Petronas and customers donate RM50k to charities

Petronas Dagangan Berhad (PDB) donated RM50,000 to five charitable organisations yesterday in conjunction with the month of Ramadan. These organisations include Rumah Kasih Harmoni, Rumah Amal Cahaya Tengku Ampuan Rahimah, Rumah Titian Kaseh, Rumah Amal Limpahan Kasih and the Malaysian Association of the Blind.

A portion of the givings came from customers via the purchase of Iftar@Mesra packets, specially provided for Ramadan. Iftar@Mesra is an extension of the Mornings@Mesra programme created for the fasting month, containing chocolate bars, dates and a bottle of mineral water. For every purchase of the RM5 packets, 50 sen goes towards those in need.

“The Iftar@Mesra is a new initiative to provide our customers the convenience of grabbing something light especially when they are on the road and unable to make it home in time for buka puasa,” said head of retail Aadrin Azly. “At the same time, we are pleased that part of the sales of the Iftar@Mesra pack is channeled to a meaningful cause and we would like to thank all those who have contributed to the programme.

“PDB is also adding on to the amount collected so that each charitable organisations will take home a total of RM10,000 today. It is hoped that this contribution would help relieve some of the financial burden incurred especially for the upcoming Hari Raya celebration,” he added.

The full RM50,000 will reach around 450 underprivileged individuals, including children and senior citizens, and will also help cover the expenses of the organisations and shelters. The Iftar@Mesra packs are still on sale until June 16, after which they will revert back to the Mornings@Mesra combos. These combos – Big Bites, Light Bites and Happy Bites for heavy and light eaters as well as children – will be priced from RM3.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Khairul Izam on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:41 am

Kesian Rumah Kasih Harmoni, Rumah Amal Cahaya Tengku Ampuan Rahimah, Rumah Titian Kaseh, Rumah Amal Limpahan Kasih and the Malaysian Association of the Blind. Nanti kena suruh untuk audit diorang punya akaun. Mane lah nak cari duit untuk gajikan Price Waterhouse Coopers? Dah dapat Rm50,000 terus kena bayar Rm50,000 untuk audit. Jangan donate lagi baik.

• Kipidapp Petronas. Harapan bangsa & negara!

• We need someone to audit this to ensure it’s not corruption.

• Yup. I gip beggar on sidewalk oso I must demand for resit now, otherwise he might go to jail. Tenkiu New MY!

• Borneo Darul Seram on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:45 pm

Suggest Petronas also gives free window sticker #anda sudah ganti airbag? to cars refill at there stations.

• Se Won on Jun 07, 2018 at 4:50 pm

Let’s do the math. RM50k for 450 person will be exactly about RM111.11 each. What can you buy for that amount? 4 x t-shirts? 4 x textbooks? National oil company shouldn’t be so stingy but instead top-up more to the underprivileged. At least match to RM250/person. I bet the event alone cost more than RM50k to organize. What a joke.

• People donate also you want to make noise..why dont u donate la..talk so much!