Michelin tyres close to reaching 482 km/h threshold

There’s an increasing number of top-end hypercars vying for glory in the race to break the 300 mph (482 km/h) record for a production car, with automakers like Bugatti, Koenigsegg, Hennessey, Dubai-based Devel Motors and Croatia’s Rimac Automobili all aspiring to be the first to set that record.

However, there remains a very real and legitimate barrier inhibiting that achievement – tyre technology. Michelin’s product manager for original equipment, Eric Schmedding told Bloomberg “it’s a big game, with fierce competition, and it’s very fast-moving.” The tyre company based in France produced the record-breaking tyres (Pilot Sport Cup 2) used by Koenigsegg and Bugatti.

It’s a crucial piece of technology, because the real limiter to 300 mph isn’t actually engine power; 1,200, 1,500 horsepower or even more can be achieved. More often than not, it boils down to downforce and friction, where the wheels meet the road. If anything goes wrong, even below the 300 mph mark, things can turn fatal if anything goes wrong with a tyre.

The challenge right now is to mitigate heat, pressure and wear. The tyres used on a 300 mph attempt must be able to repeatedly withstand high speeds for minutes at a time, because the official record is awarded after taking the average speed of several runs over a set course. The good news is, Schmedding said, “we are knocking on the door of 300 mph.”

Currently, the race to 300 mph features a star-studded line-up, starting with the Bugatti Chiron (1,479 hp, 1,600 Nm), Koenigsegg Agera RS (boosted to 1,360 hp, 1,369 Nm) and Hennessey Venom F5 (1,600 hp targeted output). McLaren on the other hand, will soon join the party with its own hyper-GT, the BP23.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Michelin the best.

• Mikey on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:06 pm

The official land speed record(763 MPH) was set by Andy Green (UK) on 15 October 1997 in the Black Rock Desert, Nevada, USA, in a Thrust SSC.
      It will be interesting what tire brand was used in those runs bcos they were able to withstand more than 300 MPH which Michelin is talking NOW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Tire grade from 1997 supersonic F15 ??

• Mikey
        Thrust SSC using tyreless solid aluminium wheels,
        not rubber tire

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:18 am

In short, the SSC do not need tires for grip or to STOP. I get it now law. Thanks for the info.

• PitStop on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:57 pm

Correct me if Im wrong, but the Thrust SSC use conventional tires ONLY up to 250mph, and upwards from that speed they change to solid aluminium discs during the run? Also consider that the Thrust SSC speed record was done at the Salt Flat, so different circumstances altogether…

• Anonymous on Jun 08, 2018 at 4:35 am

The rubber tyres on the Thrust SSC are used for testing at tarmac runways. The solid wheels are used for the record runs at the salt flats. They don’t switch during the run, they just put on a different set at the start. They don’t need the grip to accelerate as power doesn’t go through the wheels. The car uses the thrust from the jet engines to move forward.
          Their wheels, brakes, and tyres both the rubber and solid is from Dunlop Aviation.

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:00 am

Eh bro PitStop, according to the Guinness World Record, it was done in Black Rock Desert, Nevada.

• Neonceejay on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:03 pm

Tahu sikit jangan act pro lah. Bloodhound SSC take their run on dry salted lake, using forged Aluminium billet “tyres”. U compare this and that, why don’t you compare a rocket to aircraft dear genius.

• Alfred's cat on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:55 pm

Kalau tak tahu tak payah katakan orang lain pro. Kalau nak tahu lebih, Google.. Senang je

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:48 am

Thanks Q guys for ALL your reply. This is what I call healthy exchange of info though some might be a bit nasty.

It’s OK with me. I’m surprise that john did not take this opportunity to bash.

Biar mereka yg pandai bercakap bro.

• Since there r others who enlightened u, i dun see the need for me to come in. i dun troll unlike ur Albertkunta kolik.

• Alfred on Jun 09, 2018 at 12:21 am

John more interested in bashing the Gov and MOT, not interested in small cat like u, Mikey.

• donot eat mai belgian liquor chocolates on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:25 pm

Like: Michelin chef stars restaurant
      Dislike: Michelin tire

• Lembu Jinni on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:26 pm

Future tires will evolves from donut shape to sphere shape similar to goodyear eagle 360 concept

• LumCK on Jun 07, 2018 at 6:41 pm

Could you be a little more specific? I mean there’s rubber for the road, and then, there’s rubber for the bed.