VIDEO: 2018 Toyota Camry – US-spec walk-around

The midsize sedan has been the staple automobile of the American market for decades, and the Camry has always been right up there in the charts since its introduction 35 years ago. It was the best selling car in the US for 15 consecutive years (2002 to 2016), and has served generations with distinction. But even the Camry is not immune from the SUV wave, which has affected this segment particularly badly.

While the show must go on, a different approach was needed. No one can accuse Toyota of playing it safe with the 2018 Toyota Camry, which has a face that one would describe as “aggressive” if he was putting it mildly. The design is “downright wild” for a midsize sedan, the video says.

The Camry has two “Keen Look” faces – the super wide-mouthed LE/XLE and the SE/XSE you see here, which has a pinched mouth and “Catamaran-inspired” accents. It rides on a the new TNGA platform and is longer and wider (but lower) than the outgoing car. The US gets 10 variants of the Camry – L, LE, XLE, XLE V6, SE, XSE, XSE V6, LE Hybrid, SE Hybrid and XLE Hybrid – and plenty of options, which the video shows in detail. Toyota Safety Sense P is standard across the board.

The three powertrain choices include a 3.5 litre V6 with D-4S fuel injection, a 2.5 litre “Dynamic Force” four-cylinder, and a next-generation Toyota Hybrid System (THS II). Arch-rival Honda Accord has ditched the V6 for a detuned Civic Type R 2.0L turbo-four, but Toyota has elected to continue offering a big motor here – it makes 301 hp and 363 Nm.

The new Dynamic Force Engine is set to be the most popular choice, and it puts out 206 hp and 253 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm (176 hp/222 Nm in the Hybrid). The engine features VVT-iE on the intake side while utilising VVT-i for the exhaust, and a high and efficient compression ratio of 13:1 (longer stroke to achieve this) for increased thermal and fuel efficiency. The variable valve timing system uses an electric motor instead of oil pressure to control timing.

Both petrol engines are mated to a new Direct Shift eight-speed automatic transmission, but the Camry Hybrid uses a CVT with a new Sport Mode that has six virtual ratios.

VIDEO: 2018 Toyota Camry – US-spec walk-around

Toyota is promising ‘sporty handling’ and ‘enhanced ride quality’ for the new Camry. Improved structural rigidity (new platform, increased use of ultra-high-tensile steel, application of a new molding tech), a new double-wishbone rear suspension system, and a new four-point engine mounting system (improves NVH performance) are contributing factors.

“In order to create something that stirs people’s soul, we’ve laid out the concept of a new sedan that provides fun and excitement behind the wheel. In developing the next-generation Toyota Camry, we were able to start with a clean slate, which allowed us to create a true driver’s car,” said Camry chief engineer Masato Katsumata. Yes, you just read a description of a Camry.

The eighth-generation Camry is already in Australia and will soon head to ASEAN, although we should be getting the tamer of the two faces. What do you think?

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry LE

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry XLE

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry SE

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry XSE

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry SE Hybrid

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry XLE Hybrid

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Toyota SEG on Mar 21, 2018 at 10:55 am

Why Toyota car design getting worst from time by time , all the good designer already work with Hyundai or Kia ka

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 19
    • Shameful to Toyota on Mar 21, 2018 at 4:12 pm

Yup true. All thumbs down to Toyota Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 21, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Stunning and beautiful…no wonder it continues to be the best seller in its category for sooooo many many years…kudos toyota…those sour grapes will continue to bash you no matter what…ohh what a feeling…toyota of course

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Tapau Accord on Mar 21, 2018 at 10:59 am

Launching soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 38
  • EMPEROR TOYOTA on Mar 21, 2018 at 11:07 am

This is CAMRY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
  • Interior design inc steering wheel is copy from Honda wei!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • paparadzi (Member) on Mar 21, 2018 at 11:19 am

Will we still be getting the hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
  • Kopi Wong on Mar 21, 2018 at 11:20 am

(Like) 2018 Toyota Camry.
    (Dislike) 2018 Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 82
    • halloha560 on Mar 22, 2018 at 6:40 am

(Like) Honda Accord 2018
      (Dislike) New Toyota Camry 2018

• BowArrow(Mr.SFA) on Mar 21, 2018 at 11:34 am

As usual comes to MY , no shark fin antenna / panoramic roof / sunroof / detuned 2.5l 206 hp to around 170+…

• Also takes out the dashboard design head unit system and replaced it with UMW made in china head unit.

• 12yrsold on Mar 21, 2018 at 12:50 pm

I wonder if i replace the Toyota badge with a Hyundai badge will anyone know !?

• Andrew on Mar 21, 2018 at 2:48 pm

No mention of the onboard information systems? This is where Toyota has fallen behind: no support for Apple CarPlay or Android Auto, a too-small information display too low down on the dashboard, no wireless connection for your phone, and you can’t have Google Maps and its real-time traffic mapping. Toyota’s attempt at an in-house navigation system is lacking in features, and their antiquated user interface is awkward and dangerous to operate while driving. And they only let you use this navigation system for three years, then you have to pay some subscription fee to continue using it. It seems Toyota doesn’t realize that in-car information technology & connectivity is now a must-have in the modern automobile?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Lua Beng Ex on Mar 21, 2018 at 7:23 pm

Toyota Malaysia treated Malaysian as second class customer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Lua Beng Ex on Mar 21, 2018 at 9:44 pm

Be a smart consumers,yes Toyota Camry a good car but Toyota Malaysia just taking advantage on Toyota fans like you.. don’t even realize that you reserve more for what you paid…..

• Sasha on Mar 21, 2018 at 10:05 pm

Please shoot the designer

• Minibeany on Mar 23, 2018 at 12:25 pm

any idea when it will arrived to Malaysia?

• Phang on Jun 23, 2018 at 10:28 am

What is the top speed at EV mode before engine kick in?

• Elvis on Jul 01, 2019 at 7:15 pm

And in the event you incorporate a little exercise, yyou can find better results or at least know that you do all you
    are able to view a fast difference. Whether thios can bbe with a store or online, selecting retail store is endless.
    If you happen to be a person who will nothing like formal exercise,
    or exploring gym, look for a fun sport it is possible to play.