Grab Malaysia launches GrabPay e-wallet – ERL ride payments at KLIA, KLIA2 and KL Sentral from mid-July

Grab has introduced the GrabPay mobile wallet, which is accessible from within the Grab app itself. With the mobile e-wallet function added, GrabPay users are now able to make payments from within the Grab app not just for Grab food delivery and ride services, but also for products and services by participating merchants.

“What’s stopping many in Malaysia from adopting cashless (transactions) is the perceived lack of safety and convenience. With GrabPay, consumers in Malaysia, regardless of age, can participate in the cashless, digital economy without having to download additional apps,” said Ooi Huey Tyng, managing director of GrabPay Malaysia, Singapore and the Philippines.

Grab’s recently announced partnership with Maybank will allow consumers to use GrabPay credits not just at GrabPay merchants in the future, but also at Maybank’s nationwide network of QR-enabled merchants, the company said. GrabPay Malaysia’s launch partners include Maybank, KLIA Ekspres, Tealive, Teochew Chendul, KGB and TedBoy Bakery. Users can top up Grab credits within the app.

On the mobility side, the Grab network is joined by KLIA Ekspres, which is partnering GrabPay as its first mobile wallet. Effective mid-July, commuters will be able to use GrabPay credits at KLIA, KLIA2 and KL Sentral to pay for their rides, and take advantage of a limited-time promotion that will be announced later.

The company’s main differentiator from other cashless systems, Ooi said, is in food and transport. GrabPay is focusing on high-frequency merchants, and it is also keen to work with KLIA “beyond the current partnership level,” she said. The company currently does not charge fees to merchants, the managing director of GrabPay noted.

The main competitor to GrabPay is cash, rather than other cashless payment systems, with over 80% of all transactions done via cash, GrabPay quotes Bank Negara as saying. “Cash is a very stubborn habit,” Ooi notes. What do you think, dear readers? Can e-wallets begin to walk the talk, or will cash remain king?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• digidigi on Jun 26, 2018 at 6:08 pm

This company keep losing money, so now asking you guys to top up into the so call wallet first

• potato on Jun 26, 2018 at 8:53 pm

since giant Toyota grabbed a piece of Grab. riders and driver ensured safe and comfy ride.

• inb4 basher complains why keep money in grabwallet and what the company do with the stored money….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Abdul Khatib on Jun 26, 2018 at 7:21 pm

inb4 basher says Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • inb4 basher says no need care for HKL goers. Those who use wheelchairs, walkers, canes, & crutches can take the exercise to walk extra 500 meters. How ‘caring’ is PH pipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:24 am

john, time to grow up and give mature comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Then u stop gip stupid comments like MY has the cheapest petrol prices in the world and cheapest car prices in the world lor. Hahahaha!

• Their master mind by topping up some amount into wallet, they have some reserved cash. Stupid compony with all cheap scale systems

• I don’t know if there can be a single ubiquitous payment system that can be adopted by anyone who can offer similar service. The front-end payment system is generic. Only the backend (the commission part) is connected to whoever promotes their payment system.

I think the government should enforce that, but not in the way Touch n Go monopolizes toll payment but remain inefficient till today.

Something similar to the wireless spectrum, but can be utilized by everyone else.

Grab moving towards monopoly is something worrying. Learn how European Union regulates companies with monopolistic nature.

• Sam ""Hailat" Loo on Jun 26, 2018 at 9:19 pm

Never trust GRAB…!!!

• truthbetold on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:21 am

stubborn habit? there is nothing wrong with cash in the first place. it does not need to be replaced with e-cash. cash being cash is not a problem at all. e-wallet is just an alternative that consumers don’t really need.

• Reason why Grab wins out over Uber was cuz they allow to use cash transaction. So if they ban using cash, the next one that uses cash will win over Grab.

• Johan on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:52 am

This company want to do everything and one does that can’t be trusted. Soon they will closed down unprofitable one.

Tomorrow they might launch Grab Construction, who knows.

• Ollie on Jun 27, 2018 at 9:01 pm

No morals no ethics. Your driver just died working for you and no compensation no action taken. And you’re more interested in promoting more nonsense while your drivers are risking life and limb everyday while your feed off their hard earned money. Utter disgrace.

• stastasta on Jun 28, 2018 at 2:15 pm

if you dont like it, feel free to drive for their competitor. or you can launch your own competing service. nobody force you to drive for grab, and nobody stop you from starting your own company to compete against grab.