Earlier in September, Porsche introduced the 911 GT3 Touring Package that could only be had with a six-speed manual transmission. Although unclear at the time the motivation behind such a move (especially if the very similar 911 R was as exclusive as it was supposed to be), the boss of the 911 model range, August Achleitner, said there was an ulterior motive after all.
After all, there’s surely no coincidence that the GT3 Touring is so similarly specced to the ultra-rare, limited-run 911 R. The former, priced over 20% cheaper than the 911 R – which retailed at €189,544 (RM910,300) and was limited to 991 units – isn’t even limited in terms of production numbers.
According to Road & Track, the GT3 Touring was partially conceived in response (and possibly curtail) to flippers responsible for over-inflating the price of used 911 Rs on the market, reportedly now at multiple times the original asking price. “We did not expect this, let me say, crazy reaction concerning used car prices,” Achleitner told the publication at the Los Angeles Auto Show.
“Some people are making only money with the car. We don’t like that,” says Achleitner. “If [the GT3 Touring Package] helps keep prices a little bit lower for the average customer of our cars, it’s better. Of course, there are some specific customers who are a little bit disappointed, but it’s okay, we can live with this.”
It’s worth noting that the GT3 Touring and R aren’t exactly the same car, with minor exterior (the former is basically the facelifted 991 GT3 but without the fixed rear wing, while the R gets a carbon fibre bonnet and doors and a magnesium roof to save weight) and interior differences. The R also uses an older engine from the outgoing GT3 RS, which makes the same 500 hp but doesn’t rev as high (8,600 rpm versus 9,000 rpm).
Apart from that, however, the two are essentially the same. Even Achleitner himself admits that the R and the Touring Package are “similar,” and to a certain extent the new Carrera T as well, at least in philosophy.
Earlier in the year, Porsche GT boss, Andreas Preuninger told Car and Driver that the company is keeping an eye on car flippers. If necessary, these individuals may not even be offered limited-edition cars in future. “We are monitoring very closely who is flipping cars,” he said. “We do not build too many cars and we know most of our customers well – we like to have a name for every car before we build it.”
“I personally like to see my cars being used. That’s what we build them for. They are just too good to be left to stand and collect dust,” he added. “I don’t like this business of people buying our cars to make money on them. That was never our intention. The purpose of limiting a car is not for it to gain value. We don’t want to be laying money on each car’s roof when they run out of the factory.”
To recap, the GT3 Touring Package is mechanically identical to the “standard” GT3, drawing power from a 4.0 litre naturally-aspirated flat-six that produces 500 hp at 8,250 rpm and 460 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm. No seven-speed PDK dual-clutch transmission is available here, only the six-speed manual. It takes about 3.9 seconds to get from zero to 100 km/h before hitting a top speed of 316 km/h.
If that’s still too much power for your liking, perhaps the stripped-out Carrera T (for Touring) with a 370 hp/450 Nm 3.0 litre turbo flat-six and a seven-speed stick shifter may be better suited for your maiden rear-engined, rear-drive, row-your-own-gears venture.
GALLERY: Porsche 911 GT3 Touring Package
GALLERY: Porsche 911 R
GALLERY: Porsche 911 Carrera T
woww damm cheap rm910k in wealthy europe. Come here RM2,200,000, Mesia is wealthier ?
Mesia dun have to pay 50% income tax when start working nor 19% GST for all items.
Most Malaysians can only talk about Axia, Persona, Saga or Myvi.
Can’t blame us. We are low income nation. According to EPF’s own statistics, 78% of all its contributors only earn RM1500 AND below.
According to DOSH statistics, our median household income has increased substantially. It was just RM1,704 in 1999 but last year it was RM5,228. While petrol price have doubled to RM2.30, our income has tripled.
Betui.. Household income RM5,228 ÷ 4 person. 1 family member gaji RM1,307.
Even these so-called ‘national budget cars’ above are same or more expensive than a price of a flat under People’s Housing project and Rumah Selangorku.
New car flipping for 2 to 3 times over original prices is only possible if the car is rare (limited production) and desirable ( in the case of the 911R, because the fear that Porsche will not offer manual on GT3 models anymore). Funny that Porsche aren’t as concerned when owners flipped the 918.
So basically its okay to piss off them genuine fan owners just cuz of some scalpers?
Thats like an event organiser slashing prices when they know scalpers r reselling their tickets. What is expectations of those real fans (who bought the ticket earlier) for the next concert then?
“Some people are making only money with the car. We don’t like that,” says Achleitner.
This must be the most STUPID statement ever by Porsche. If your customer CAN make $$$ from purchasing/selling your car, U should be Happy. Its a win win for both ma !!
this implies that the market demand was very much larger compared to the original supply of limited units. porsche would prefer themselves to profit instead of the scalpers, thats why they released a so-called second run of manual gt3s.