Foreigners to pay 50% to 200% more for local motor vehicle registration – up to RM900, effective April 16

The cost for private vehicle registration, ownership transfer and driver’s license application for foreigners will be raised between 50% to 200%, and it will be effective beginning April 16, 2018. This involves all motor vehicles from Class B1 and B2 motorcycles, as well as Class D vehicles, as reported by Berita Harian.

Deputy minister of transport Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said the decision on the hike was made by the Cabinet, and added that there has been no revision in the fees since the country’s independence in 1957. He said the initiative will also raise the country’s GDP without burdening Malaysians.

“Beginning April 16, the government will implement the new fees involving private vehicle registration, vehicle ownership transferral and driver’s license application to all foreigners residing in the country,” said Aziz.

This means that the cost to register a motorcycle under 500 cc and above 500 cc in Sabah will be RM100, and in Sarawak it costs RM20. The current fee is RM5 for both states. For bikes above 1,500 cc, the new registration fee will be RM350 (from RM150) for the Peninsular, while the cost in Sabah and Sarawak is pegged at RM120 (from RM60).

For Peninsular vehicles (excluding motorbikes) with an engine capacity between 1,501 cc to 3,000 cc, the cost is up to RM600 (from RM300). For East Malaysia, it costs RM120 (from RM60). However, cars above 3,000 cc will have to fork out RM900 for registrations in the Peninsular and RM160 in Sabah and Sarawak.

As for motorcycle ownership transferral, the new rate of RM20 is now standard across Malaysia. Previously, it’s RM3 in West Malaysia, RM4 in Sabah and RM5 in Sarawak. For cars, the new fee is RM200 (from RM100) for Peninsular and RM120 (from RM40) for East Malaysia. However, ownership transferral for foreigners with disabilities remains free of charge.

Lastly, driver’s license fees. Currently, the renewal cost for Class D license is RM30 (which is the amount we Malaysians currently pay) per year, but this will be raised to RM60 for foreigners. In other words, from April 16, it will cost RM300 for a five-year term.

Meanwhile, for Class B1 motorcyclists, the current fee foreigners pay for license renewal is RM20 a year. This will be tripled to RM60 per year – same as for a Class D license.

“The implementation of the revised fees will increase the projected national income with an estimated amount of RM31 million annually,” said Aziz. “The initiative shows just how privileged Malaysians are – that they get to enjoy the benefits of being exempted from the increased cost.”

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Charge them foreign currencies, no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
  • Tax them foreigners no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
  • turborider on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:03 pm

This is a good implementation.
    But where the est RM31mil money will go is another question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
  • omegle on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:21 pm

The initiative shows just how privileged Malaysians are – that they get to enjoy the benefits of being exempted from the increased cost.

bruh please….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • Jimmy on Apr 10, 2018 at 5:22 pm

Good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • kaizen on Apr 10, 2018 at 6:26 pm

“He said the initiative will also raise the country’s GDP without burdening Malaysians”

….this is a stupid statement from an idiot minister. If he really said that.

Hope this guy will cease to be a minister, after an election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
    • Are you foreigner?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Parmi on Apr 11, 2018 at 10:14 am

Excuse me, is he not correct?

We charge foreigners extra – hence higher GDP. We don’t charge malaysians extra. Surely we’re not burdened by this move.

Who’s stupid now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
      • kaizen on Apr 11, 2018 at 3:11 pm

You are. What is GDP? what are the components of GDP? How GDP is measured? What is the effect on production? Supply? Consumption?

Go, figure out this one first, then we can debate, anytime, anywhere. You name it.

If RM31m is the figure that you are talking here, …… ehem, ehem… what is RM31m out of RM300 billion in 2016?

want some more hint? come sit in my class…. free for you and the minister.

• kaizen on Apr 11, 2018 at 3:42 pm

I mean to say,

RM31m versus USD300 billion (Malaysian GDP in 2016).

• Whatever it is, it’s still an increase. whether its RM31mil or even RM31.

• I hope foreign governments also charge Malaysians living abroad double. Great to see discrimination based on nationality is alive and well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
    • No worries. They alredi did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • tokmoh. on Apr 11, 2018 at 1:04 am

Indeed. In recent times we hear Malaysians travelling overseas asking donation for their medical bills which is so much more expensive than local citizen rate. Some died, and aren’t even allowed to bring home the body before clearing the bill.

So other countries discriminate our people for using such basic humanitarian medical service. Why should foreigners use our resources for nothing?

• Somemore UK uni topkek prices. Much more than locals. What happen to their spiel of universal free tertiary education?

• Try go outside My like what those indo and Bangla who come My. Then u will know they already did that long ago.

• Seriously 2&3 ringgit is too low.

• Bernard on Apr 10, 2018 at 7:30 pm

When they say foreigner , does that inc illegal immigrants?

• Andrew L. on Apr 10, 2018 at 10:21 pm

Meanwhile, Singapore tries to make life easier for expats. Guess which country attracts skilled expats? Guess which country attracts companies? But keep telling yourself that this populist nonsense is helping the economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • And at the same time make life hell for their citizen. A country of expats is no country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2018 at 9:42 am

even with increase those are still cheap for foreigner.. so non issue

• Seriously? Foreigner cant paid 200-1000 for car registration?that mean they not an expat. 2-3 riggit is too low cant even cover paper and workforce. Should have been revised long ago.

• pleasemakesense on Apr 11, 2018 at 9:52 am

expats and foreign companies care about incentives and subsidies for their companies, not how much private car registration costs.

you really think skilled expat who has was offered expat package to work in malaysia would reject: oh malaysia charges rm600 for me to register a car. errr..

also dont only benchmark singapore. other countries also have different charges for foreigners.

• What about Malaysian PR?

• Ben Yap on Apr 11, 2018 at 10:02 am

means indon labourers on motorbike gotta pay more.

now they have to snatch more handbags…

• Bina Jaya on Apr 11, 2018 at 5:49 pm

We are spouses of Malaysians with Malaysian children and families, we get paid same as other Malaysians and these charges will further kill us. By the way how can this rule come into effect, when there is only a caretaker government? Please clarify?

• Come on guys, the comments above are largely short sighted and blatantly discriminatory. Does UK charge foreigners more for a licence? No. Do we charge more tax? No. Foreigners bring a huge amount of business to this country. Sure some earn a lot of money too. Many like me though are on a local salary only.

The government must protect Malaysians interests first, but please be careful it is a very slippery slope and discriminatory policies are what has split this country for decades. I would suggest instead of blindly agreeing with stupid policies like this that you try to see a bigger picture and believe in your hearts it is best to treat everyone as equal. If the foreigners are here, they must be here to contribute to Malaysia and not themselves. Equally the Malaysians who live here should fight to unite this country for their brothers and sisters regardless of race.

Discriminatory taxes are nonsensical and our children will inherit the mess we create for them. I may not be Malaysian, but I have lived here long enough to feel this is my home too.

• yaser on Jun 27, 2018 at 8:09 am

That is why malaysia keep failing ..Gov. and people think the only way to get money is from foreigners !!! Even Dr M. that we all love called Japan to borrow again !! before that Najib from Saudi ..Wake up and rely on yourself instead of begging

• MD SALMAN SHAH on May 07, 2022 at 1:36 pm

I want do the motor license

• Sherazam on Nov 13, 2022 at 12:39 am

I am a foreigner I have a license from my country it changes