RM9 bil LRT3 project launched – 37 km from Bandar Utama to Klang, 26 stations, completion in 2020

LRT3 Launch-02

The Light Rail Transit 3 (LRT3) project was officially launched by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak at the Malawati Stadium in Shah Alam yesterday evening. Construction of the RM9 billion project, which will be undertaken by Prasarana, is scheduled to begin early next year. It is set to be completed in August 2020.

The 37 km line will connect Bandar Utama in Petaling Jaya to Johan Setia in Klang. It will have 26 stations, including five integrated ones and 10 with park and ride facilities. LRT3 is expected to serve 74,000 commuters daily (36,720 passengers per direction per hour capacity) and over two million people by year 2025.

Prasarana, which owns and manages existing LRT lines, is promising a feeder bus service to expand LRT3’s catchment area. The buses will serve areas that are 3 km away from stations and travelling time will take a maximum of 30 minutes.

LRT3 proposed route map

Click to enlarge.

LRT3 Line integration map
Click to enlarge.

“I understand that a new technology known as ‘U-Trough’ will be used, which is an improvement over the conventional system currently being used in our country. This is expected to speed up the process and timeframe in terms of its implementation,” said the PM, who added that LRT3 is expected to be completed on schedule, despite the cost limitations.

Prasarana appointed Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad (MRCB) and George Kent as the Project Delivery Partner (PDP) for the LRT3 project in September last year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Megane on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:20 am

240million per km . Bravo !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • Rahman on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:38 am

Only in Malaysia 240 million per KM. That also without land acquisition.

And that also using super cheap Bangladeshi labour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:48 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 109
        • Bangla says: why so bodo piang wanna stuck in jams to and fro when can ride in confort and reach destination on time. Bangla time is precise not like MY time, u know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
          • tokok on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:31 pm

Drive from BU to Klang only 20mins. So who is going to take that 26 stations???

• Rinnegan on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:53 pm

@AutoFrenz (the original); You are either incredibly smart or incredibly stupid. Haven’t you ever read or did a simple research on why we need efficient public transport?

• Joshua L. on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:37 pm

What an unwise comment

• TheRealHangTuah on Aug 25, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Stupidly saying that poor people take the train. Have you ever been in a metropolitan city overseas?
          I guess not. People from all walks of life uses the public transport. My CEO takes the train everyday to work.
          Please tell me how LRT encourages people to be lazy?
          You’re also saying that everyone needs to an automobile to work. You know that it will cause more traffic jam. It will do no good for the environment. Not everyone can buy a car, not everyone can buy a Tesla.
          Please keep your bigoted and racist thoughts to yourself. You’re are a disgrace to yourself and your family. Bangladeshi and Indonesian are people too, they have mouths to feed, family to care for. They would go beyond the comforts of life, willing to do dangerous jobs just to stay alive and find a better future for themselves and their family while you sit there behind your keyboard sipping off Najib’s golden BR1M payout. People like you, hmmm… Absolute disgrace. No wonder why this country has gone to shit.
          They only reason to disagree of this project is the cost and the shammy whammy that’s going on.
          Other than that, the project is beneficial to everyone. Only a degenerate like you would think otherwise.

• Ruslan Bahari on Aug 29, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Yes, the LRT, buses and next year the MRT are all or will be full of Bangladeshis and Indonesians and Nepalese. Why? Because people like yourself won’t ride in them. Remember, this is YOUR tax being used to pay for the projects.

• bangla buy Proton Persona, no need to take lrt !!

• If not 240 million per km, how much can your contractor quote?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Actually, its 120mil per km cuz u have to count 2 tracks not 1. And this cost is together with stations, and with trains, and with signalling system, and with multitude of feeder buses, and with supporting infra like park n rides.

I’d say its quite worth the price even with jepunis labour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
      • Some people think that only have to build the track. All of other things that need for the system to work will come from heaven.

• So how much it should be for 1KM?

• Yes, compare with China why don’t you? They make their own trains, use their own engineers, their own tunnel boring machines. They don’t acquire land since it’s their land.

• Rahman on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:35 am

As with any projects in Malaysia, RM9 bil will overshoot to RM20 bil. More money for UMNO thieves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 25
    • Andas on Aug 25, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Selangor MB approved, yet some fella questioned the total cost.. then najib must have been kawtim with sel MB.. paiseh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • jinggo on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:38 am

Wah! This is very good news. It will attract more foreign workers to malaysia. Weekday work at Klang & weekend hang out at KLCC (selfie background twin tower & later cry proudly). LRT3 ada apa susah? Malaysia will be a Truly Asia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • MY ke arah metropolis dunia macam new york & london. Tahniah!

• whoever made this map should be fired http://s2.paultan.org/image/2015/05/LRT3-proposed-route-map.png

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • tokmoh. on Aug 25, 2016 at 11:48 am

That’s very ambitious construction deadline target.

Don’t want to be another LRT Extension project case, delayed so much, only this year finally operational, when it should’ve completed years ago. Incompetent contractors, fatal accidents, including workers and unfortunate passerby in cars were root cause of delay.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:49 pm

the LRT Extension is completed within time frame.not delayed.

• I wud say ini semua salah that one company, but then pipu wud say Im racing. So I wun name that company.

• Why do you need two PDP’s , MRCB and George Kent, for one job? How many overpaid ‘Postmen’ do you need for one project? At least, if they had reduced the ‘Postmen’ from two to one, possibly the project would have gotten slightly cheaper, as it reduced role duplicities…But alas…this is typical SOP for Taxpayer Funded Government Projects, majority of costs goes to VIPs and ‘Overpaid Postmen’, and only bones are left for the actual contractor executing the package….Granted that this LRT should been mooted, approved and built at least a Decade ago…nonetheless better 10 years late and none at all…

• 2 PDPs is to reduce risk for either one. A 4.5B debt is less risky than a 9B debt, dun u agree? Even for reputable company, saddling with 9B risk could kill the company (and the progress of the project).

Somemore having 2 PDPs can work simultaneously, otherwise the project leadtime is 2X which those who wud be affected by traffic jams, wud agree that its better to spend the money to speed up the project completion.

So instead of solving a large problem which is difficult and take time, Najib breaks them down into bite-sizes so its easier to solve. Dun u agree?

• Das Auto on Aug 25, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Good development but not sure if the transit station in Bandar Utama will bring any benefit for Klangites?Shah Alamian to go to KL where they forced to change there. Bandar Utama doesn’t appear as a suitable transit area. Prefer the line split from Kelana Jaya Line so the LRT can proceed to KL from Klang. Imagine those packed in a train from Klang and Shah Alam have to change in Bandar Utama to another packed train to KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • You can connect to KJ line at Station 7 (Glenmarie). Bandar Utama is to connect to MRT

• kzm (Member) on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:04 pm

u better check the map. the map show u can to kelana Jaya line at Glenmarie.

• normal_user on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:20 pm

BRT kan ada. Soon. Only 30 minutes from Shah Alam to KL.

• Ultra2Disk on Aug 25, 2016 at 10:23 pm

You can straight to KL through transit at Glenmarie LRT Star Station. 20++ minute Glenmarie to KLCC.

• LRT & MRT is a scam on Aug 25, 2016 at 2:22 pm

I have personally worked on the design team behind the LRT and MRT and i can genuinely say the prices are indeed purposely inflated. It was freaking irritating being constantly told to revise our Pre Tender Engineering estimate upwards even when we had actual quotes to support our prices. Need proof? The new extended LRT line tickets for a short distance is too expensive so much so its cheaper to drive. Wait till MRT prices come in for tickets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Based on the new Rapid distance-price ticket cost, the price for station-to-station shud be around the same price as existing LRTs. MRT is new but the distance covered is much longer than LRT, so in face view the price station-to-station wud seem higher but its not becoz of longer distance between stations. Anyways everything high or low is just speculation, so lets just leave it at that, yeah

• Lolapaloza on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:15 pm

“The new extended LRT line tickets for a short distance is too expensive so much so its cheaper to drive.”

How did u calculate the cost?How about parking?Nowadays parking mahal bro..

• You it’s more expensive than driving?

Ok, we’ll increase toll, increase parking fees, increase road tax, we’ll do whatever it takes to make sure driving is more expensive.

• frossonice on Aug 25, 2016 at 3:14 pm

I’m not against public transport. I love public transport that is efficient and reasonably priced.

The thing is, I don’t see any benefits of this alignment. It should have use MRT system instead of LRT since it will be connecting between cities. Their target passenger volume is low.

The issue of alignment need to be address. There was a complaint in the newspaper a few days ago where a passenger want to use public transport to travel for work from his home in Puchong to Bandar Sunway which is basically side by side with 10km travel distance. Using his own car, it took less than 45 minutes one way trip and cost him less than RM5 to do so and total cost per day is about RM10. But using public transport (new LRT extension + Sunway BRT), it took him more than 1 hour one way and cost him RM18 just for ticket. How is that going to help public and promote public transport?

• Needs to be said; driving a car incurs the following costs:
      1. Petrol
      2. Toll
      3. Parking
      4. Maintenance from wear and tear
      5. Ownership costs i.e. road tax and insurance

Owning a car isn’t bad. Use the PT for your daily commute. Makes your car lasts longer and this means you save money in the long run.

• meejawa on Aug 25, 2016 at 4:47 pm

“LRT3 is expected to serve 74,000 commuters daily (36,720 passengers per direction per hour capacity) and over two million people by year 2025.”

How does 37k per direction per hour translate to 74k DAILY?
    And 2 million, is this per year, per month, per day or per direction? I can make a guess but it’s hard when the baseline isn’t clear.

*This will be the 5th time I commented on probable errors, and all but one were rectified with my comments deleted, but comments from ppl shouting borderline profanities, personal attacks, non-professionals’, all allowed..BAFFLED I tell you.. :)

• Capacity is not equals to volume. Im confident u can figure out the rest

• normal_user on Aug 25, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Those from Klang will have to travel more than an hour just reach KL, and some more travel time to arrive at the office. Even the Subang & KLCC LRT stations are super packed like sardine can during peak hours (8am & 6am), commuters have to wait for 2-3 trains to pass before they can board into one. Try for yourself… good luck.

• ShahAlamOri on Aug 26, 2016 at 8:48 am

Suddenly, the song “Welcome to my Nightmare” comes to mind. The proposed areas is already congested. It will become supercongested by 2020. Money talks.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Aug 26, 2016 at 9:08 am

Now I’m waiting for LRT2, LRT3, MRT3, MRT4, Monorail2 projects. Maybe that’s not enough to cover KL like SG or Tokyo?