2018 Lexus LS – order books open in Malaysia; three variants, priced from RM800k to RM1.46 milllion

Lexus Malaysia has announced that the order books have opened for the 2018 Lexus LS sedan, which is scheduled to arrive here sometime in the first quarter. The automaker’s flagship limousine – which premiered in its petrol-only LS 500 guise last January in Detroit – will go on sale in Malaysia in three variant forms, these being the LS 500 Luxury, the LS 500 Executive and the range-topping LS 500h Executive hybrid.

The fifth-gen LS sits on the company’s Global Architecture – Luxury (GA-L) platform, which made its debut in the LC 500 coupe, and the petrol variant is powered by a 3.5 litre, twin-turbo petrol V6. The unit, which replaces the previous-gen’s naturally-aspirated V8, offers 415 hp and 599 Nm of torque in the way of output, and is paired with a 10-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

The hybrid, which made its debut in Geneva last March, also utilises a 3.5 litre V6 petrol mill, though that’s normally-aspirated and good for 295 hp and 350 Nm of torque on its own. The engine is assisted by two electric motors, with a 310 volt lithium-ion battery providing the necessary juice. In combination, overall output from the hybrid system is 354 hp.

Power on this one is put to the ground via a Multi Stage Hybrid Transmission, which combines a four-speed automatic with a traditional hybrid continuously variable transmission (CVT), to recreate a 10-speed transmission.

As you’d expect, there’s plenty of interior luxe – aside from all the usual plush bits, front occupants get 28-way power-adjustable seats with heating, cooling and massage functions, and those seated at the rear will find the same raft of climate control functions as found in front, with an optional rear seat luxury package adding on a raised ottoman. Also, the rear seat behind the front passenger can be reclined up to 48 degrees, or raised up to 24 degrees, to make for easier egress.

The kit list includes a 12.3-inch navigation display and a 3D-surround Mark Levinson audio with a remote touch infotainment interface and in-ceiling array speakers. On the safety front, the luxury sedan is equipped with the Lexus Safety System +, which includes pre-collision warning system and an advanced lane departure alert, among other things.

Finally, pricing, and the 2018 Lexus LS range starts off at RM799,000 for the LS 500 Luxury, while the LS 500 Executive is priced at RM999,000. As for the range-topping LS 500h Executive, that goes for RM1,459,000, all on-the-road without insurance. The new Lexus LS will come with a comprehensive five-year warranty covering unlimited mileage.

GALLERY: Lexus LS 500h at Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show 2017

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• aaron on Jan 11, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Instead of getting the 500h Executive u should get both the 500 and a s400h with money to spare

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Sidek Kamiso on Jan 11, 2018 at 6:28 pm

Don’t forget Lexus is the King of RV Depreciation. The previous Lexus LS460L was sold for RM900k.

5 years later, used car dealers will BEG you to take the car for RM90k.

Just imagine how you feel…..Buy today RM900k, within 5 years, your car become RM90k

Heartache and chest pain you will feel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
      • So it became cheaper for u to own.
        Wait a minute. When too exp, u complain. When it becomes cheaper cuz no RV, u still complain.
        Where in the world got bog standard car RV higher than selling price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • mnk696 on Jan 12, 2018 at 7:42 am

Ask urself friend… if u can spend this amount of rm to buy car .. why bother about RV .. is all about style n exclusivity to name a few .. did I say it correctly ❓

• tokmoh. on Jan 12, 2018 at 9:46 am

Who cares? Richfag pakai buang car one, where got time to care about RV?

If u buy it RM900k, expecting to sell back 5 years later for RM899,999, you can’t afford it.

U want RV, better buy crypto. Buy today RM900k, next year RM900 billion.

• Tok Mah on Jan 12, 2018 at 10:20 am

same goes to S class and BMW 7 series, and Jaguar XJL. but those buyers are millionaires. they are earning hundreds of thousands ringgit per year.

and more often than not, they bough the cars under company name – so they are entitled to tax rebates later on. they dont bother.

• Why no F Sport variant??? I like it’s movable gauge ring..

• Same price like Mesidis but not the same brand prestige.

Mesidis, P1, Geely, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Lexus’s refusal to CKD outside of Japan with the exception of certain models of RX and ES often results in their prices being higher than that of its superior European competitors which have assembly plants all-across the globe. However this means quality can be consistent and Lexus has some of the finest quality in the industry, and the Lexus LS epitomises this. The new LS just oozes minute details on its grill, dash and everywhere. Go into the finer details and you really can see the craftsmanship of Lexus’s takumi. Personally, the decision to persue a more Japanese sense of luxury is the Lexus USP, in a market crowded with people trying to Out-Krauts ze Germans. I still prefer a Century thou.

But whoever who prefer to buy one of this is absolutely stupid in Malaysia. No reason to support the Jepunis overlords. Spend half the money and buy a Volvo XC90, not because its Sweedish but because its owned by Geely, and every money they earn will go into R&D of superior Bao Teng cars which will finally rid the roads of Malaysia off Jepunis and Kimchi low quality car and replace with glorious Chinese financed Malaysian made automobiles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • Dun forget Mesidis too.
      Mesidis, P1, Geely, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Jonn Dol on Jan 12, 2018 at 8:13 am

Why Geely all of a sudden? The biggest blunder of Lexus cars is the styling. Currently, the only Lexus worthy to be mentioned as a thing of a beauty is the Lexus LC.

• tokmoh. on Jan 12, 2018 at 12:48 pm

> I still prefer a Century thou

Ah I see you’re a man of culture as well.

An excellent taste in XC90. The best way to tell the world you’re a man of culture with no fear of convention, you are your own man. You don’t need gimmicks nor beat around the bush, you are resourceful and makes the right call of judgement every time to do what is necessary.

The world will know the might of Geely, and be in awe by it. Onwards my brethren, glory awaits us!

Geely, Volvo, Lotus, Polestar, London Cab, Lynk & Co, Terrafugia, Bao Teng, AB Volvo, Daimler > all

• caravan melaka on Jan 12, 2018 at 12:49 pm

u drive china-made car meh?

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 11, 2018 at 5:54 pm

The internal door panel itself is like an art.

• venven81 on Jan 11, 2018 at 6:21 pm

what is there for Lexus to ask for for a whopping RM1.4m price tag on the LS 500h Executive??? S-Class, 7 series and A8 don’t even come close to RM700k and the base-specced LS 500 Luxury is close to RM800k. Come one la Lexus. Lexus is always just a Lexus and will not surpass the German in terms of ride quality, handling, power etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • awg1031 on Jan 11, 2018 at 8:36 pm

oh really? i guess u’ve driven it right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • eVaz88 on Jan 25, 2018 at 11:44 am

Try again mates. Test drive those car u mentioned first. then test drive LS in coming month. U will know.

• gigi kuning on Jan 11, 2018 at 6:45 pm

Paying close to 1 million for a Toyota? I rather use the money to buy a more prestigious and classier German car, even though it’s a second hand car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Johan on Jan 11, 2018 at 7:39 pm

Glorified toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Wow!!!! Crazy!! Range topping at RM1.46mil?? Get a second hand 2014 Bentley Flying Spur V8 at around RM1.33 mil or get a Porsche panamera turbo if go for sporty

• Holofanboi on Jan 11, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Tried placing an order with a 30% deposit, but my bank wont allow it! Kept giving me an error ‘Insufficient Funds’ despite my absolute faith that I have the required sum!

• Offer some wheat to the sage wolf for wisdom in economic prosperity…..probably some beer too.

• Holofanboi on Jan 12, 2018 at 7:38 am

She ran off with the entire warehouse of Apples in exchange T___T

• johnston on Jan 11, 2018 at 10:05 pm

This model’s price now seriously insane. The wise buyer will choose the S-class or entry level AMG models for this kind of money. Even better, just buy property. Solve case.

• johnnas on Jan 12, 2018 at 1:47 pm

john what are you doing here? this is not about P1. get lost.

At least Ben Yap knew better than to brag about his FC turbo and Cervelo bike here.

• Hi guys, what is the difference between LS 500 Luxury and Executive? For casual drive only.

• I guess executive is long wheelbase version.

• i believe Luxury has all the toys. example massage seats, heated steering wheel and the likes. maybe built in DVD monitor behind headrest.

• Yes, Lexus is definitely a nice good with good quality but they are not justify for sky high price.

• So far my Lexus NX has been serving me well for 2 years. Built quality are good, no complain for a 300k car.