Smartphone notch “disturbing” – Porsche Design

“When I saw the notch for the first time, I nearly couldn’t believe it. It’s disturbing, from a design philosophy.” Those were the words of Porsche Design’s design director, Christian Schwamkrug, on the smartphone notch that’s trending these days. “A picture is either rectangular or square, with a border line, and a clear frame format. I like symmetry. I didn’t want to have the notch, I think it’s a compromise.”

In fact, according to Digital Trends, Schwamkrug is so against the idea of a notch that he completely removed it when designing the new US$1,880-plus Porsche Design Huawei Mate RS. The phone, which is based on the Huawei P20 Pro (with a notch as well), has been termed by Schwamkrug as a “no compromise” device. “Everything you see is Porsche Design DNA,” he added.

Ferdinand Porsche once famously said “if you analyse the function of an object, its form becomes obvious.” That has since become the embodiment of Porsche Design, so much so that it’s printed on Schwamkrug’s business card. In terms of design, the smartphone notch goes entirely against this philosophy. The Mate RS has a six-inch OLED screen that looks exactly like a screen, and that’s that.

The phone doesn’t just look good, its hardware is top-notch as well. Several features include the in-screen fingerprint sensor on the front, another Smart Touch fingerprint sensor on the back, the revered Leica triple camera setup, a 24 megapixel front-facing camera, super fast charging (58% in 30 minutes, from flat) and it runs Android 8.1 Oreo out of the box.

Porsche Design Huawei Mate RS (top); Huawei P20 Pro (bottom)

Huawei’s senior product marketing manager Peter Gauden explained: “Being such a new technology, the in-screen fingerprint sensor may not be the technology people feel the most comfortable with. So, as it lends itself to the symmetry on the back of the phone, the inclusion of the rear mounted sensor still makes sense. When we look at it from a usability perspective, it works really well.”

As for the triple camera setup, Schwamkrug didn’t fancy the side placement on the P20 Pro. Instead, he preferred a visually-natural symmetry of centrally-stacked lenses, as opposed to Huawei wanting it to look more like a camera. To Porsche Design, the camera bump is also not ideal, but the technology required to have it sit flush under the mirrored back isn’t available as yet.

Porsche Design was also deeply involved with the software, the size of the icons, and the fonts used for text. It’s not as simple as just designing the phone – the Mate RS is genuinely crafted by the famous design house, and it wants people who understand its philosophy to see and feel that in the end product.

Now, over to you. Are you as bothered by this trending smartphone notches, or have you gotten used to it? Let us know in the comments below!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• tokmoh. on Jun 18, 2018 at 5:14 pm

Iphone X is world’s best selling smartphone Q1 this year.

Jangan persoal Apple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
  • ThAboIT on Jun 18, 2018 at 8:16 pm

If this porsche design Mate RS have a 50% cheaper version (like the mate 9 pro before it), I would be in a very serious consideration towards breaking my “holding on to my mate 9 pro for at least 5 years” promise. Its a beast in a beauty!!

• stastasta on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:55 am

nowadays your phone will be obsolete after 3 years, no more firmware updates. you must be idiotic to think it can last 5 years.

• ThAboIT on Jun 20, 2018 at 10:38 pm

Thats what you think. Not everyone is chasing the latest technology or the latest trend. Not everyone preference to change phone every 3 years and deemed whats 3 years ago as obselete. Its very pointless to call someone “idiotic” when you are the one who thinks that a phone cannot last 5 years. If its your preference to chase the tech and change every 3 years, thats up to you. Don’t simply call someone “idiotic” when they don’t think the same as you. I’m simply saying that I made a promise to myself thet I will hold on to what I have now for at least 5 years or so. I never mentioned that my phone tech is still going to be at the top after 5 years.

• Follower on Jun 20, 2018 at 10:43 pm

So, that means u always change phone whenever theres new ones coming out? Because in 3 years there will be no firmware update? And because if u hold on to one phone for 5 yrs, u afraid to become idiotic in some way? Thx 4 the advice!!

• Choha on Jun 18, 2018 at 10:00 pm

I like symmetrical design too, definitely no notch for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • borneo darul seram on Jun 18, 2018 at 11:08 pm

Horrendous Porsche design phone from huawei with such a big forehead and broad chin! Why can’t Porsche design phone with full bezel less like Vivo NX?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Huawei made ridiculous phones with ridiculous price, now ridiculously carrying Porsche’s name, hah ~

• ThAboIT on Jun 19, 2018 at 9:15 pm

Its not Huawei carrying Porsche’s name, its Porsche selecting Huawei to carry their name. And whats with “huawei made ridiculous phone with ridiculous price”? Huawei have a very wide selection of budget to premium smartphones and some of their budget smartphones got an impressive specs. Lets not forget they also have a sub-brand that only focuses on budget smartphones, which is called “Honor”.

• juliet on Jun 19, 2018 at 10:23 am

“To Porsche Design, the camera bump is also not ideal, but the technology required to have it sit flush under the mirrored back isn’t available as yet.” Sure onot? Kenot make phone 0.5 mm thicker hide the bump meh? You wan thin phone don’t talk kok cannot hide the camera bump la

• stastasta on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:56 am

if they made the phone 0.5 mm thicker to hide the bump, whiners like juliet would complain that the phone was too thick !

• Ollie on Jun 19, 2018 at 11:21 am

Never have I ever seen anything from Porsche Design that justifies its premium price.

• Porsche Design, maybe u r too busy looking and copying Samsung S8 & S9 that you have forgotten that the Notch can be turned on or off. Personally why would anyone complain that the phone status icons are tied-up to the top of the phones.

• Hahaha, says the designer of a car that doesn’t look too good

• Petoron Sagu on Jun 19, 2018 at 4:15 pm

What is the reason this story… About phone, came out in paultan.org?