Hafizh Syahrin: you need to give 200% effort in racing

As Malaysia’s first motorcycle racer to enter the MotoGP class with Tech 3 racing, Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (23), and better known to fans as “El Pescao”, has seen a surge in his popularity and fan base. Whilst covering the opening round of the 2018 Petronas Malaysia Cup Prix championship in Tangkak, Johor, paultan.org had the chance to catch up with Hafizh in an exclusive.

Now in his rookie season in MotoGP riding with a satellite team, Hafizh has found himself in a unique position as a racer, as the place pretty much fell into his lap after Jonas Folger pulled out of the 2018 race season due to injury. Asked if he had issues adapting to the Yamaha YZR-M1 race machine, Hafizh said, “yes, the bike is very different, nothing can be compared. The power, the handling, the traction, the braking. All are different from Moto2.”

Hafizh says due the massive differences between the MotoGP and Moto2 bikes, he has had to change and adapt his riding style. “I was forced to make a big change in the way I ride and I had to do it quickly although it was not too difficult, but I still have a lot to learn,” Hafizh said.

With two championship points from his first race in Qatar, Hafizh says the result was unexpected. “My target was merely to finish the race, I was not expecting the points. But I put my motivation and passion into the race and with the full support of the team, I was very happy with the result,” he said.

Aiming for “Rookie of the Year” for this season, Hafizh promises to fight hard, aware of the fact that he is flying the Malaysian flag at the very top level of two-wheeled motorsport. He is working on his physical fitness for now, saying he is not facing any other challenges with regards to ancillary items such as diet or weather.

Rounding out the interview, Hafizh praised the establishment of a racetrack in Tangkak, and lauded the move to increase the number of tracks around the country, saying that it would encourage racers to do it in the proper place, not on public roads. For up-and-coming young Malaysian riders, Hafizh says, “you must have passion, motivation and discipline, you have to give 200% effort in racing, not play the fool.”

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• komarad on Apr 03, 2018 at 4:18 pm

should change my kapchai to this livery…

• casual rider on Apr 03, 2018 at 4:28 pm

exactly! Y15zr

• Abdul Kadeer on Apr 03, 2018 at 4:54 pm

We are proud of you Syahrin. Your hardwork has paid off. You are one of the very few who never ask bantuan and yet, you can succeed through hard work. All the best Hafriz!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 58
      • Never ask for bantuan? Then what r those sponsors stickers he wears?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 32
        • Anonymous on Apr 04, 2018 at 12:57 am

I don’t think those sponsorships count as those kinds of financial aid. The riders often don’t ask for them, the team does. Someyimes the brands themselves ask to be on the team. If those sponsors aren’t confident of the team and riders, they wouldn’t have their name stuck all over them.

• Horrors! If he wanted to reject any help like what the basher claimed, he can pay to remove all sponsorship and race in pure white bike. So whos truth, TECH3 Monster or basher?

• Nik Anoy on Apr 04, 2018 at 1:17 am

My dear john,
          I bet you, hafizh dont ask for help for THIS year moto gp, he just lucky to the project. I dont see any malaysia brands at him.
          Hafizh wear almost the same brand like zarco wear. FYI The team is actually announce to media, right before hafiz come in to replace folger?? Is anythings wrong with that..emm do you know who is zarco??

• No help? U mean Poncharal din help him when selected to race for TECH3? Poncharal cud have went for a more established rider, but he din. Thats not help kah?

• Petronas Sprinta Raceline team will beg to differ.
        Petronas Raceline Malaysia team will beg to differ.
        (SIC) Moto2 team will beg to differ.
        Monster Yamaha Tech 3 team will beg to differ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 30
      • abang2 must learn from Syahrin and emulate his attitude in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
        • Ah u mean like abang Kunta, Peria, Albert, Bhagwan, Abdul dan lain-lain?

• Yamaha shud ditch Telefonica stickers and go for this TECH3 Monster!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Jonn Dol on Apr 03, 2018 at 4:58 pm

It means that motor racing is a serious business with serious approach.

• Shahrir Ahmad on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:04 pm

This guy deserves our praises. I hope our local grads look at him as an inspiration that only through hard work that we can succeed.

Many local grads like to look for shortcuts to climb up the ladder fast. They want kemewahan cepat.

But in reality, there is only one way to success….hard work.

Like Hafizh has shown, hard work and not goyang kaki that brings success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 57
    • Meanwhile: “Monday 4 January – Britain’s universities are said to be in the midst of a ‘plagiarism epidemic’ after an investigation by …….. newspaper revealed how almost 50,000 students were caught cheating in the last three years.

The newspaper also found international students – from outside the European Union (EU) – to be the worst offenders, coming out as being more than four times as likely to cheat in exams and coursework”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 40
  • I dont play the fool wan... on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:18 pm

Thts wat i doing everymorning on kesas…100% effort on my kapcai..klang to kl 20min je

• I dont play the fool wan... on Apr 03, 2018 at 5:19 pm

Thts wat i doing everymorning on kesas…100% effort on my kapcai..klang to kl 20min je..kalau 200% geranti 10min je

• expecting more blue Monster in the coming months on kapchai