Speed limit at federal and state roads reduced for Raya

The works ministry has announced that speed limits on federal and state roads will be reduced in conjunction with national road safety campaign during the Hari Raya festivities.

Beginning this Friday (June 8), the speed limit at federal roads will be lowered from 90 km/h to 80 km/h while at state roads, it will be reduced from 80 km/h to 70 km/h. These revisions will remain in place until June 22 and will be monitored via the ministry’s Op Bersepadu.

“We will issue a directive to the Public Works Department’s (JKR) road maintenance facility division to change the speed limit signboard along these two type of roads. This is to avoid confusion among road users who will use federal roads and state roads during the festive seasons,” the ministry said in an official statement.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Eternalgl0ry on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:11 am

70km/h on highway ?

Seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Ignorant Delusional Driver on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:29 am

every year Raya traffic at a crawl. 7km/h all way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • The slower you drive, the sleepier you get.

I believe government should develop more efficient public transportation system in order to reduce the number of fatal accidents in Malaysia. At the same time it can reduce traffic congestion in Malaysia too. It’s time Malaysia to be developed country already, come on Malaysia do something.

Gustavo Petro once said, ‘A developed country is not a place where the poor have cars. It’s where the rich use public transportation.’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • MRT3 dah cancel.
        ERCL dah cancel.
        HSR dah cancel.
        Najib vision of better public transports all dah cancel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
        • tokmoh. on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:01 pm

MRT2 jalan
          LRT3 jalan
          ETS Gemas-JB jalan
          Proton, they don’t kacau.

• It cuz MRT2 & LRT3 alredi jalan beforehand. Thank god 4 that. We returning to the era where jam block cars on roads r normal instead of optional. How sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • dolloh karim on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:48 am

Back in 2016, PM said Malaysia on course to achieving developed-nation status in 2020.

• But now instead of moving forward, we uturn backwards.

• Stop wasting resources. What is the point doing this 2 times a year? Whole nation..must be big contract.

• Since when we moving forward XD

• According to World Bank we shud be achieving developed status by 2021. But now its moving far far away, further than Star Wars galaxy.

• Bangsa Bangsa on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:14 am

To me, no point just to change the signboard.. most of pipu will still speeding like crazy.. THE MOST IMPORTANT… is the enforcement! Making sure pipu follow the rules…

• Ssamad on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:21 am

biar lambat asalkan selamat, pulang ke kampung halaman

• Don’t worry, many cars wont even reach those speeds due to the pure nightmare of slowpoke drivers causing jams.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:25 am

pointless….how is lower speed gonna improve road safety…enuf with this outdated thinking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • bodoh slow speed on Jun 07, 2018 at 11:40 am

slower speed on highway = more jam = sleepy driver = encourage more road hogger on right lane = bodoh policy
    better rename the highways to lowways. Fed up have to use the slow lane to pass the “law abiden” slow cars in fast lanes. motherfoolkers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Ujang on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:33 pm

using your logic. the recent crash @ LPT, sleepy lady driver drove bodoh slow speed.

• bodoh slow speed on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:02 am

Don’t know about the cause of the accident but LPT have some road surface uneven and noisy issue as i know the related parties still trying to improve it all the time. Speed limit should be put on those stretch that only required it or else no one going to follow the stupid non sense too low speed limit including the enforcement offier themselves.

• Snail Speed on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:09 pm

How slower speed improves road safety?
    Slower speed, more response time,longer brake distance, less collision impact, so lower casualties lah.

Slower speed leads to more jam?
    Actual the reverse is true. Jam leads to slower speed

Slower speed = sleepy?
    Sleepy does not have any linkage to speed. If you feel sleepy, means that you don’t have enough sleep or you are tired.

Slower speed = hogging on the right lane?
    Well, the meaning of hogging is very subjective. If you are impatient of following a car which is overtaking at the speed you don’t feel comfortable, it is not hogging. If the car in front is slowly driven because there are cars piling upfront, it is not hogging. Hogging applies when the car is driven at lower speed at wide open third lane, with no vehicle obstruction in front. During Raya time, this type of situation seldom occurs.

What the Malaysian Drivers have to learn is the words “PATIENCE” and “COOL DOWN”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • bodoh slow speed on Jun 07, 2018 at 6:12 pm

“Slower speed, more response time,longer brake distance, less collision impact, so lower casualties lah.”

Bro, why not you just ride bicycle to go back home town.

You know how highways in 2020 should look like in Malaysia. All handsome and pretty Malaysians should be driving 130~200km/h in good cars on superb quality highways balik kampung celebrating raya.
      This is what we call progress.
      If you are tree hugger go hug a tree and take public transport.
      if you are slowpoke please use the slow lane and enjoy your “80km” speed and dig your nose elegantly. sekian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • zzzz ppl need to drive faster so that the highway will be cleared faster la. lambat = jam.

• Lord Suave on Jun 07, 2018 at 12:29 pm

actually, during this season, all lanes should be opened up, emergency lane included because often we have law abiding people crawling and then there are jacks who just use the emergency lane

• William Chong on Jun 07, 2018 at 1:05 pm

Should control lorry which always overspeed at highway and other roeds.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 07, 2018 at 2:17 pm

federal and state roads only…no highway mentioned

• sampan 250kmph on Jun 07, 2018 at 3:19 pm

LoL Meanwhile balik kampong style with malindo air or airasia comfortably cruising at 900 km/h

• bodoh slow speed on Jun 07, 2018 at 6:16 pm

You got the point. Driving in slow speed with low quality overprice cars are so backward.

• i swear to god every single comment sections on this website are the entrances to hell.

• look i know, there are some stupid decisions being made by the gov.

but c’mon lah guys (especially john), it’s only been 28 days since mahathir got won the elections. give him a chance.

what do you think? do you think that after mahathir got reelected suddenly malaysia becomes an economic superpower? suddenly everyone got a high amount of income is it? suddenly our poverty rate drops to 0%?

no right?

then why are y’all complaining saying “NAK BN BALIK LAAAAA AYOOOOOOO”
    haih, macam apa lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Let me ask u this, and since the country is partisan only the markets think with their heads. So if Uturn gov is so dem fine and dandy, why did the logically thinking market cabut lari as soon as they can (and they still continue to do)?

They forecasted what will happen in the future and they din like the ending. What more can I say except, haih macam apa lagi.

• i didn’t say it’s fine and dandy.

in the first sentence i literally said that there are some stupid decisions being made the government.

i’m saying that every single government has it’s flaws and ours is definitely flawed.
        and it’s not even a month has passed yet since PKR got elected and y’all are already complaining about how bad the government is.

that’s like saying a newborn baby needs to be thrown out right away right just because it’s stubborn.

plus i don’t even get what you’re saying right now.

• stastasta on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:43 am

because all the overpriced mega projects are being cancelled. cronies are all suffering.

• We really should stop this practice of wasting resources. Just for 10kmh? But how much money is spent to do this 2 times a year. The only one country i know of…

• We cud have had a better public transport to alleviate all this, but alas….

• So u dun go back during CNY or Xmas or Ching Ming kah? Just asking.

• Cecilia Tang on Jun 08, 2018 at 2:10 am

Fast Speed does not kill. Slow speed does. Because when you drive fast you will be and are alert. Unless you are a kopi licence driver. When you drive slow you then to retard your thinking and alertness, thus loosing concentration or dose off. Some people drive so inconsiderately slow that they become a hazard to the drivers behind. Driving fast will clear the traffic faster on highways while driving slow will a pileup or jam up. Like a drain, if the water flows through fast, the rubbish in it will clear out fast. But when the flow is slow, the rubbish will accumulate thus retarding the flow and chocking the drain. It is criteria to drive fast so as to clear the traffic faster, so as not to jam up the road and highways.

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:51 am

how lar?? I need to drive my Ferrari to balik kampung….but hardly reaching 100km/hr speed

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:46 am

what’s wrong with malaysians? Raya or cny, all want to drive home. just fly with airasia or malindo… it makes life much simpler and less stress.

else ask the kampung folks to come down la.