Mandatory motorcycle ABS, highway size restriction, licence age limit – we ask new Transport Minister Loke

SAMSUNG CSC

During the Yamaha Balik Kampung road safety campaign held at the Sungai Besi toll plaza recently, newly appointed Malaysian transport minister Anthony Loke was in attendance to officiate the event. During the press conference, paultan.org took the chance to ask a few questions pertaining to motorcycle safety as well as general traffic regulations.

As far as motorcycle safety is concerned, Europe has mandated that all two-wheelers larger than 125 cc sold in that region from 2017 must be equipped with ABS. For Malaysia, Loke said that his ministry is currently gathering opinions, feedback and proposals from all relevant parties such as JPJ and MIROS in order to formulate a policy that will best serve the nation. The point is, it’s being studied, which is a positive update on this front.

Asked about whether motorcycles would be restricted from gazetted highways, or, as an alternative, that motorcycles below a certain engine size would not be allowed from using said roads, Loke said such a measure would require study. “The focus of the Transport Ministry is on safety and what is good for road users as a whole,” he said.

Speaking on the motorcycle licence age limit, where Loke was asked for his personal opinion on the matter, he respectfully declined to share his thoughts. However, Loke said the age limit is another matter for evaluation, whether upwards, or downwards, as has been suggested by some parties.

Now in its 20th year, the Yamaha Balik Kampung road safety campaign gives motorcycle riders, irrespective of brand, the chance of have their bikes undergo a free safety inspection. This year, 90 lucky bikers had their mounts inspected and 90 new helmets were given out in exchange for old, unserviceable helmets.

Over to you, what are your thoughts on the issues above? Should ABS be mandatory on all bikes sold here, and should bikes (below a certain size) be restricted from highways? Comment below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• isengard12 on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:37 pm

Anthony refuses to give his personal opinion about motorcycle license age limit.

What a careful move, nonetheless that avoids much debate. :D

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:55 pm

What a great transport Minister. 1 month in office, so much of action taken. JPJ also woken up. Dedak also has stopped.
      Even PDRM and JPJ officers also now so scared to ask Duit Kopi. Such a good improvement

Amazing how much Loke has done. Makes me wonder….what did the previous Minister do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
      • ghaffar on Jun 11, 2018 at 7:04 pm

Merely one month on since 09 May. The new administration has garnered amazing achievements on many fronts. One area the government has clearly kept its promise is investigating corruption, gross excesses and reviewing dodgy projects. Indeed, RON95 petrol price is now fixed, PTPTN loan repayment suspended, abolish GST and investigation into the 1MDB corruption scandal.

Government’s steps in the past month have been well received from the low and middle class, look forward to lowering the cost of living even more after GST abolishment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Izham on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:40 am

So much action taken? From this article itself, just saying having studies done/to be done is interpretated as action taken by some parties? What a laugh. Obviously a youngster… Why don’t you do some research before making such foolish statements, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • AliBarBar on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:00 am

“Even PDRM and JPJ officers also now so scared to ask Duit Kopi. Such a good improvement”

How do you know that bro ? You ada offer ke ?

• Saya antirasuah on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:45 pm

Someone I know baru kena few days ago. Told them no money only left 16 in wallet. They also sapu. 16 ringgit for them to take the risk of being kena report. Must be very poor during this raya season.

• Now why does these “stories” began with ‘someone I know’ or ‘someone I know who knows someone’?

• good anthony on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:20 am

Not to mention last Friday, I already see roadblocks by JPJ conducted with lesser albeit sufficient manpower.

No more tables layed out where some sitting there chit chat while only 1 or two doing check.

I saw no tables and chairs, all were checking vehicles, and stopped vehicles are cleared off faster.

Hopefully this continues much into the future.

• vedder on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:52 pm

non-answers

• Thats what politicians who has no answer do. Wait for him to seek knowledge & wisdom from Bapak 1st, before giving answers.

• Age to increase on Jun 11, 2018 at 4:58 pm

16 is too young to die or lose limbs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • Ben Yap on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:22 pm

government should ban all kapchais… they don’t look good on the road and makes us look like 3rd world country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 71
    • Karen on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Government should Ben Yap. He makes us look like an idiot.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
    • Paul Low on Jun 11, 2018 at 7:22 pm

Yes and the government should ban ugly looking cars that looked like they belong to 3rd world country.

P/S Not sure if sarcasm should be served cold but either way, won’t taste good….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Anything more than 25 years should have been scrapped. And for big cities – nothing more than 12 years old. Or else, take public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • siena on Jun 12, 2018 at 5:03 am

Bashers still using old 120Y and can’t afford new car, deswai being a keyboard warriors and bash here

• Azim Mat on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:51 pm

Ben Hap, you are inhuman. You aren’t poor. Some people can’t afford to own bikes that you desire or maybe you can’t ride a bike/bicycle. But you already knew that don’t you? Some of you love Najib or Trump too much, and allowed to talk any nonsense without little worry how it may hurt or offend the underprivileged. You may have your tongue cut out in hell or forced to lick something as filthy as your words and thoughts. People who are poor, don’t mess with them. They are confused, they know what’s good/evil, they aren’t just as “hati kering” as you and thats likely the confusion, they are trying to be good for the sake of their beliefs, thus they rather not steal every cent or fight to reclaim nor bitch about every cent they lose each day and the repercussion is they are poor. Your statement has really irked me off. Government is for the people, all people, not minorities. If the people are using kapchai, invrstigate why, and then find out their income and give them fuel subsidy if their minimum living wage can’t make ends meet. Make the bottom poor “bermiskin tegar” people’s life easier is PAKATAN HARAPAN’s promise. Not to continue to enrich the likes of you. Now I’ll say it: people like you are the reason why other people commit suicide.

• Ollie on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:39 pm

Publishing an open letter soon on the dirty practices of Grab, the exploitation of Grab drivers – how Grab drivers are eating, sleeping, washing up in their cars 6 days a week at petrol stations, rest-stops, catching an hour of sleep in between driving, taking stimulants to keep awake, because they can’t get enough money to feed their families.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • You must be a fan of old cars. Pipu dun wan to be seen in such cars.

• borneo darul seram on Jun 11, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Almost all kapchai and some scooters can go up in speed fast but can’t slow down or stop in time safely… Besides making abs mandatory also must look into those gripless rubber tires as well!

• Andrew Chum on Jun 11, 2018 at 7:37 pm

All bikes must be equipped with ABS. It’s not about the engine capacity but the ability for the machine to stop in an emergency without losing stability.

• Saravanan on Jun 11, 2018 at 7:59 pm

ABS braking system on motorcycles is a must.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 11, 2018 at 8:04 pm

I don’t think they can ban low cc bikes on highways because there is a lot of B40 wage earners who rely on bikes to commute and our public transport is still crap. What they can do instead is to enforce the law on reckless riding behaviour to decrease the accident rates because some of these riders (some are just 10 years old) are weaving in and out like flies even on highways with dedicated bike lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • In Europe also beginners bike is anything up to 400cc, which means all car drivers are automatically entitled to ride one.

• Khairul on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:14 pm

Abs should be mandatory for 150cc and above

• Tony Gomez on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:34 am

In Western Europe people have much more disposable income.. also the cost of motorcycles is a fraction of their salaries. Here a motorcycle.. even a kapchai is a sizeable investment for the low income group. Sure we want safety.. but it comes at a price $ … this needs to weighed against what people can afford so as to not overly burden. Large bikes are generally a luxury purchased by the rich.. so it would be practical to make ABS compulsory.. since the larger bikes are heavier too. But for the kapchai’s.. ABS would have a very serious cost impact. Sure.. there is public transport.. but why dont you, or doesnt everyone use it?? Put yourself in the shoes of the low income group.

• wanrusli on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:04 am

any two wheelers less than 150cc should not allowed to be on main highway, except on freeway with limited speed of 80km/h. moped are designed for the town ride. how can it be suit with the highway speed, surely dangerous right?

• Satia on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:34 am

Appreciate if govt took off tax on safety gear. Do ensure safety accessories and gear affordable. Accident happens everywhere and point out biker as main trouble maker not fair.

• ABS for bike is a must but it’ll increase the bike’s price. While kapchais are main transportation to middle income and lower, price hike would affect them. Price is also a factor. Here, for RM10k you get a kapchai. In Europe for Euro 10k you’ll get a superb KTM with ABS cornering ability.

• Jeffry ooi on Jun 12, 2018 at 8:09 am

Every motor above 125 cc should have abs…

• People are still riding on car lane instead on bike lane on Federal Highway. Go fix it.

• Daniel Lee on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:22 am

Motorbike travelling on normal road is more dangerous than travelling on highway. Perhaps can restrict motorbike to use only the left most lane and emergency lane

• I hate Ben Yap on Jun 12, 2018 at 9:54 am

As a motorcyclist. There are few things I agree and Dissagree.

1. All helmet should have european standard safety. No more “cikai” brand that got Sirim is allowed. Must also have (day/night) visor.
    2. No discremination against bike CC to pass any road/highway. Any motorcyclist regardless 1000cc or 125cc. Both will die if hit by car.
    3. Must have ABS brake, impose road noise exhaust more vigilant.
    4. Impose merit type license both car/bike. For road bully should be deduct and ban from driving and riding.

• Hi..agree….i find it hard to seek for my next sportsbike with ABS. the one that offers only like kawasaki across all the ranges. Yamaha and Suzuki only offer the high end model starting 650cc onwards, some. Yamaha XJ6 should hv at least ABS

• Ktm250 abs pon ado bro. on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:17 am

Bro.. ktm rc250 also got abs. No need to go so high cc. Later minyak naik komplen la. Maintenance mahal la. Later change this change that, change exhaust plug in pc5, flash ecu plug in quickshifter. Malaysian mentaliti still like this ka?

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:33 am

Tun Mahathir himself said it so well. What ills this country is a CULTURE issue.

The road users CULTURE of tidak apa, saya “King of the Road” & lantak kau lah. End up, the rojak we see on the road.

Malaysians on the road suddenly become the devil, totally opposite to the gentle, tolerant & understanding personality. On the road, they are generally not discipline, have no respect for others & don’t give way (even to pedestrian).

Time to teach our children road manners, road safety & tolak ansur. At least the next generation will be better than us. It’ll be a hard long slot but we’ll see the results.

• Ben Yap J on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:48 am

I wish for kapchai to be banned from highway and town. Make my heartache when they zigzag my Honda in traffic jam, arrived and straightly parking at restaurant in 15 minutes while I have to get stuck in Jalan Tun Razak for 1 hour, then another 15 minutes to find parking. How such a lowlife get all the convenience while my 100k car caused me a heart attack everytime.

• Papa Goines on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:51 am

why not making dedicated motorcycle lanes on highways mandatory instead?

institute toll if you want, but maintain it well i.e. well lit, well drained etc

• transformer on Jun 12, 2018 at 5:11 pm

PLEASE DO NOT FORGET TO MAKE ESC AND AEB MANDATORY TO ALL 2019 CARS TOO!!! anounce it now and 2019 all new cars must has it!

• Asdacap on Jun 20, 2018 at 7:33 am

Motorcycle below 125cc cannot go to highway:
    Pros – Faster left lane. Motorcycle below that simply can’t consistently maintain 100kph or some even 90kph.
    Cons – A lot more motorcycle will pass between cars in second lane and third lane, because now they can.

Motorcycle above 125cc must have abs. This probably should be above 150cc instead. 125cc is too cheap to put ABS.
    Cons – Motorcycle gets more expensive.
    Pros – Manufacturer will HAVE to put ABS on their ‘real’ motorcycle. I’m looking at you Versys 250. Where is the ABS? Even as option? I have to go for the large 650 one for ABS? Stop screwing me around.