Using your phone while driving is a big no-no in a lot of countries, but France has decided to take it a step further with a new ruling. According to Le Figaro, it is now illegal for drivers to use their phones while they’re in the car, no matter if the engine is running or not (except in certain situations).
It doesn’t matter if you’ve pulled over to the side of the road or stopped at a red light, a fine of up to 135 euros (RM653) and three demerit points await drivers who fail to follow the new ruling – the same punishment applied to those caught fiddling with their phones while driving.
There are a few exceptions to the ruling, with Bluetooth (or any other hands-free method) being accepted for accepting or making calls. Also, drivers who pull into designated parking spots and use their phones will not be punished. Should there be an emergency or vehicle breakdown on the side of the road, drivers will also be allowed to use their phones to call for assistance.
While the ruling might appear a little extreme, there is some logic behind it. Even though pulling over to use your phone is definitely safer than using it while driving, there is still a need to find a proper and safe space to pull over, even if traffic isn’t blocked. For instance, narrow roads, or a spot that may limit your visibility to other drivers, is still risky just so you can use your phone.
Closer to home, it was previously reported that the Road Transport Department (JPJ) would catch those using their phones while driving via cameras, and a fine of RM300 will be given to them. Do you think France’s new ruling be emulated here?
Not to worry, that will have no affect here
Malaysian drivers are more than happy with the current arrangement of either talking or texting while driving at any speed.
No doubt adding to the 7,000+ lives lost on the roads each year.
Happy days~~~~~
and with the new gadget on myvees, they can even play games hor..
Msia Mat motors prefers to use phones while ridings..
Nothing works here. I am sure by now every one knows that. Lets channel our resources to things that could work.
Improve enforcement…. too many rules and laws but no enforcement…. just bla bla bla bla…
and u think it is easy? plus with tinted windows nowadays it make a lot more harder to enforce.
Enforce tinted windows… just bla bla alasan2… Dun just skodeng pakai Ipong.
Why need enforcement? Let law of natural selection sort out those stupids.
The problem is those stupid might cause other innocent lives….plain stupid…
– I Have Added A Comment –
Please implement this here as well. Phone playing driver is a menace.
We are busy multitasking here…no time to do one thing at a time
Hehehe. The article is about banning drivers bla bla bla in FRANCE & have nothing to do with M’sian but nevertheless most took this opportunity & liberty to blast M’sian bad attitude.
It shows how fast we are to criticized but S L O W when it comes to praising. That’s the real M’sian we are seeing here !!! Cheers… bcos I can
12yearsold,
You don’t think in general that Malaysian drivers don’t need criticism?
Driving in this country is an absolute disgrace and until the government decide to get serious about all the issues of motorists disobeying the road rules, many more lives will be lost.
7,000+ deaths a year on the roads cannot be acceptable.
Are U criticizing for the sake of bashing or are U part of the problem ?? Please remember when U point a finger on someone, there are more fingers pointing back at U.
Mere mortals like U should not be judging others for U will be judged by…your maker.
An unbelievable response!
You don’t seem too bothered about 7,000+ losing their lives on the road in this country each year.
Unbelievable!
What can us mortals do? When after any major accidents, the authorities could only comment the bus driver has been issued with 72 outstanding summonses since 2009 and the bus company has numerous unpaid traffic offences. The same episode repeats itself in the next Berita Terkini. Asked how the bus driver in the incident was still driving despite having unpaid summonses, they said: “What have the other agencies been doing?
I agree with Bj.
We cannot deny there is a problem. The numbers don’t lie. 7000 unnecessary deaths per year can be reduced.
You’re out of line. And by the way, the same can be said regarding your comments where you ridicule people.. remember, it’s the Maker who judges mortals and not some 12 year old mat rempit to do so.
B4 U type, read the article & understand 1st. It’s in FRANCE. Did I deny we have a problem ?? U & Bj are the same. HYPOCRITE. Not ALL M’sian drive like mad man. Maybe U & Bj drive like one ?!
You don’t think in general that Malaysian drivers don’t need criticism? – That is a sweeping statement to GENERALIZE most M’sian are bad drivers.
Don’t bring 7,000+ deaths a year on the roads as your defense as this topic is about FRANCE. Get it !?
Luckily its in france. Cheers Kerajaan MY prihatin! Puji mak puji!
if we want to do it, we shall do it one step ahead of France, i.e. turned off all phones in the vehicle while driving until destination. no bluetooth no gps no shit.
The ruling is extreme.
It also favors drivers of higher end cars who can operate their phone, navigation etc via a dedicated multi media system like the BMW
i-drive or some fancy car touch screen interface.
Will the French authorities say that is illegal too, eventually?