VW revises maintenance schedule – up to 26% cheaper

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has announced a revised Service Maintenance Schedule for Volkswagen cars. It offers up to 26% savings for Volkswagen owners (calculated based on five years or 75,000 km), and it is effective from April 1, 2018.

VPCM managing director Florian Steiner said that the move is in line with the company’s continuous efforts to optimise the ownership experience and in giving owners peace-of-mind. “The revised Service Maintenance Schedule, paired with the three years’ free maintenance programme which we introduced on January 1, 2018, makes owning a Volkswagen even more cost-effective,” he added.

The updated Service Maintenance Schedules applies to all current and previous Volkswagen models (click here to find your specific model) sold in Malaysia. However, it’s worth noting that this is only applicable to models sold via authorised distributors, and does not cover grey import models.

According to VPCM, the revision is due to extended replacement intervals of certain components (they now last longer). This translates into better savings for the owner, and Volkswagen will still perform the standard routine checks as part of the standard service process. What do you think of this?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Polo sedan on Mar 30, 2018 at 4:18 pm

Lucky mine not grey color…shukor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • The term “Grey Import Model” is not in reference to the color of the vehicle.

They refer to new or used motor vehicles legally imported from another country through channels other than the maker’s official distribution system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 54
      • sarcasm bro.. Please understand people’s joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
        • April Fool Joke on Mar 30, 2018 at 8:26 pm

U kidding me? The service fee has gone up significantly on VPCM website. Last time under VGM got 400+ (lowest) for my Golf 1.4TSI (2012)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Barang Naik on Apr 01, 2018 at 6:14 pm

Is all about marketing gimmick… Increase it and give you some discounts. False consumer effect

• pampered on Mar 31, 2018 at 8:02 am

In the first place, avoid DSG totally. Whether it is dry or wet, DSG is DSG. It cannot handle our hot weather.

Even 2018 VW models are breaking down due to our hot weather. Come on la, even our house aircons also not working because of the hot weather

You think the famous DSG problems can tahan our current hot weather?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
          • Kunta Kinte on Mar 31, 2018 at 5:58 pm

Dude. You living in a cave. Seriously I’m sick and feel like puking listening to your comment. Let me put this straight to ignorant people like pampered. DSG IS NOW RESOLVED! Volkswagen cars are reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
          • Ais Kacang on Apr 01, 2018 at 9:02 pm

Many young idiots still get the DSG. They still haven’t tasted the pain of leaving car in workshop for weeks on end.

• Why so serious bro hahah!

• Now you only tell me.. >.<..
    Actually I do feel that certain parts don't need to change that often.. but we did it bcos of preserving our warranty.. waste of $$

• VPCM managing director Mr Steiner obviously following P2 magic mantra. “Tak payah pikir, tak payah pening” This move is to optimise the ownership experience and in giving owners peace-of-mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Fanny Chiew on Mar 30, 2018 at 4:45 pm

Why dont you do a take back of our cars since value has collapsed 80 percent. Give us a guaranteed RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 39
    • Henry on Mar 30, 2018 at 5:20 pm

No car manufacturer in the world can offer this guarantee. It is always caveat emptor (buyers beware), whichever brand you buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • hard lesson learned, dont buy eye candy..sell and cut losses..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Zorro on Apr 01, 2018 at 10:52 am

Dont buy car if you care of RV..Buy property instead.

• loll..extended to 25k km service intervals, vw saves money and customers pay for the bomb once warranty expires..super smart lahh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • tkhengong on Mar 30, 2018 at 5:51 pm

I am contemplating changing to a Tiguan. But I am apprehensive about VW’s reliability as I owned a Jetta previously and there were problems. Also, not forgetting a huge drop in resale value after 2 years of ownership. I have noted a couple of VW courtesy cars on the road lately in Penang. Could it be their VWs are at the workshop? Anyone can share their experiences?

• Live goes on la..move on..lose is lose...1million % lose is lose on Mar 30, 2018 at 8:12 pm

Dei…get a safer care for yr wallet..dont use ego and lansi…stick with the basic..so many choices ..jangi jangan pokai la..kan kan !

• Lucky Gong on Mar 31, 2018 at 9:07 am

I own Mk6 gti since 202 and now the new Tiguan since last year. so far mk6 had done 110k mileage and Tiguan just 10k mileage, not a single issue on gearbox or mechatronics, for gti, there are piping replaced, so far so good now.

• Ais Kacang on Apr 01, 2018 at 9:11 pm

Life is so boring is it? Why take the risk again? Once someone cheats, they will always cheat again. Get some other brand and let new idiots feel the pain of titanic RV drop.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 30, 2018 at 6:15 pm

So grey impoet owners will have to fork out the extra 26% to service their vehicles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • RulerBoy on Mar 30, 2018 at 6:30 pm

Who ask u to buy grey import? But i think the OEM car package is an improvement.

• Live goes on la..move on..lose is lose...1million % lose is lose on Mar 30, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Cos u maya lansi ..wan to show off …u beli kerate import…kena la ni…$$$$ kena keluar la bang!

• benisyourdad on Mar 30, 2018 at 8:32 pm

Great news but driving a dry DSG in Malaysia is very much like a timebomb waiting to explode. I owned a B7 Passat (CBU Sports Edition) which served me very well from 2012-2017. Had the mechatronic unit changed and clutch set replaced twice. That’s a total of 4 times my car had to be towed. However everything else is alright for its price. Just a sensor change and some wear and tear.

I would recommend the new Passat if you’re looking for a D-segment (as compared to Jap competitors, the VW is miles ahead in terms of refinement) but be vary of the gearbox. Reliability is not VW’s key strength. Do have a spare car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • passion on Apr 01, 2018 at 3:32 pm

TOO LATE. You screwed up badly!!!

• BreakDownOften on Apr 02, 2018 at 8:56 pm

The worst thing I experienced is that car died in middle of driving… 2 times due to fuel pump control unit. Please save your life and money, say no to VW.