SPYSHOTS: 2019 Fiat 500X facelift seen road-testing

The Fiat 500X crossover has been around for a while now – a little under four years to be exact – and the compact Italian appears to be ripe for a mid-lifecycle update, as spotted by our spy photographers.

This update will see modest changes applied to the exterior of the 500X, as suggested by the camouflage worn by the test mule pictured here. Its headlamps get a new design alongside a larger grille, while a redesigned front bumper gains new air intakes as well as round foglamps. The smaller, auxiliary lamps beneath the headlamps also get revised and will be LED units.

The back end gets similarly modest updates, with revised tail lamps receiving colour-coded inserts as seen on the recently updated Fiat 500. Also as indicated by the camouflage shrouding, the rear bumper will receive a minor redesign as well.

Although unseen here, the 500X interior is set to get updates as well, even though it has received minor changes for 2018. Powertrain-wise, the 500X should get a mix of petrol and diesel units – in 2014 debut guise, the 500X received six petrol units ranging from 120 hp to 184 hp in output, along with two diesels producing 95 hp and 140 hp, respectively. The facelifted Fiat 500X will likely make a 2019 debut.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Richard Sambrani on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:14 pm

I wish we had Fiat back again in Malaysia. Last time we had but Torino Motor abangs were all sleeping in the showroom. All lepak and never do work. So brand bankrupt la

• Albert's Fake News Pvt Ltd on Jun 01, 2018 at 10:16 pm

Last time you were oso bashing Fiat for being unreliable and expensive to repair. Now dah ikut boss buat Utun kah?

• John Palat on Jun 01, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Last time I used Fiat 131 Mirafiori in Malaysia. Very good and solid car. Then when I studied in the UK, I bought a 3rd hand Fiat Punto. Very good car. No problems at all

• Lim Fong Yung on Jun 03, 2018 at 9:20 pm

Fiat =fiat is always trouble