckd in tanjung malim, but after sales value , I’m sure low market value that model. I’m have two cases exora premium turbo just 13 hours break down at gua musang road , and another cases at yong peng road exora premium break down , this two unit exora have engine problem seriously.

• 146k vs 110k. DoA lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • cendol (Member) on Dec 04, 2017 at 1:48 pm

I will rather buy Honda Accord than this. 2 segment higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Tin kosing also 146k, learn from P2 lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • way over priced. For a car within the HRV segment to be priced higher than the next rung.

UMW too greedy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Seriously…..that expensive….what are they thinking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Wake-up..up..up... on Dec 06, 2017 at 1:02 am

UMW think this car are under category CRV o CX5 sama level with them… still dreaming this new CEO, even worst then previous one..

• Eternalgl0ry on Dec 04, 2017 at 1:53 pm

146k got a crossover.. Seriously?

Not full spec also and no Toyota safety sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • ouch, those who says waiting for CHR now i think waiting for RAV4?

• Apakah UMWT? on Dec 04, 2017 at 1:59 pm

RM146k for a B-Segment SUV? Even pricier than Mazda CX3.. It looks like HRV still dominating the segment again.. This car will be end up like Toyota Rush.. Overprice, disappointing specs and looks and overly hyped..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • thepolygonal on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Will it be CKD later on? Because that’s what contributed to the lower price of Honda’s HRV. If this is CKD and EEV (if it’s possible), it would be way lower what’s shown here.

So there is a different way of marketing here. Honda simply CKD the HRV and bulldoze it’s way into the market taking the risk of the high CKD investment while giving out better pricing and selling more while Toyota play safe by Register of Interest to judge if enough or not enough interest to CKD and finally decided to import from Thailand with higher price which basically kills of many potential buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • SpongeWai on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Nobody gonna buy this pricey CH-R

RM146k is ridiculous price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Medic on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:06 pm

RIP Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Might as well priced it at RM176K. Came in so late to the party and overpriced until into higher segment price bracket. Seriously, Toyota salesman must be wondering how to sell this.

• azrai on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:10 pm

You think they gonna buy this overpriced T badge from T land?

• Allen on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:12 pm

145k… C-HR=CRV???

• thepolygonal on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:12 pm

And for those who want to position this as a Toyota premium crossover SUV thingy, it’s not. If it is, Toyota would have given it’s own badge for the CHR like what they did for the Harrier, Alphard and Vellfire.

• DucatiScrambler on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:12 pm

You have got to be dense to drop 146k on this. The HRV has got comparable, if not better build quality interior wise, has got more usable space at the back.

I checked it out at One U, a cool looking car indeed but definitely not wroth 146k! You could buy CX-5 for that money! Top up a bit more for the full spec even.

• Uncle on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:13 pm

No problem, I will pay with my BR1M money

• Well, let’s just say Honda Malaysia isn’t going to lose sleep anytime soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Mohd Ishak on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:17 pm

What a bodoh price. I can get a full SUV like Mazda CX5 or Honda CRV for that price. Much bigger C segment SUV

Why should I buy a kuci B segment cross over for that price? Even HRV, after discounts is about RM110k

UMW is greedy. As a gomen GLC, UMW should try to honour their own gomen promise to reduce car prices by 30%

By the way CBU Thailand should be same price as CKD Malaysia if we follow AFTA treaty. Unless it is CBU Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Correct. Ini semua salah greedy Jepunis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Correct. Ini semua salah gomen promise to reduce car prices by 30%.

• Only gomen that promised that, is from other side with their unrealistic budget wor…

• Levin on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Fully CBU from Thailand…. LMAO, like this also still considered CBU?
    Anyways, that price range Honda saleman will gladly welcome you to buy their new 2.0 CR-V. GG UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Dead on arrival

• HRV just smile, looks like HRV still king of b-segment suv, if honda put honda sensing on facelift hrv and maintain the price, well good luck toyota sell this chr

• I would like to have whatever UMW has been smoking when coming up with that pricing, been pretty stressful week for me lately.

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:26 pm

Lol dead on arrival when this fella is launched in Malaysia. With that kind of pricing the CX5 and CRV is a better buy and for 145k they are still selling it with halogen lights??!!

• simon on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:26 pm

overpriced.

can get X-Trail, CX-5, CRV for that price. better specs and safe.

but then again, lotta suckers will still buy this car cause Toyota mah….

launching alot of people will view, but bookings will be a disaster.

• justsomepissedoffdude on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:27 pm

WTF??? 150k?? those guys at umw must be smokin some really good weed to think ppl will drop 150k for this

• eeeriz on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:28 pm

So what do you think of the price?

I can get cheaper CRV for a more powerful car for better equipped kit, better space and more powerful engine. The price reminds me of Mazda CX-3 when it was launched 2 years back, too bloody expensive!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • haha….

• Matchy on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:29 pm

For that price, you better get something else…

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:31 pm

RM145,500 for a 1.8L NA CVT B-Segment ????? UMW is smoking some gooooood weed.

• Dug Ong on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Dream on lah UMW. Better get new Myvi

• Dreaming UMW... on Dec 06, 2017 at 1:43 am

hahaha…That price for pre-registered only, real price i think u can get : 3 Perodua Myvi
      1.3 Standard G – RM44,300 (MT)
      1.5 High – RM51,800 (AT)
      1.5 Advance – RM55,300 (AT)
      with 3 different colour u want to + maybe u still got extra money for i set of new sport ring.

• OMG!!! UMW….what have u done.

Thought this was supposed to be a B segment crossover competing with the HRV’s or CX3’s of the world….they have priced close to the mid range c segment SUV’s.

Unless one really loves this car, its totally not worth the price. Might as well pay another 10k plus and get a top of the range CRV which one can get 160k after discounts.

• George Abdul on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:33 pm

UMW really love to markup price to heaven !!!

• arowana on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:35 pm

crazy pricing.. typical UMW style & their throat cutting price

• GUAN YIN MA on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:36 pm

RIP umw toyota malaysia.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:41 pm

146k 1.8litre.. What are UMW Toyota thinking? (again)

• JDM guy on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:50 pm

The CH-R needs to be locally assembled. Although in CBU form the specs is rather generous for it’s segment but at RM146k it’s too expensive compared to the HRV (RM117k) and CX-3 (RM134K) which doesn’t make much sense. Since at that price bracket it’s already in the same class segment as CRV and CX-5, which makes the CHR pointless.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • Hondaguy on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:42 am

The base model HRV actually starts from RM98k. The CX-3 is already super expensive for such a small MPV, which is why its sales figures are not bringing in the expected numbers. Now UMW following suit to further ruin their already damaged sales.

• Powershot on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:50 pm

DOA

• zacky fuyooo on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:51 pm

UMW r u crazy…????so damn greedy lorrr….better buy CRV…end of the story…B segment CHR vs C segment CRV?ur pick

• Priced higher than HR-V, its direct competitor.. I can only wish them luck! Perhaps there’ll be die hard Toyota fan who doesn’t mind paying this kind of money

• Leafable on Dec 04, 2017 at 2:58 pm

UMW Toyota gone mad.

• normal_user on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:02 pm

a small B-segment SUV that is pricier than CRV? suddenly becomes very unattractive to own when see the price.

• Low2215 on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:04 pm

For that price i think UMW should not even bring it in .

• LOONG on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Initially was RM130k right? Price is high to me

• Sewel on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:08 pm

Spend a little bit more can get a crv 1.5t.

• So expensive find ghost buy meh..price not competitive at all

• Mohd Ishak on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Why the bodohs at UMW don’t bring down the Hybrid CHR? Singapore brings down the Hybrid CHR and can sell it so cheaply in their country

In Malaysia, because Hybrids have tax incentives, it is better for UMW to bring the Hybrid down. Can then sell it for RM99k.

You see
    1) BMW X5 40e was RM590k. But because tax hybrid incentive, it is now sold for RM388k

2) Mercedes S400Hybrid is RM900k but because of the same tax hybrid incentive, it is now sold at RM580k

3) BMW 740Le is RM900k but because of the same tax hybrid incentive, it is sold for RM580k

So, why can’t UMW also do the same?????

• Dreaming UMW... on Dec 06, 2017 at 1:49 am

cause they not yet learn how to fix it.. malu ma nanti..

• Witwicky on Dec 13, 2017 at 8:10 am

You need to CKD it to enjoy the tax incntive. And truth is Malaysians are not ready for hybrid judging by the low volume of hybrid sales monthly

• pakcik on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:22 pm

CHR Dead on arrival. XV takes the crown.

• TOYOTA THE KING OF KINGS! on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:25 pm

The King is back!! No one is touching crappy hrv xv crv and other vees yall..this beau is gonna sell so damn well..kudos to Toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
  • pathetic engine output, worst than the 2006 civic 1.8.

• rchoo on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:27 pm

Why sell so cheap, should sell more expensive, haha.

• Johorian on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Yup, UMWT price what to expect…Let’s wait grey importers by their own kakis

• Al Gorilla on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:31 pm

How to lose EVEN MORE market share in two easy steps, by UMW Toyota:

1) Take one whole year to bring in a highly desired model in a highly lucrative market segment
    2) Price it RM30k more than the market leader

• drMpower on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:35 pm

50k premium over the affordable competitor. Really a ripoff. Either this or the 100k hrv. Or shemale jerking off your shaft down there. Well you know its a shemale down there.

Not this fake crazy pretender people selling u overpriced B class vehicle.

Never a shemale has greater honesty than this bunch of greedy

Ps- this is almost double the sticker price in Down Under great Australia

• Remmy on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:36 pm

At 146k u got no ASA? Shame on you toyolta to myvi

• Tahir Al Hamzah on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:41 pm

Singapore this car SGD65k. COE is SGD35k. Gaji Gomen servant who is average ranking is SGD5000

He can pay his CHR very fast. CBU Japan CHR

In Malaysia CHR with insurance RM150k. Average Putrajaya pay is RM1200 purata.

How to buy this car?

• Average Putrajaya gomen servant can buy house.
      Average SG gomen servant need to go JB buy house.
      SG not for human living one.

• OT claims > Average pay

• Anonymous on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Overpriced!!

• Bye bye umw toyo

• Tahir Al Hamzah on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Greedy UMW. Car CBU Japan made only US22k.

How can it become RM146k in Malaysia?

• Heyy UMW.. u think you are a king here? U think people want to buy this junk for 150k? Wake up wehhh

Another DOA product from UMW. Congrats. My forecast, in 5 years UMW will only sell commercial vehicles in bolehland.. lulss

• komarad on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:56 pm

at first glance i thought it will be RM46k….

• Where is John? on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Why is the price so mahal? How long must we Malaysians suffer with such high prices

• Scapula on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Only in Malaysia UMW Toyota can rip off its buyers with government approval to boot. What a ridiculous pricing for a small SUV. Toyota fan boys migrating from their VIOS racing days. Lol

• FickleMind on Dec 04, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Too high pricing for Malaysia market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Rahim Tamizi on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:01 pm

RM146k for this car? I just bought the new CRV for RM138k after discounts. Is UMW stupid?

This what happens when Toyota ties up with GLC brain. They come out with bad business ideas. Toyota Japan should sell directly to Malaysia. Kick the GLC brain out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • KYspeaks on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:03 pm

That price’s going to be a tough sell when compared to HRV, granted one is CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • David Kam on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:08 pm

toyota being arrogant again! Don’t regret later, toyota!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:08 pm

myvi so much better value

• Geradine Ng on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Toyota as usual being arrogant with their pricing.

• Almost 150k if include insurance! Overprice! Can get a CRV with bigger size and ground clearance, most importantly without the thick D pillar blind spot.

• C-HR RM145,500
    HRV RM117,430
    CX-3 RM138,373

Coupled with year-end discount except C-HR, one who will buy C-HR is really unbelievable.

• No safety sense package? UMW ripped sown safety protection package for their profit protection?

• ok…this will have major discount when comes 2018 Dec, 146k…for the looks? nothing to brag at all…I think Toyota is heading to dumb site soon….let’s wait and see what will be the order list like…1 unit per month probably…for that price there are plenty options available for consumer…go check out the review from Taiwan you will know more about this car…sorry not worthy at all…unless look is the stuff you looking for else…Ertiga better X 3 units possible. Sayonara Toyota…pricing not competitive….

• James on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:21 pm

CBU Thailand and this type of price and spec levels?

Suddenly that Mazda CX3 does seem like a bargain.

• joyrider on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Why so expensive? Even more expensive than Mazda CX-3 (CBU from Japan)2.0L?

• Karim on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:24 pm

for this price..many other choices available at market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Mazda CX5 … bigger, more power, sporty handling

• khairul on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Wow..the price.. you can buy honda CRV with that price, plus it is CBU from Thailand. If it is CBU from Japan, may be worth it. Mazda CX-3 priced at RM 130k for CBU from Japan, UMW should lower the price

• Vince on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Utterly overpriced!

• azhar on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Who are stupid enough to buy this car?..when you can get a 2.0 subaru XV for 20k cheaper…umw really syok sendiri

• Arrggghh..
    HRV still maintain the lead..
    All unit will be rotten at yard..

• Very toyota fans on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Rather get a recond harrier at that price. Chr by umw at 146k? Somemore only for whom register their interest? Else what? 155k? Lols.

• UMW Losing Their Mind on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:56 pm

145k???? OMG! OMG! I’ve told ya! I’ve told ya! Last time my estimation price would be around 125k to max 135k… But I was wrong.Totally wrong indeed.I’m sorry Malaysian.. I knew UMW is greedy but I cannot believe they are greedy to the MAX!!! Those who are waiting for this little futuristic turtle better wait for facelifted Honda HR-V very soon… I’m sure Honda will add up more specs and lower the price.. It is unimaginable same category car would be 40k-50k price gap.. Thumbs down to UMW! Disgusting greedy corporation!

• mystvearn on Dec 04, 2017 at 4:59 pm

The only people who will buy at that price must really like the style and don’t really care about practicality. More expensive than base CRV. Maybe Hyundai Tuscon if you want the looks as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • 12yrsold on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:04 pm

What !! RM145,500 on-the-road without insurance for this ‘small’ SUV !!! I think there are many/better ways of spending the $$$.
    john can tell U 101 reasons why U should buy a P1 & save some money for rainy days man. TQVM Toyo but NO thanks.

• John Baoteng on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Sorry lah with that price… I rather buy Haval H1 or new Perodua Kembara SUV soon.

• Henry on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Add insurance and the price will be quite close to 150k. It is going to be tough selling this car at this price.

At this price one can get a CKD C-segment 2.0L SUV with more of less the same safety features and equipment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Fareed on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Hahahaha haha 145k hahahahahaha

• baik beli new crv

• kereta lembu on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Hookay…Good luck selling that

• MenteriPasola101 on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:48 pm

LOL at Toyota UMW

They think this CHR is Honda CRV equivalent

I need to see the genius’s face who have the final say in the CHR pricing

• Sonyman on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:49 pm

jualah harga rm 168000 a unit. memang berpatutan

• Overpriced….

• tokmoh. on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:54 pm

Kek pricing lel.

• Kantoi on Dec 04, 2017 at 5:55 pm

For a B segment, that’s wayyyyyyy too expensive. Doesn’t offer much technology (old school steering wheel).

• Ahmad on Dec 04, 2017 at 6:20 pm

So toyota in progress of positioning themselves as the Beemer?

• lolol on Dec 04, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Same price as CRV & CX5, more expensive then CX3.

Under spec and under power than all of the above.

Good luck selling this, Toyodie!

• YB Albert on Dec 04, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Anyone owning a printing press? It is an offense to print money apart from Bank Negara’s authorised currency printer.
    UMW,u think the rakyat print money?
    Thats why u r called the MARKET LEADER IN PREMIUM SUPERDUPER CAR PRICING.
    Anyway,there will always be HARDCORE Toyota loyalists,who will buy this new car,a whopping rm 30k more expensive than Honda HRV.

• regretbuyingford on Dec 04, 2017 at 6:31 pm

absolutely bonkers of UMW Malaysia to price it a good 20k more expensive than the Honda HR-V.

Sam Loo.. what your bosses doing ah?

• Whattt is it true??? I might go for crv instead

• My england is bad on Dec 04, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Asal badge toyota mesti beli, underpower tak kisah, pipu mentality

• ex-HRV owner on Dec 04, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Thanks but “No thanks”

• Bernard on Dec 04, 2017 at 6:55 pm

The price is absolutely ridiculous! It should be reduced by 50% at least!!
    I would urge everyone to buy the new myvi as it’s value for money (somewhat) in Bolehland.

• Kutu kambing on Dec 04, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Inkambing grandmother story civil servant in SG take $8k paid and easily own this car at $110k

• UMWless on Dec 04, 2017 at 7:21 pm

This category from UMW definitely will drop like hell. No point bring to MY market with this pricing.

• Jamal HR on Dec 04, 2017 at 7:26 pm

How to justify for paying 26k premium to the highest spec HRV or 3k extra of 2.0 CRV for this crap? UMW, please be realistic, if you want to sell well, price it competitively.

• Blabla on Dec 04, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Typical

• CannotloR on Dec 04, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Rm146k? Fuiyooo… Better buy crv lor.
    Most rakyat sure expect below rm130k.

• Gd luck w 146k

• Maria on Dec 04, 2017 at 7:43 pm

With that price, I was expecting all bell and whistle like like top spec JDM CHR and CBU Thai plus it is pricier than CX3. But UMW is so stingy by giving dinasour spec to it even cannot beat myvi spec. Only super die hard fan will buy it

• Cnpau on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:08 pm

The Prince is Here!

• Malaysia Boleh on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Unbeatable price, will selling like “Cold cake”, thumb up UMW, bravo!

• MosDef on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:36 pm

150k for a car same size with HRV?!! DOA liao.

• Azuan on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:43 pm

So expensive..old tech headlamp summore..how to compete with honda HRV?

• Adnintam on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:43 pm

I assume its a CBU with the price like that? Wonder how much of the price is actually taxes rather than automotive comlany profit. But then again, if you cant CKD who wants to give you tax breaks

• Buy 1st and Cry!!! on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:28 am

CBU, but spec so so…. New Rush looks bettet buy…..

• CBU doesnt mean you get better specs. What logic are you using??? In fact specs might be lower to absorb the tax cost

• Adnintam on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Probably this car will suit those who want something different and have money to spare. Just like those who dont earn much but love to flaunt their starbucks cup everywhere

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 05, 2017 at 9:51 am

Same people who bought Minis

It wont be a big seller and Toyota never intended it to be or else they would have CKD’ed it in the first place. Its right up there with the ridiculously priced 86.

That said, I do applaud Toyota for bringing this in.

• Bruno on Dec 13, 2017 at 8:18 am

Exactly my thought. UMWT new plant should be ready by 2020 or so i guess. Im sure they have big plans commg

• Ridiculous price

• sohhai on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:52 pm

RM 146k for this? UMW just killed it even before it officially arrives.

• springbok on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:55 pm

RM 146k ?? Pass!

• Chrgogogo on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:06 pm

145k for cbu unit? Let see what others say.

• Sama Kunta Loo on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:07 pm

RM145k (after insurance it will be more than RM150k, just a small extra tiny sum i can buy a latest and bigger CR-V 1.5 TC already), this one might as well gather dust in the warehouse, but wait, still a numbers of tai lan ngong that will buy it without thinking twice (pay extra RM30k just for ‘T’ badge only, nothing more)

• master mind on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:10 pm

i thought nissan joke is funny, this toyota is hilirius with its price tag, honda will win this segment with hr-v

• James on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:11 pm

Too tired to comment on Toyota…love it but this pricing is…out of range for B segment…

• J Welinkar on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:18 pm

On the world stage and on an even playing field, the C-HR is suppose to compete with the Honda HRV & Mazda CX-3. At RM 146 +/-, this vehicle is way too expensive. Toyota should make this car a viable choice by bringing it in a CKD format. Between RM 100 – 110. The C-HR is quirky looking and all the things it can do, can also be done/offered by the HRV & CX-3. Yet again, Toyota in Malaysia tries to milk the public by high prices. Compare Toyota prices in USA and you shall see a huge hike this end. One example is the Altis & Camry. Best to stick to brands which respect the common man.

• Jimmy on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Aiyo still got people who ordered this over the cheaper bigger better CRV and Tiguan wet-clutched. You can even get a much bigger, more refined, and much more powerful diesel Sorento with TPM as well, at this price. Wait for a while and have a look at CRV-sized Boyue at 60% of this CHR price.

At least, the CRV is a wiser choice, for those timid people who only want Japanese vehicles.

And, again, greedy you-aim the-view.

• Azahari on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Fgt about it. For that price just order CRV or CX5 already

• Too bad on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:29 pm

nothing on the spec sheet shows this is worth rm145k+. Just because the design is slightly special it warrants such a steep price tag? I used to look forward to this car’s launch but if this is the case there are much better deals elsewhere.

• Ridiculous pricing…disappointed

• Salgoodguy on Dec 04, 2017 at 9:40 pm

I dont get it…

• Dokgo on Dec 04, 2017 at 10:14 pm

Simpan for too long until basi already. The design already looks dated

• WT Fuchhh on Dec 04, 2017 at 10:33 pm

Po…dah…!!! Rm146k. Toyota Japan, pls replace UMW…..They are plain blood suckers. Change UMW or lose to Honda.

• Lee Sharpe on Dec 04, 2017 at 10:53 pm

The price in CRV territory, better to get a CRV? Not sure C-HR can match the CRV. Tot the C-HR suppose to fight the HRV. Interesting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • vincent on Dec 04, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Toyota already lose big with drop of sales, now try to slaughter people with CH-R.For the same class vehicle like HRV and CX3, they want to offer 146k. Go fly kite la, at least offer a 2.0L!

• Not worth the money on Dec 04, 2017 at 11:19 pm

146k?! Good luck, UMW. You will need all the luck to sell this at 146k. #Notworthit

• Kuinosan on Dec 04, 2017 at 11:41 pm

The pricing of the mew CHR proves that UMW Toyota is still as greedy as ever and have not learned from the feedbacks given by customers in Malaysia

• Ganesh on Dec 04, 2017 at 11:48 pm

What halogen lights only for price est 146k? Nonsense la . Better get HR-V la

• camtakpro on Dec 04, 2017 at 11:57 pm

This price can kiss goodbye. Peugeot 3008 will say thank you UMWT.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 05, 2017 at 12:10 am

with that price better get CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Overpriced lol

• Nenek kau on Dec 05, 2017 at 12:35 am

Sahabat handai sekelian….silakan jemput mencarut….

• Farid Apandi on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:16 am

Sampai Malaysia dah basi…

• Sgt Scoop on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:24 am

You’d have to wonder what Toyota are playing at. Two years late and priced to compete with the segment above, this car is already dead in the water. Have Toyota given up?

• CX5 miles better yo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Dec 05, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Agree, at this price one can buy the new CX5 2.0 GLS or buy the 2.0 GL and still have plenty of change. And it can seat five people in comfort. :)

• azhar on Dec 05, 2017 at 2:34 pm

new subaru XV also better than this overpriced crap!

• Wake-up.... on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:34 am

what a joke… new UMW ceo also useless.. with that price, u guys really think that ppl. now days got no brain? Don’t think that u r selling the no 1 brand then u can sell it on number one price n lower space at bolehland ya..
    end up only killing urself n the brand.. you did nothing on the car. still want to earn so much.. ur head really big..

• Boleh kid on Dec 05, 2017 at 2:14 am

That is complete rip-off

• waters on Dec 05, 2017 at 4:54 am

UMW is mad. 146k? The price shows that this company is being run inefficiently and has too many layers to feed.

• CM Goh on Dec 05, 2017 at 7:29 am

It is overpriced. Same as Camry? Shocking!

• So kesian on Dec 05, 2017 at 7:30 am

Haha you might as well buy a car like the subaru xv or even mazda cx5at this price

• Karam Singh on Dec 05, 2017 at 7:46 am

This makes me hate Toyota even more!

• If this really is the price than RIP CHR. Im going for the RECOND Mini 5 doors.

• chemaq mak on Dec 05, 2017 at 7:57 am

What’s another 46,000 over a HR-V, I’m sure it will sell……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
  • Ken1996 on Dec 05, 2017 at 8:22 am

Is overpriced. Given the choice to pick between HR-V and CH-R. I believe many would pick HR-V or better an AWD Subaru XV 2.0L instead. Which their price is lower and specs much better too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • lolpanda on Dec 05, 2017 at 8:34 am

At that price I’d go for a CX-3. Meatier engine, conventional automatic instead of an awful CVT, full LED headlights, personally I think the CX-3 looks more refined plus the interior is much more premium and the media interface doesn’t look like a 2-din aftermarket slap-on like it does in the C-HR.

IMHO, the C-HR only has it’s flamboyant design to sell for; which stands out now for sure, but it might not stand the test of time…the more flamboyant a design, the sooner it gets old.

Compared to the HR-V? I think that’s targeted at a completely different audience despite being in the same category as the CX-3 and C-HR. The HR-V has a proposition of spaciousness and it appeals to those who lean towards practicality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Dokgo on Dec 05, 2017 at 11:41 am

If only they make the cx3 a little bit roomier. I test drive cx3 and mazda3 and get the 3 because cx3 feels a little cramped.

• Henry on Dec 05, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Twice I wanted to buy the CX3 but I aborted both times and bought something else. Yes, the small size is the deal breaker.

• lolpanda on Dec 06, 2017 at 9:44 am

Indeed space is tight in the CX-3 as it’s based off the Mazda 2 platform. That’s why you’ll find the Mazda 3 is roomier.

That being said, segment-for-segment, space/roominess hasn’t been Mazda’s forte (much like their partner from the past, Ford); instead, they keep driver-centric elements front and centre when it comes to making cars. For example, the 3 and Focus don’t nearly have much room as a Civic.

Much like how the Fiesta and 2 are as cramped as a pigeonhole when compared with the Jazz/City’s spaciousness

The Focus and Fiesta have been top-selling nameplates in Europe for a reason, there’s preference for driver’s engagement vs. outright space over there.

Here in MY, things are quite the opposite.

• 145k too xpensive. Not worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • 146k?
    i rather buy new cx5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Congratulations to HONDA MALAYSIA for being number 1 top sales foreign brand 2018 in Malaysia again!!

• Ferum on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:08 am

Ridiculous. Too expensive for a hrv-typed class suv.

• Price Must Be Right on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:17 am

Strongly recommend UMW Toyota to study local market and competition to ensure new products launched at the RIGHT price.

• Anonymous_C on Dec 05, 2017 at 10:30 am

Well done UMW, sales volume will be like your previous Yaris records?

• polla on Dec 05, 2017 at 11:53 am

CVT??? You are out of my list again.

• speedywinger on Dec 05, 2017 at 12:14 pm

I guess more options available in the market.. CRV base option gets the nod.. well unless the styling of CHR is too hard to resist for some..

• HondaFan on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:05 pm

A lot commentors said better buy this laa…buy that la…so buy la why talk only???The truth is its a nice damn car period! Even for a Honda fan. Buy what you can afford dont say BS because you are drooling n dreaming to own one and suddenly the price is not up to your expectations.

• Cheapskate on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Lotz of cheapos here wanting a low price car with high RV

• If it 4WD it’s okay. But 2WD? Even Mitsubishi ASX 4WD cost RM128k after launched. Not only lack of 4WD but lack of LED headlights, LED foglights, aftermarket head unit, safety sense for that price.

• Peter on Dec 05, 2017 at 1:47 pm

As usual … toyota thinks it’ll sell. Think it’s so hot to pay another 20-40k compared to their competitor. We shall see the sales number… or we couldn’t if they don’t want to reveal when it’s not ideal.

• Alovely Day on Dec 05, 2017 at 2:26 pm

Not worth it. Waste of my garage space. Would rather top up a couple hundred K and get a GLC or a X3.

• Ben Yap on Dec 05, 2017 at 3:05 pm

no paddle shift, no rear aircon, no turbo… can sell meh?

• Johorean on Dec 05, 2017 at 7:00 pm

Dear Tan Chong, faster bring in Nissan Qashqai or Renault Kadjar Europe No.1 SUV. You may have a lot of potential buyer here.

• Mohd Fadzli Mohd Bari on Dec 05, 2017 at 11:15 pm

stupid price… all cars price in malaysia so bad. people should stop buying all those car. the car wont even stand more than 9 years. engineer at at Dubai or US can buy Audi with their salary.. here engineer in Malaysia can on Myvi with the same tag price…

• Barney Boo on Dec 06, 2017 at 12:18 am

It made me hate this car now! Treating us like sucker. #feelinginsulted

• Gumdrop on Dec 06, 2017 at 1:18 am

Malaysian very sensitive of price tag. UMW keep it, don’t sell it, waste dealer parking space.

• GinTan on Dec 06, 2017 at 7:59 am

I dont think they ever intended to fight/rival the HRV. Automotive companies are way more complex than pricing it low. CBU factor, Volume factor, Commitment to principals. Wont be surprised if UMWT themselves never intended to import many units of these

• Who Cares on Dec 06, 2017 at 10:02 am

Who cares what umw’s strategy is. If they want to shiok sendiri with their business strategy, pricing strategy and profit target, by all means. We all customers will just choose among all products available in the market which suit us well.

• GinTan on Dec 13, 2017 at 8:48 am

Exactly. They know very well with the CBU nature and taxes involved, they cant sell many here at that price. Im not surprised if they are only targeting to sell 10 units a month.

• UMW probably only got a few units of these in from Thailand. Demand and supply. Why price low when you only have limited units

• As always UMW is relying on Toyota brand power to sell in Malaysia.

• Same segment & cheaper:
    Subaru XV
    HRV
    CX3
    UMW to see the price of its same segment also
    I think 100K-120K should be the range

If up to 140K-150K
    There are C segment which worth more such as
    CR-V
    Outlander
    X-Trail

• Levin on Dec 06, 2017 at 10:53 am

On a side note, recon & used car dealers will welcome this news with a big smile on their face. Now they can easily bring in preowned CH-R from Japan and sell it here for RM100K+ since U Manyak Wang company already set a very “so-high” price for this economy crossover vehicle. U Manyak Wang company killed the GT86 sales prematurely and the CH-R sales/booking went down the drain since 4th December 2017. Buyers had been waiting for the pricing until now, but fedup with this BS and put in their deposit already for Honda HRV/CRV, Mazda CX5 or the new Subaru XV.

• Syed Hussein on Dec 06, 2017 at 12:44 pm

1. Toyota C-RV 1.8 – RM143K (Imported).
    2. Camry 2.0/2.5 – RM148 – RM169 (+).

* Compare the Specs of C-RV and Camry.

Any which way, Toyota is second to none (in its class).

Purchases “would not be wrong/go wrong” should they purchase a Toyota.

Check it out.

“GO 4 IT” … It’s your call.

• loltoyotacrv on Dec 06, 2017 at 3:58 pm

toyota cr-v?

Probably too disappointed with the CH-R pricing and you came out with your own Toyota CR-V. LOL

• ericjen on Dec 07, 2017 at 9:47 am

disappointed with the price and no hybird model?!

• Guess only small group of people will buy with this price tag.

• Sputjam on Dec 13, 2017 at 9:00 pm

When will we implement afta ( asean free trade area) where thsi or 8 donesuan built cars are taxed same rate as proton?

• Overpriced for this kind of specs. CX5 is much better in term of specs and price.Definitely a no no…

• Robin on Feb 20, 2018 at 11:52 pm

UMW is trying to lure other car producers, especially Honda and Mazda to bring up the price of their respective flagships like HR V and CX 3. UMW could forgo the sales of CHR because they had popular models like Camry, Fortuner and Wellfire to deliver the figures. However, if their sinister strategy works, cars would be expensive again.

• With this price….i ll go for HRV…will safe my money with almost the same capacity..