Goodbye SPAD, hello APAD: new agency to be formed

Out goes the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), and in comes the Land Public Transport Agency (APAD). The new entity, which was announced by the transport ministry yesterday, will be responsible for the development of the land public transport sector in the country, Bernama reports.

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the cabinet agreed to the establishment of APAD, which will be led by a director-general to implement relevant policies. He said the agency will oversee land public transport projects such as the Mass Rail Transit (MRT), Light Rail Transit (LRT), rail transportation and bus systems.

Four sub-committees, led by ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Saripuddin Kasim, have been set up to monitor the restructuring plan from SPAD to APAD. The new agency’s organisational structure and staffing will be implemented with the assistance of the Public Services Department (PSD).

Following the restructuring exercise, Loke said the SPAD Act 2010 (Act 714) will be abolished to empower the ministry as well as APAD and the Road Transport Department (JPJ). He added that two others acts – the Land Public Transport Act 2010 (Act 715) and Road Transport Act 1987 – will be amended to empower JPJ.

Loke said that existing SPAD functions in enforcement and providing counter services will now be handled by JPJ. He added that the department will be the authority for the issuance of licences and permits for public transport as well as travel/commercial vehicle operators.

“There will be no separate JPJ and SPAD counters after the restructuring exercise. In order to avoid overlapping of functions in land transport enforcement, JPJ will be given the authority to carry out enforcement of the Land Public Transport Act 2010 (Act 715),” he said.

He added that SPAD was still operating as usual until the SPAD Act is abolished in the parliamentary sitting that will be convened next month.

“Many are still confused and think the SPAD is disbanded, hence, there will be no enforcement and summonses need not be paid. That is not accurate because SPAD still exists today, until the SPAD Act is abolished in the parliament,” he explained.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally express curiosity and cautious optimism about the formation of APAD, noting it as a positive move to improve public transport planning and oversight, distinct from the former SPAD's enforcement role. Some commenters compare APAD to Singapore’s LTA, hoping for better efficiency and accountability. There’s discussion about maintaining enforcement powers—some worry that stripping these from APAD could weaken oversight, while others see it as clarifying jurisdiction. Several comments question the necessity of disbanding SPAD instead of enhancing its functions or integrating them into the Ministry of Transport. Critics highlight potential duplication of government roles, increased bureaucracy, and possible political favoritism. Overall, the sentiment is a mix of hopeful anticipation and skepticism about the true effectiveness of the new agency.

• Huh. what was the original purpose of disbanding “SPAD” only to be replaced by APAD (doing similar function). Why can’t you just mention about placing the commission and function under Ministry of Transport instead earlier? Is it because you guys like to talk without thinking?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 8
    • Fooling pipu that they r downsizing. See the game? SPAD disband but the pipu absorb into JPJ. Then come out with APAD. Then hiring their pipu to populate APAD. Walah! Increase in gov headcount. But then APAD is toothless dept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 32
      • Mental John Go Away on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:27 am

Sudah lah john. We dont want to hear your negative comments anymore. Dah kalah teruk teruk, you still come here and spread hatred and lies….oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 53
        • rightwinger on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:01 am

zombie spotted!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Caught him that time, now his brains got fried, and his actions r so obvious alredi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • kalah teruk2?….dpt majority 2/3 ker…tu pom dgn janji munafik kebulan n bintang yg x terlaksana….

• Chegu on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:26 am

Bashers love to talk first without thinking. Or are they totally biased by party ideologies. Let’s see how the new MOT perform first, before judging. Even MY schoolkids are judged over UPSR, PT3, SPM, STPM exams etc. The new Govt is there to serve us all M’sians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 25
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:35 am

If you see the kid making stupid mistakes on the board, are you going to wait until he flunked the exams to tell him his errors? So why should we wait to see stupidity comes to fruitation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
        • Netizen oh netizen on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:57 am

the kid baru sempat pakai kasut sekolah Bata yg baru. Bas sekolah blom lg sampai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
          • M.Hamzah on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:37 pm

3 minggu masih belajar pakai kasut? Ada problem ni. Anakku masuk sekolah 3 minggu pun dah pandai ABC. Heran golongan kat Pentadbiran. Patutlah Menteri Kewangan matematik dia pun tak lepas-lepas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Kow on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:38 am

I don’t care whether it is SPAD, APAD, CHI-PET, whatever PAD. Please take serious ACTION against buses and trucks emitting thick black smoke/smog. And motorcycles and some cars emitting serious amount of white smoke (thick until sometimes I thought got mosquito fogging).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Borneo Darul Seram on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:05 pm

LOL sometimes there also follow trend of vaping so you can see plenty of smoke but you may not like the odour or smell…

• Wet Tissue on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:29 pm

I advise you to take a wet tissue and wipe your face when you’re back home. You’ll be amazed how black the wet tissue will be. true story…

• Rajan on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:27 am

Syabas YB Loke! APAD would emulate and exceed the success of Singapore LTA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 28
    • LTA has enforcement powers. This APAD apa pun tarak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
      • Mental John Go Away on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:29 am

This is a good initiative from a clean Government. At least now, got no more stealing and corruption rampant….oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
      • MenteriPasola on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:32 am

Semalam umum agensi baru , hari ini sudah bikin roadblock?

TunM was right about the level of education in Malaysia

• stupid john on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:30 pm

See the comments below by “stupid joe”. Don’t bash like a brain dead zombie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • See the comments above by “haha”. Don’t just sapot like a brain dead zombie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • komarad on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:29 am

got vacancy at apad ah??

• lilytan on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:39 am

Same as spad minus the fat paycheck for political appointees. This is what it should have been from the very beginning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:09 am

So now the political appointees comes from within, and the fat paycheck remains but force is now bloated even more. Is that how it should be? Big No!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Government agencies are under Ministry and staffing goes through JPA. Unlike a Suruhanjaya which handles their own hiring and compensation.

APAD top post won’t be making even a fifth of SPAD’s since the Public Service payscale grades will be applicable to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Ahmad on Jun 07, 2018 at 8:43 am

Looking at the SPAD vehicle at the background. Should I say there will be new tender for replacement of car decal from SPAD to APAD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • There won’t be any apad vehicles. All this will remain under JPJ. APAD is just the agency, but no enforcement or counter services, that will now be under jpj.

• Then there will be new tender for replacement of decal from SPAD to JPJ then…

And I already know who will win the tender hehehe ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • In that case, there is no point to abolish SPAD. By establishing a new entity, this is back to the square ones, why not just enhancing SPAD??? enhancing SPAD will save a lot than establishing a new entity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
    • stupid joe on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:33 am

by changing them from suruhanjaya to agency, this mean the new APAD would no longer have “enforcing” power.

and because of that, all types of summons can settle via JPJ. no need this summon go jpj, that one go spad.

and before this lorries and busses summoned by SPAD, all dont care. dont pay still can renew road tax. now under jpj, they can be black listed. hence would encourage more law abiding behavior of these commercial vehicle drivers.

get it? it is a step in the right direction.

if we have 2 gov bodies have enforcing power, theres always confusion as tho which jurisdiction falls into where and no more tai chi tai chi ie: being told by officers they have no jurisdiction to reprimand. better accountability.

get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
      • Diss-illusions on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:56 am

Thank you sir/ma’am.. it’s much clearer now. I gets it.

If I get you right… because of the confusion in the settling of summons and power of enforcement, they disbanded SPAD and formed APAD.

A lot of trouble over a small issue. Syabas!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • stupid joe on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:38 am

just for settling summon?

are you so blinded by political party bias that you just cant see my second half reply talking about enforcement jurisdiction of JPJ?

how many devastating road casualties in malaysia caused by errant lorries and buses (commercial vehicles)?

hence giving jpj more jurisdiction (lesser confusion and more accountability), after this it would be obvious that it falls on JPJ’s shoulder to stop these errant commercial vehicles. no more tai chi tai chi. get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • tokmoh. on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:02 am

Cold, hard facts. Good comment.

• I meant, the new SPAD without enforcing power laa… that kind of enhancement..just strip SPAD enforcement power, just concentrate on betterment of land transport. So can cut cost without establishing a new entity so called agency

• Hadi75 on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:14 am

So the function of APAD is the as SPAD?

• Toothless SPAD. But then whats the point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
      • They don’t need tooth. Only JPJ needs it since they should have been the sole enforcement agency.

APAD is to take up planning, studies and policy-making. Ministry/Gov implements them and JPJ will be the one enforcing them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Manifesto Dicapati on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:31 am

SPAD was originally setup to oversee public transports (planning, studies, policy making, enhancements) but because of JPJ ineptitude, they were roped into to do enforcement. One reason is because of their non-gov setup which attracts talents above JPA payscale. Now this go back to square one, all these talents will leave soon enough, and we can expect no outcome from this except a lot of hot air & rash decisions.

• RAPID KL Passenger on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:11 pm

I wonder if Rapid KL ever clean their buses at the end of everyday? or at LEAST every week? Because most of the buses I sat are filthy and full of rubbish. Cockroaches can easily be spotted.

From what I can see, MBPJ has been actively checking on filthy restaurants and shutting them down.
            Can SPAD/APAD do the same thing for buses? The rakyats health are at risk here.

• Then why not just disband JPJ and let SPAD take over? A non-governmental setup sounds good, but the money is still being paid by government. Where is the oversight in such a case?

• But where to house Loki then? Surely they wun agree, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Apa ini? on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:25 am

I am confused… what’s the benefits to the Rakyat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • The rakyat gets to donate more money to this Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
      • The Good Citizen on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:00 pm

For your info, I believe the rakyat is happy to donate. Anyways it is VOLUNTARY. No issue

• stupid Apa ini? on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:44 am

can read or not?

now the APAD will focus their efforts of public transport planning ie: MRT, LRT and bus routes.

Malaysians have been complaining about bad public transport system, now having a dedicated body who’s sole purpose and accountability is to improve public transport, this could translate to a better public transport improvement and planning.

before this, SPAD punya kerja is it saman lori? plan public transport? no body knows.

with APAD, we know theyre responsible for better public transport system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • KontiKinte on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:29 pm

I tot they cancelled lot of public transport Meh

• hondaman on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:04 pm

PH manifesto mentioned about 10000 buses, need to regulate laa all those buses… make sure all electric & driverless

• Ben Yap on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:44 am

eh, tukar nama je tu….

it’s like we’re abolishing GST and we will replace it with VAT with the same tax rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • azrai on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:08 am

APADia…Got Toyota APAD..

• Gemok on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:22 am

Later become APAM…

• Eddie65 on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:39 am

Mr Anthony, please also look into the high ERL fares to KLIA. Earlier it was only RM35 but no increase a lot because the old gomen wanted to support Grab and Uber.
    Can you please revert back to the old fees.
    Thanks.

• taboogen on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:36 pm

go back n naik beca lah like that or get your company to pay your salary back to the old days when you first join the company…

• Loke Loke My Yew on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:57 am

Please do below suggestion:
    – Improve the road quality by appointing qualified contractors.
    – Fix the potholes that keep killing our dear motorist and nice rims.
    – Increase all highway speed to 150km
    – Reduce the import and excise tax for vehicle to bring in more competition and improve the overall safety rating.
    – Reduce the import tax for spare sparts and safety equipments to reduce accidents that caused by old overdue parts especially the wear and tear in commercial vehicle.
    – Malaysia is very hot and sunny country please allow blacker tint to protect our eyes and skin health.
    – Solve all the sohai bottleneks in our roads due to stupid road designers.
    – Fix the drainage issue beside some stretch of the roads that caused small pool of water and big flood that caused jam nightmare whenever it rain.
    – Sell 100 unlimited monthly pass asap. This is no brainer to encourage public transport usage and bring revenue to it.
    – Remove all those non-sense speed camera, summon and non-sense too low speed limit that do no safety purpose but only to bring in summon revenue that burden rakyat and cause bottleneck on the road.

• MRT User on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:40 pm

well said. wondering previous MOT whut doin?

• sadly, some of those stuff such as potholes and import tax are not the responsibility of MoT. You should point that out to other Ministries and State government.

• Loke Loke My Yew on Jun 07, 2018 at 7:00 pm

MOT can take initiative, buck should stops in capable hands.

• The can take initiative to do those things, but who has the final say?

• Loke Loke My Yew on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:12 am

Why do we still need MOT if this ministry can’t even ensure all the roads are well built and safe for drivers?

• stastasta on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:07 am

many roads are under JKR/works ministry, not MoT. are you stupid or what ?

• ALaka JPJ on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:56 pm

Dulu > Saya Punya
    Skrg > Aku Punya

• I will be explain to u from what i had known.
    1. Hasil kutipan SPAD (cth: saman, permit kenderaan awam) 100 % masuk tabung SPAD bukannya masuk tabung krajaan seperti mana agensi kerajaan lain.
    2. Gaji anggota SPAD juga tinggi berbanding kakitangan awam di gred yg sama
    3. Tiada lagi pembekalan pakaian seragam utk anggota SPAD kerana tiada lagi anggota penguatkuasa dlm APAD
    4. Kos sewaan bangunan dan pembayaran utiliti dapat dijimatkan
    Itu beberapa perkara yg aku dpt senaraikan berdasarkan pengetahuan aku yg terhad