Peninsular vehicle with Sarawak road tax impounded

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has impounded a Rolls-Royce Ghost registered in Peninsular Malaysia but with Sarawak road tax, according to reports by Bernama and Borneo Post. The car, rented by an Australian man, was one of the 20 vehicles seized under Ops Patuh on Jalan Bangsar on New Year’s Eve.

Deputy director-general (operations) Datuk Wan Ahmad Uzir Wan Sulaiman said that the road tax was listed at RM5,000 – a fraction of what the owner should have paid – adding that a Motor Vehicle Licence (MVL) from Sabah or Sarawak could only be used in those two states. “Investigations revealed that the actual [road tax] that should have been paid was about RM20,000,” he told reporters after the operation.

A JPJ Putrajaya spokesman explained to Borneo Post that the owner had likely deliberately attempted to avoid paying a higher road tax. “It’s an offence under Section 24 of Road Transport Act 1987 as the owner had renewed the road tax in Sarawak. In this case there is a vast difference in road tax as it cost RM20,000 to renew in Malaya but it will cost merely RM5,000 when it’s renewed in Sarawak,” he said.

He added that if any fee under this part remains unpaid one month after it is due, the director shall issue a notice requiring the defaulter to pay the amount within 14 days. “Any person who fails to comply with the requirement of such notice shall be guilty of an offence and shall on conviction be liable to a fine of RM2,000.

“The court before such person is convicted may, in addition to such fine, order such person to pay the amount of any fees due and remaining unpaid at the time of conviction. Any such amount so ordered to be paid may be recovered in accordance with the law relating to the recovery of fines, and any amount recovered shall be remitted by the court to the appropriate director,” he said, citing the act.

The spokesman added that the difference in road tax was part of an agreement signed during the formation of Malaysia in 1963, and that vehicle owners intending to use their vehicles in Sarawak have to declare their vehicles to JPJ. “In fact, any vehicle, even a motorcycle, registered in Malaya has to indicate which territory in the country the vehicle will be used,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• OnLooker on Jan 02, 2018 at 9:45 am

Whose fault ?
    Car owner or the officer issuing the renewed Road Tax ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 4
    • Tibai on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:04 am

You realize that piece you can stick those road tax in any cars you want, right?

• Jeffri Taib on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:07 am

There are about 100 AP car dealerships in Klang Valley alone. All have runner boys who do this Sarawak road tax everyday for current buyers and ex buyers.

So many buyers who bought their AP cars few years ago also renew their road tax every year with the AP dealership. All get Sarawak road tax for Semenanjung car.

At least few hundred car road tax renewed everyday to be used in Semenanjung with Sarawak road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
        • pokmang on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:34 am

Bila raya beli Rolls-Royce kereta,
          Lepas raya beli roadtax sarawak,
          Suka suka lagak kaya,
          Nie smue hanya kat mesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • potato on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:10 pm

those car carry East or West Malaysia plates? or any cars running on East Malaysia can enjoy the road tax rates over there?

also to renew roadtax you will need the grant, so it only works if you buy cash or finished loan, and it’s still a risk if these runners or AP sellers lost your grant.

by giving your grant to another person, you also risk being a victim of cloned car syndicate as they have all your details.

• sapelagi on Jan 02, 2018 at 8:24 pm

The hardworking poor subsidized cheating rich pipu again.

• Pay your installment cun2 for 1 year without failed. After that can collect original grant at bank der hehe

• Jeffri Taib on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:05 am

What a sham. I have seen this going on the past 20 years. Infact, everyday in Bangsar, I can spot at least 5 Bentleys with Sabah Sarawak roadtax

And now, they just catch one just to show?

Come on JPJ and PDRM, so many in Bangsar everyday. And nearly every AP car got runner boys who do this Sarawak roadtax.

There are so many Ferrari, Lamborghini and Bentleys use Sabah Sarawak road tax

When is JPJ really going to catch all these guys? Mostly Datuk and Tan Sri somemore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 23
      • The cars u spotted has Sabah & Swk plates, so its okay to have Sabah & Swk road taxes cuz they have done the paperworks and paid the tranfer taxes. No problemo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 21
        • Jeffri Taib on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:27 am

not true. The cars spotted have Wilayah plates but with Sarawak road tax.

Looks like JPJ and PDRM tutup mata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
          • Hahaha, it seem like JPJ jst woke up from sleep.. most of us know expensiv luxury car normally comes with cheaper road tax.. only average joe kena bayar normal price for roadtax

• Nope. I live in bangsar, so im positive its those cars u mentioned, unless its another fake news from u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
          • Blind Bat on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:59 pm

same guy who says malaysia got cheapest petrol and cheapest cars in the world. How to bilip?

• Nope. U got the wrong john there. So pls clarify what u said cuz the cars i saw had Sabah & Swk plates.

• Blind Bat on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:46 pm

blind john always defending corruption

• hello? on Jan 02, 2018 at 8:08 pm

I’m guessing that you are a very misinformed man, John. Even if they have Sabah and Sarawak plates, once the car touches Malayan soil, then it has to pay Malayan road tax. It is the same for Malayan cars once it touches East Malaysian soil, it will then pay East Malaysian road taxes. So there is no excuse for those rich Bangsar Dato’s with East Malaysian registered cars to not pay the full amount of road tax as required per Malayan law.

• ABTguy (Member) on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:49 am

I hope our Govt & JPJ just standardise the roadtax price for the whole country, story closed !

With Govt pouring more and more resources in building road and even free highway in Borneo states, it’s high time to standardise the roadtax prices now. Maybe to bring down 30-40% on Peninsular and fix it for the whole country will do.

No more crying both side, if anyone can’t afford the roadtax, they should not own that car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • sunny on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:58 pm

ABTguy, come to sarawak and sabah to see for your self the road condition here. We’ve been contributing alot to the malaysian economy yet we get pennies from the federal gov to develop our infra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
          • 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:35 pm

U mean the Federal gomen con U guys ??!

• Conned by a certain leader of 22 years in charge.

• The road condition in Sarawak is in such that can kill people anytime. :v pls check road incidents in Sarawak within last few months.

• Pls lah on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:18 am

Obviously is the car owner, who want to looks good yet don’t want to pay road tax n parking coupons… how the issuer know where u use ur cars?

• Kena cheat on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:41 am

You can see many big cc car on East Malaysia road tax here at Peninsular. The recond car dealer said it is valid, all get mislead by them.

• Jeffri Taib on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:25 am

JPJ knows about this for 20 years already. They are at fault for letting it happen for so long.

Just one car alone LHDN loses about RM16,000 in revenue per year. There are thousands of cars in Klang Valley that uses Sarawak road tax.

It is estimated that LHDN loses BILLIONS per year just from there offenders.

So, in other words, JPJ has caused LHDN to lose BILLIONS in revenue per year for the past 20 years.

By the way, all taxes for all cars sold in Malaysia only come to RM6 billion.

So, if these offenders don’t steal from LHDN, all Malaysians can even have tax free cars with the BILLIONS LHDN can save from these cheats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • Car owner. He probably paid runner in Swk to buy road tax there, then ship it back to Peninsular. Its time Langkawi, Sabah & Swk have diff colours road tax to clearly marked them out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • hondaman on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:42 am

is this the RR owns by Dato’ Aliff Syukri, the owner of D’herbs?

• Rightwinger on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:58 am

Malulah…got money but got no class…

• Henry on Jan 03, 2018 at 9:46 pm

Do you think Dato’ Aliff Syukri have time to buy the road tax or car plate number? All of these are done by his employees.

• “rented by an Australian man”
      Probably a leased vehicle by car rent agency.

• it is! viral on fb already! What a shame! And he still want to show off that the car he bought it cash! and he don’t like the word ‘sita’ which he think referred to unpaid loan car. Does he understand why the car is being sita by JPJ or not? This is what happen when uneducated person get rich

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Dr. Anonymous on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:32 pm

@zack if you are so “educated” bro, why are you not richer then the so called “uneducated” rich person? you people should stop having these stupid uneducated remarks on rich people being stupid. Bro, look at the late Lim Goh Tong, owner of Genting Highland. He never even finished high school. But believe me he is nowhere near the level of “uneducated” that you think. Being smart doesn’t mean you need to have a 3.5 – 4 flat cgpa in university, or hold a master or PHD level of education. What you do is what show whether you are smart or not. I am a medical doctor by title and people always say “wow you must be intelligent and educated”. I alway told them, “I am no smarter then a mechanic because if you ask me to repair a car, I can’t do it”. And most mechanics either have education the level of high school or didn’t even finish them like the late Lim Goh Tong. But it doesn’t make me or anyone else any smarter then him when repairing a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 28
        • dolloh on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:32 pm

not convinced at all that you are a medical doctor. uneducated is one thing, but classless is another! dont humiliate Lim Gohtong like that ever again! he didn’t go to school because he couldn’t! And when he got rich, did he ever pull cheap stunts like Dherbs or Vida do to sell his goods? Again, these words wouldn’t come from a medical doctor, unless your medical degree was bought, like Vida’s degree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • Dear Dr. Anonymous, your writing shows it all. And, as a medical doctor, you can’t jump into conclusion and assuming people just like that. Talk with facts!

• Walauweh on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:49 pm

This could be Tan Sri Lim Kok Wing’s rolls royce ghost as his Rolls Royce has a QTH plate number. Had it since 2011/12..

• carlzen on Jan 03, 2018 at 10:16 am

abg jpj nak tegur..

• amused on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:09 am

this has been going on for decades… one way the rich stay rich…

• awg1031 on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:10 am

cheapskate richman

• Joker The Great on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:26 am

In fact when purchase motor insurance, the insurance company system also got option to choose EM or Peninsular Malaysia usage for the vehicle.
    I think it should be tie up in between both in first place.
    2nd, that compound should increase to 100K. If involve any MP should Double up the compound. If it was go through by AP CAR DEALER, higher or serious action should I be taken.
    If involve of any General Insurance getting runner to do it, their general Insurance license should be take into consideration as well.

• I can understand why people resort to this…seriously charging roadtax based on engine displacement is outdated.. if anyone needs to change, it should be JPJ…Start charging private vehicle annual roadtax based on engine CO2 and NOx emmissions, and after vehicle is 6 years require owners to send in their cars for emissions inspection at puspakom..if out of spec..get the car owners to fix it or seize their vehicle…it is ridiculous for one country to have different road tax quantums. Or else implement a system for private car that are rarely used, to be registered as weekend cars, and charged lower road tax…Or better still, implement road tax use based on vehicle usage…more vehicle used higher the road tax…just my thought..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Either of ur proposal is flawed or biased against certain segments/users. Emission based tiered will only benefit rich pipu cars cuz only then can afford the high techs used to reduce emission (or even cheat it like some femes brands). Ditto to tiered based on usage will be unfair if the user needs to travel for work.

Best system is follow Norway where its tiered based on vehicle weight, cuz no matter its NA or EV, both same weight will wear out roads at the same rate. And EV carmakers must have a battery recycling policy in place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Henry on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:48 am

Don’t always pick on the small guys. It is time they go after the big boys too.

• Sannas on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:00 pm

There are cases which involves lack of exotic car workshops, in Sarawak, we can’t find good proper workshops to service our Mclarens, Ferraris, Lambos & etc. The cars are shipped to KL for servicing and then illegally drove in the West Malaysian roads.

• Taurik on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:12 pm

What a shame! I thinks it’s time for the gouvernment to subsidise Mclaren-, Ferrari-, Lambo- & etc. service centers in Sarawak.

• BOYRACER on Jan 03, 2018 at 10:45 am

It is not illegal if the car is shipped through proper channel and if the roadtax and insurance are still valid.It is only illegal if the car is in Semenanjung and they pay the roadtax in Sarawak/Sabah.
      When you ship your car from Sarawak to Semenanjung or vice versa,the Customs have a form that will be given to the owner once the car has been declared.
      This for renewing roadtax purposes.In Sarawak,if you have your car shipped from Kl,when renewing time JPJ will ask for this form.

• C.P. MOHAN on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:19 pm

Like to comment on John’s point, interesting. If one’s BUSINESS is renting or leasing cars, is the business area restricted to E.Malaysia although Sarawak and Sabah is part of Malaysia and JPJ is a governmental body, can understand langkawi and labuan since there is tax implications.

• East MY has autonomy of certain gov functions. Just like imigresen, both same name in East & West but East side has a higher say in some restrictions. JPJ there might function separate from JPJ here.

• Azahari on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:24 pm

For god sake that is still a Malaysian car with a Malaysian roadtax, driven on Malaysian soil. Unless if it is a Singapore or Thai car then different story.

If the government cannot standardise the roadtax fee, don’t blame the rakyat.

What if a Sarawakian who moves to KL driving his old car bought in Sarawak. Will he be fine too? Will JPJ fine every Sarawakian and Sabahan drives in Semenanjung?

This is suppose to be 1 Malaysia right?

• dolloh on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:37 pm

what’s supposed to be is the road tax rates should be the same no matter where you are as long as you live in the federation. whats the cause for the tax rate disparity? are they cheaper in Sabah&Sarawak because the Peninsular has better roads?? or because of the SS governments having the autonomy hence their right to set the rates separate from the Peninsular?

• andrew on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:27 pm

Correct on all counts. We Sabahans don’t have a proper road infrastructure in Sahah.
        We are still waiting for our Pan Borneo highway. So for the moment, no 110km/h highways and even good A/B roads. So I suppose lower taxes because lower overhead. Also, we are autonomous (sort of, but our power of autonomy has been degrading over the years) which means different regulations. We have our own customs and immigration depts for example.
        I beleive Sarawakains have the same issue at hand.

As for the question above (about Sarawakian/Sabahan moving to KL). The proper channel is that the vehicle transfer has to be reported to JPJ so that the car records move along together, then pay Semenanjung taxes. Got a few friends who did that. In short, all down to enforcement! Although we have this 1Malaysia thingy going on, these policies can’t be changed because it has been agreed during the formation of Malaysia 1963 and IMHO, I as a Sabahan would like the MA1963 to stay on. Just my opinion lah.

• Vroom on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:09 pm

A registered Sarawak/Sabah car’s road tax rate will be revised by JPJ before the vehicle is moved to West Malaysia.

• As mentioned by commenters above, transfer is allowed but must go thru proper channels & paperwork. Anything else is illegal and no mercy given, dun care 1Malaysia or not. Law is the law.

• D'Burbs on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:23 pm

The lower roadtax structure for East malaysia came about coz the road conditions & rough terrains requires powerful 4×4 vehicles with higher c.c. So won’t be fair to charge East malaysia the high roadtax as in Pen Mal… but maybe after the Pan Borneo highway has been completed.. and after the election.

• panjang on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:26 pm

Specifically on the RR case where the car belongs to the entrepreneur…
    He did posted openly before to lease the car as it is under utilised.At that time he posted that the roadtax he needs to pay is abt RM60k meaning its registered under company.Could be now its transferred to his name.If yes then JPJ needs to demand more from him@the company.
    Something is fishy somewhere….just wait and see 2-3 years down the road.
    U cant own the car but your company can so use the company to own the car initially.

• dolloh on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:39 pm

doesnt this make him a tax evader? hope JPJ does the right thing and penalises the owner. typical rich pipu, money got a lot but taxes dowan pay.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:42 pm

Guess they didn’t mention that the owner is some datuk

• wawasan2020 on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:02 pm

poorman save on car RV and some 7seaters while richman save on car roadtax …this is life people …

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:45 pm

At least that guy who got caught paid RM5,000 to get a Road tax. Some Rich guy did not even have a road tax displayed in their wind screen.

They simply drive a Big car & think they own the roads. Who dare to stop to summon a RR/Bently normally. Maybe its time PDRM/JPJ do more checking in Bangsar & Damansara Area. Yes I mean only check the BIG & Expensive vehicles.

• Ian Malik on Jan 21, 2018 at 1:34 pm

I live in Penang and I have just purchased a QRL (Sarawak) number plate from JPJ for use on my motorcycle (purchased locally), in Peninsular Malaysia.

In view of the foregoing comments, do I have anything to worry about?