Gov’t looking at introducing deregistration certificates to tackle growing problem of abandoned vehicles

The transport ministry is looking into a possible solution to tackle the problem of abandoned vehicles, for which there are currently no provisions in the law to remove and dispose. It is studying the feasibility of implementing deregistration certificates for registered abandoned vehicles to kick start the process, Malay Mail reports.

Transport minister Anthony Loke said that presently, there were no existing regulations or rules that the road transport department (JPJ) can apply to get rid of these abandoned vehicles.

“Therefore, I have requested JPJ to come up with suggestions to implement a possible deregistration certificate mechanism. With a deregistration certificate mechanism running, local government authorities can proceed with scrapping these vehicles to solve the problem currently faced in densely populated areas,” he said.

Loke explained that this action was needed following numerous public complaints received by the local government authorities, especially in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor. “Many of these vehicles, which are still registered, are left abandoned in housing areas, causing an eyesore and potential health hazards from the rusting metal,” he said.

Last year, it was reported that there were no fewer than eight million abandoned vehicles across the country, and the natural resources and environment ministry (NRE) said it was planning a review of the law to empower authorities to dispose of these vehicles. The suggested plan then was to remove these vehicles and dispose them at gazetted vehicle graveyards.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bernard on Jun 28, 2018 at 4:32 pm

Under the BN govt, nothing happened. Hope PH can do this quickly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • Dredd on Jun 28, 2018 at 5:27 pm

1. Auto-Deregister vehicles with expired & unpaid road tax.

2. Impound tax-free luxury cars bought in Langkawi and Labuan which exceeded 90-day Semenanjung visit.

3. Impound vehicles registered and used in Semenanjung but running with Sabah/Sarawak road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • Under BN, there is no problem of abandoned vehicles. Why under PH only got this problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 62
        • Because BN didn’t bother with the 8 million vehicles that were abandoned across the country during their tenure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
        • Brian on Jun 28, 2018 at 9:47 pm

PH just wanna deregister old cars so that they can put up their number plates for sale again. This Gomen only thinks about money, money, money. No humanity at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 101
          • True dat bro Brian! This gov is willing to make those using walkers, crutches, canes, and wheelchairs, even the sick & the infirmed, walk extra 500 meters to next MRT station becoz “they needed the exercise”. Such a gov has no humanity at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 87
          • Brian bin John on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:37 am

Better to clean up all the abandoned cars. Safer for rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
          • Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:53 am

looks like people are very frustrated now….hitting at our good government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 63
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:47 am

Good Gomen? Yeah, good at taking money from us.
            What about the Rm1.50/L petrol prices as promised?
            What about the abolishment of tolls as promised?
            What about making cars cheaper as promised?
            What about abolishing all PTPTN loans as promised?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 72
          • Gud gov dun tell the helpless to walk the extra 500 meters and call it exercise lor. Thats a heartless gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 64
          • True Rakyat on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:30 am

Rakyat Malaysia, you want to talk about unfulfilled promises? Here’s some of BN’s ones in GE13:

Where’s the promise to build 1 million affordable houses for the people?
            Where’s the abolishment of Penang Bridge toll for motorcyclists?
            Where’s the 30% car prices reduction?

So BN has been in power for so many years and yet still have unfulfilled promises. PH only took over and you want them to fulfil all their promises immediately?

The rakyat know which side is the better Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t it perfectly legal to use Sabah/Sarawak registrations on Semenanjung roads as long as the road tax are paid there (and not air mailed like certain imported/luxury cars that took advantage over the cheaper road tax).

It is easily identified on the sticker with Semenanjung printed on.

• Mikey on Jun 28, 2018 at 4:50 pm

I will be glad to offer my services to remove these abandon vehicles for FREE as I can sell it off as scraps & profits from it. It’s a win win for ALL. What say U Loki?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • Too bad. Lokis own cronies alredi got the contract to that. Better luck next time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 40
      • kl fella on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:34 am

do you have proof to support what you have just said?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
        • PJ fella on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:49 am

Did you see any open tenders in the newspapers on disposal of these abandoned cars? No? Then perhaps what Brian & John said above has some merit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
          • Mikey on Jun 29, 2018 at 11:57 am

The 1st line said – “The transport ministry is LOOKING into a possible solution to tackle the problem of abandoned vehicles”. Nothing has been finalized yet lah.
            Did U read the article or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Darren on Jun 29, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Mikey, if the Government said “nothing has been finalized”, it means everything has been inplaced. Stop defending the undefensible with your naivete. This Minister has only been talking about how to squeeze more money from the people. Open your eyes, Mikey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Bunch of BN Clown Troopers on Jun 30, 2018 at 1:33 am

Darren, if nothing has been finalised means everything has been in placed? Hahaha…

Either your understanding of English is poor or you deliberately twist the fact of what the Gov said.

And for john, you have no proof whatsoever for your grandiose claim. Nill

As for PJ fella, do you see any open tenders for any projects of the past Gov in the NEWSPAPER? I doubt you will see any as these tenders are not done through NEWSPAPER.

The attempts of attack by BN troopers on the Gov are laughable at best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • P. Alyanna on Jun 30, 2018 at 6:22 pm

The naivete of PH troopers and suckups are so sweet its almost diabetic. You kids still living in lalaland and think your Government is so nice and clean and truthful? HAHAHA!

Barely 2 months in, and we already have heard plenty of stories.

I really want to know what you have been smoking for so many years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Facts not Fluff on Jul 01, 2018 at 1:11 am

“… so sweet its almost diabetic.”

This sounds familiar. Where did i heard this from? Oh yeah… It’s from a BN MP. You learn from your master well but what you learn is all fluff without substance. This is the case of your reply. You have not supplied any new info of the Gov’s corruption that you implied but only say more bad things from your imagination. You heard stories? Then share them if they are true.

• Brian bin John on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:38 am

still spreading fake news john? Pls keep PT clean. Or give evidence to back up your claim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • Deregistrar on Jun 29, 2018 at 2:24 pm

PT should also do CLEAN-UP of the comments here. De-register all the crap accounts and moderate better. Please la. No justice to your writers if this goes on.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 29, 2018 at 2:42 pm

I completely agree. Will be done.

• Joshua on Jun 29, 2018 at 3:37 pm

If attack previous government, then its ok. If attack current gov, you will be banned. Oh wai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
          • Haf bro. I suggest, PT commenters must register as members and moderated. If they gip unrelated and fake comments, then out they go to borabora. This includes those macai copy pasta statements.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • PT Reader on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:33 pm

Also pls remove comments which are untrue i.e. comment about the Gov telling the helpless to walk 500 meters and call it exercise. The Gov never said about this crap. Only this guy keeps on harping on his nonsense and up voting himself to make people believe him, what a low level single cell organism he is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
          • Enough is enough on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:57 am

This site is about automotive, not a site for you to attack the Gov. If you like to attack the Gov, you can always make a ‘Malaysia-Today’ style website and and join john and his clan to attack all you want.

• Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:54 am

ha ha ha. 60 yrs john kept quiet, now make noise…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • I wud gladly take 60 years vehicles from ur hands. Its worth more than any of the toyota junks in ur showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
          • john bodo on Jun 30, 2018 at 1:09 am

This got nothing to do with Toyota, don’t be like an idiot like the stupid reckless driving Proton owner.

• Kah Joh on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:34 am

main tembak but no bukti. typical loser

• AlexTan on Jun 28, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Please get this implemented quickly, can get rid of those abandoned vehicles on road side and in car park lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • dodgeviper88 on Jun 28, 2018 at 5:15 pm

One of the main reasons why there are some cars that are literally unusable and still registered is because the owners want to keep the number plate. Perhaps the government should look into an owner able to keep a number plate without having to register a car. Or make it easier to interchange number plates among cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • Brian on Jun 28, 2018 at 9:52 pm

PH Gomen wanna cilok these rare numbers so that they can resell at higher prices in the market. This Gomen only thinks about money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 30
      • Fully agree! This gov only cares about money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
        • Brian and John,

Surely you two are taking the piss…..right?

This country needs to wipe the slate clean in many areas to get on track for a far more productive and clean future. This will all take time, however, it will be far more advantageous to all Malaysians eventually and certainly a better path to go down in comparison the the very dubious past.

I think your posts are merely designed to stir the pot and perhaps create more posts for Paul Tan, as there is absolutely no rationale to your comments.

Defending and praising the previous administration…….seriously?

I doubt it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
          • P. Alyanna on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:57 am

Dear B,
            I do nott see what they said as “defending the previous administration”, can you point out which part that said that?

And were you serious with your trust that the current administration will wipe the slate clean? Perhaps clean it for their own dirt to stick on, with their crony airport project, crony T7 shenanigans, and their crony governmental positions. I would not put it past “Loki” to worm his slimy hands in wrestling valuable number plates from old cars just to re-sell them. Stop being naive and see the real world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
        • Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:55 am

Dont bother, it is the same guy. Same troll.

• In response to P. Alyanna on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:57 am.

I suggest you read his previous posts since post election day. This may take you some time, as there are copious amounts of statements from him attacking the current Government and as many painting the previous administration in a positive and caring light.

Best of luck with your reading.

Thank you.

• JOACHIM on Jun 30, 2018 at 6:35 pm

@B. But was he wrong? Nuh-uh. He correctly deduced the current Govt will rot as soon as they got to Putrajaya and from what P. Alyanna written above, we can clearly see all their worms are coming out of the woodwork. This Govt, if benchmarked against your high standards shown to BN, would have failed even far worse but for your rose-tinted glasses, you would forgive them for anything done. As what P.Alyanna said above, stop being naive and see the Real World.

• When did the Gov rot? If they rot, why would millions of Malaysians donate to a rotting Gov? Your reply don’t make sense, only to paint the Gov in bad light. Also, your sentence is incoherent. Is English not your first language?

• Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:58 am

I really hope PT and put some controls over this guy who creates dupes and “talks” to each other of his dupes just to prove a point.

Dah bosan dah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • Danny Lim on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:25 am

john, people know about your ways here. Those who have been long here know your ways. Respect other people here. I come here to learn, not to hear fake views from fake accounts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • Ghani on Jun 29, 2018 at 12:03 pm

We are well read and well informed and we all know who is fake and who isn’t, and John is definitely NOT FAKE. You sound like a certain cybertroll that fakes his identity and falsified his comments.

Why do you sound so much like him, I suppose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • Ghani, how do you know ‘john’ is not fake? Have you met him or are you with him in the same party? You seem to like to accuse someone who is against this ‘john’.

I wonder why?

• Max291 on Jun 29, 2018 at 9:51 pm

Pls get rid of this Datsun 120y & proton savvy in front of my house. Owner already dead 4 years ago.

• benzs on Jun 28, 2018 at 5:19 pm

PH government is doing their job. Previously seems nothing to bother them. Those 8 Million car could be dispose and recycle for raw materials which will reduce wastage and improve our environment. Very good step by PH. Make Malaysia clean, not only corruption but our country cleanliness. But most citizens of Malaysia need to ensure they must change their perception and mentality. I saw many people still discard their trash out from their car. Sadly to say, please keep clean. Even Tun.M eager to follow foot step like Japan. They throw their rubbish at their own car first if no rubbish bin available. Even saying thank you using double signal after being given way by other driver. Please Malaysian, change your own for greater future of younger generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Within my Housing estate there are already > 20 cars abandon on the side roads, fields and car parks outside houses. They have become a EYE sore, infested with cockroaches & rats, broken windscreen, missing tires, etc. Even the Town council FAILED , even with Notices pasted on such abandon vehicles. Please QUICKLY act . Health Hazard too.

• Think on Jun 28, 2018 at 6:06 pm

It’s been for many decades those vehicles being left to rust n most of the time plants will be covering them..most of the time the workshops simply dump those cars in front of their shops..it is necessary for the government to think the possibility of offering cash for clunkers…it is necessary for automotive brands to substitute festive discounts with vehicle scrap discounts…

• This is by far the most significant mileage in this new government.

• stastasta on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:03 am

anthony loke must be the most hard working person in the entire government. every week got news from him. best part is he is thinking of ways to increase revenue for the government to pay off debt from 1mdb

• Ben Yap on Jun 29, 2018 at 10:14 am

some abandoned vehicles got their disc brakes and calipers still intact. can take from it and change your rear drum to disc for free.

• GNANESAGERAN A.BALASINGAM on Jun 29, 2018 at 12:41 pm

Some of this vehicles can be restored ; as such there should be an option for the car owners to restore their cars and sell it in the open market. The other option is a unilateral sale by the custodian of the car wavering registered owner’s consent and sell to a buyer who is willing to buy and restore these cars. It is important to note that most of the cars have been abandoned because registered owners are unable to repair or restore their cars because of financial difficulties. The ministry must consider this aspect of the situation.

• M.Zin on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:53 pm

I have an old deregistered car with a very nice number plate. It was inherited down by my grandpa and I have not been able to register it because it will fail Puspakom. This old ‘junk’ has sentimental and intrinsic value to me as I probably can re-sell the plate for quintuple digits (yes, tens of thous) but I rather pass it to my son. If Loke’s plan goes thru, I will loose this heirloom and thus my legacy to my son. Curse you, Loke, and those in your Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Tak suka? Baliklah Indon, Malaysia dun need pipu like u to curse here and there

• Betoi tu bro RPK. Diorang mmg tau tembak je, takde yg betoi. Otak deadak betoi la

• stastasta on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:05 am

sucks to be you M.Zin. government dont owe you anything. in fact government owns the car registration number, not you. if you want to resell the number plate then get your damn car fixed up first and pass the puspakom test . bloody rent-seeker mentality.

• Noordin on Jun 29, 2018 at 8:31 pm

Why not donate to vocatational or technical collages for student practical education

• If u read M.Zin comment above, u will know why. These veli valuable plates will then be owned by the vocational or technical colleges, instead of going into Lokis pocket.

• Try Harder on Jul 01, 2018 at 12:57 pm

Still trying hard to hasut, eh john?

These veli valuable plates are nothing compared to the assets confiscated from Najib. If PH really want pocket the money, they can always keep it to themselves. But no worries, all of Najib’s ‘gifts’ will be auctioned to the public.