After-sales support for Smart Tag OBU 330 to stop

Touch n Go (TnG) has announced that it will no longer provide after-sales support for the Smart Tag OBU 330 device from July 1, 2018. The Smart Tag model in question is the one pictured above, which TnG points out “has been in the market and operational for more than 10 years.”

It’s so old that “the repair components are now obsolete, scarce and some parts can no longer be sourced,” according to the Smart Tag vendor. Of course, that’s not to say that this particular Smart Tag device can no longer be used – users, this writer included, can continue to use their bulky but hardy “classic” Smart Tag.

TnG says that for OBU 330s that are currently in repair, the company will continue with repair works. After July 1, repair requests will no longer be entertained.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cronyism on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:38 pm

just 10 years. the 1 that obsolete is not the model, is their BRAINS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 12
    • Tech does gets obsoleted fast lar. 10 years later, u try to get repair parts for ipong 3G. Sure they look at u funny. Move with the times, Smartag is upgrading to RFID now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 13
    • Muhd Satibi on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:58 pm

Thousands of people who have money in their Touch and Go cards get blacklisted everyday for no reason.

Suddenly our cars stop working and must go KL Sentral Touch and Go HQ to get your credit back.

Why must I waste money to go KL Sentral just to get a new card and recover my credit??

Most people don’t bother to do so cause it cost money to go to KL Sentral and you have to wait hours trying to fix your card.

Kroni Touch and Go Sdn Bhd make millions per year from unclaimed credit.

In overseas, cards last for tens of years without even getting blacklisted. Btw, my card only 2 yrs old

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 23
  • oldskool on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:41 pm

“It’s so old that “the repair components are now obsolete, scarce and some parts can no longer be sourced”

IR tech is obsolete also, everyday ignorant people who never check the battery, tinted car as dark the other side of the moon, and the worst, baki kurang..get stuck at toll booth so call “smart tag” lane..end up using touch n go lane..
    RFID also delay so long…

• Tng should allow for compensation for the old to the new one. That will be fair for the old user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Should Apple also give all old iPhone 1 owners a new iPhone X? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 24
      • Lolz! Gud one Haf!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • Susukotak on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:49 pm

itu atas pilihan ada lg samsung oppa
        this so call smart have no choice.were forced to use it.

• No forced, use only T&G and tag ur card yourself. Jangan malas.

• Adrian on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:56 pm

Do we have other option?

• No they wouldn’t.
        However, Apple products are not exactly needs (or the only product in the smartphone market); SmartTag/Touch’N’Go is.

So, what Aza proposes is somewhat valid.
        Perhaps not a 1-to-1 exchange, but a discounted price for the new units if the customers have their old units returned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • TnG is a need, Smartag isnt.

• Lyn Chan on Jun 26, 2018 at 11:41 am

Yes. Altho’ TnG not obligated to ‘compensate’, it will be great to give back a little to those with this old tag… this will go a long way to our Malaysia Baru! (As the tags cost a lot and using the tag helps with the queue at the tolls… unless all tolls abolished?)

• Jason on Jun 26, 2018 at 1:21 am

What a screwed up analogy.

• That is grey area Hafriz, phone is use basically on everything. The smartag reader only have 1 purpose sejak azali sampai kiamat.

The item has only 1 use for its economic life. And it is a monopoly. I honor your comment but I prefer smartag usage is not just at toll. Do it for parking, drive thru, car wash etc.

Ringgit depreciates, we are seeking for value of money spent.

• Icekepal on Jun 29, 2018 at 11:47 am

Do you have to pay your iPhone every time you want to use it?

• kamalanathan on Jul 03, 2018 at 12:39 pm

Hafrizzz, apple phone not monopoly okay. You can buy any phone you like.
        Touch N Go monopoly. You got no choice and in Penang
        compulsary must use Touch N go no cash option…

• stupig on Oct 24, 2018 at 1:22 am

No. because if i want cheap phones, i can go and buy xiaomi. can i go and buy any other smarttag device from other manufacturers?

• Please lah on Jun 25, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Say you’ve used it for 10 years. Is 10 years’ worth of convenience not worth the RM120 you paid back then?

It’s a convenience device. No one is forcing you to buy and use smart tag.

When your hand phone slows down after a year or two, you buy a brand new one for RM1k-RM6k without little complaint.

Now a RM120 device goes out of service after 10 long years is a big thing to you? Please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • Ollie on Jun 26, 2018 at 2:38 am

Of course they should. It’s nothing like changing to a new phone model, the functionality of the old device vs the new is exactly the same. So it’s like Apple offering the same iPhone for 10 years with no change and expecting people to buy a new one just cos they said they won’t repair the older one.

A more valid argument is why are Malaysians obsessed with smart tag. 90% of smart tag lanes are slower than the normal lanes, even slower than cash lanes when those were around. People literally drove thru cash lanes and waved their big fat smarttag devices at the scanner. Prime example is ldp toll. So no, never had one, never needed one.

• lilytan on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:43 pm

This old model is more robust than the new one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • U-Tun on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Later once all toll abolished, this company can close shop as well. Err..dunno when.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Sentuh Dan Pergi on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Touch & Go or Rangkaian Segar Sdn. Bhd. should be one more monopoly business that the new Malaysia government should investigate. I’m sure their technology and capability can be found anywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • abdul rahim on Jun 25, 2018 at 4:44 pm

Substandard device sold to consumers at outrageous price tag.
    Even T&Go card is of poor quality and
    starts peeling after a month in use.
    Plus, CIMB + MTD crony controlled company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Agreed, my old T&Go card use for smart tag lasted more than 5 years (until the stupid expiry date set by them) without a scratch.
      Yet the new one has already started to tear after a couple months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Henry on Jun 25, 2018 at 6:38 pm

The LCD display of the current model dies very fast. You couldn’t check the balance on the gadget.

• Agree. I have one of this device, still run like a champ. The newer one, the balance of the card can’t be displayed just barely two years.

• My trustworthy OBU330 since 2005..

• Holofanboi on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:03 pm

Oh nuuuuuu!

I am still using this outdated junk (But i like it!) Actually prefer it over the newer ones that has poor ergonomics and sharp edges.

Danny where can we ‘purchase’ unused stocks of this behemoth!?

• Afeeq Fadhlan Ab Rahman on Jun 25, 2018 at 5:52 pm

old tech, but charged like new tech. so should iPhone 1 be charged like iPhone X for 10 years?

That’s how crappy and unethical TnG is. And yet, we have no choice and no consumer power.

• U have the power not to use Smartag, u know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Afeeq Fadhlan Ab Rahman on Jun 26, 2018 at 9:55 am

I was referring to TnG as a whole and how they monopolize the market. Consumer delivery throughout the years have been pretty slow. How long further do we have to wait for RFID?

You are right to a certain degree. To save time on the road, I personally do not have the power of the consumer nor choice. I speak for myself.

• They monopolise the market but u only use 1 charge card, 1 system. Long long time ago, each hiway has their own system and u need to carry half dozen charge cards, and each need to have money and only certain places can reload.

Imagine having RM600 stored in 6 cards instead of RM100 onto one card only, even then got pipu complain like heck. Cant please everybody but this is the best system currently we have and will migrate to RFID in future.

• Anti penyamun on Jun 25, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Tng ni dah melampau, diorang ni penyamun sbb kredit dlm kad yg expired akan burn macam tu sahaja. Hapuskan tol, hapuskan monopoli. No more tng. makan duit haram sahaja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • People discussing about Smarttag. No smarttag, T&G still can be use, you know that aren’t u?

• Mine lasts longer than the newer version which the display screen already kaput.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2018 at 10:38 pm

this version always got problem…when check balance the button will stuck

• Andrekua on Jun 26, 2018 at 7:10 am

Sometimes older doesn’t mean it’s obsolete. Little had changed since smart tag was introduced, which makes you wonder was the changes in design necessary over the years?

I still had this model working without any repair before but my wife newer model already had problem with the display. TnG should just stick with one design model since nothing had changed since its introduction.

If the changes were made in order to improve their reliability, then I have no comments but judging from my own experience of old vs new smart tag, the old proved to be more reliable.

• Does anyone knows how to get RFID? Is it available to the public yet?

• docdevil on Jun 26, 2018 at 9:43 am

I have 6 units of Smartag readers in my house . 3 old ones as shown and 3 new ones. In my personal use and experience the new units are flimsy and quick to spoil. The screen stopped working within 3 weeks and the battery seems to bleed dry faster then the old one. I m still using the older solid one for better reliability. If TnG want so phase out these ancient Infrared devices then hurry up and freaking roll out the dam RFID one. The stupidity of Malaysian Road related authorities is that Singapore launched their ERP on September 1998. Malaysia Launched Smarttag in 1999. Could t we have at least copied the correct thing?

• useless tng on Jun 26, 2018 at 10:40 am

new smarttag also useless. after a few months display gone. the battery kong so quick.

• sidek on Jun 26, 2018 at 11:49 am

Stupidity to the maximum, why can’t implement like Singapore… cars no need to stop to pay the toll charges. see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_Road_Pricing or this one https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_toll_collection

• lolpanda on Jun 26, 2018 at 6:29 pm

I’m a little dumbfounded by those saying it’s a monopoly, to be honest…you do realise that in most (if not all) countries, electronic payments are done through a single system.

imagine if there were 3 different companies/systems..you’d have to maintain a balance in 3 cards and ruffle for the right card depending which toll gantry you’re going through?

• That’s not true. as long as the merchant’s device accepts the cards, you don’t have to maintain 3 separate cards. kinda the same way credit card work. the 3 popular ones being Visa, Mastercard and AMEX. you don’t need all 3 different types of credit cards, just the one you think suits you best.