Nissan GT-R50 by Italdesign revealed – an Italian GT-R

The Nissan GT-R – and its Skyline-based predecessors – has always been an unashamedly Japanese sports car, but for nameplate’s 50th anniversary Nissan has decided to look to Italy to mark the occasion. This is the GT-50 by Italdesign, a special concept version of the Godzilla developed and built by design house Italdesign, which coincidentally is also celebrating its golden jubilee this year.

That explains why the GT-R50 is covered by a smattering of gold accents all around, complementing the Liquid Kinetic Grey paint. The gilt finish covers the grille surround that appears as a separate element, stretching almost the entire width of the vehicle. This is paired with slim LED headlights, vertical front cooling intakes and a more pronounced bonnet power bulge, complete with vents also lined with gold.

Lowered by 54 mm, the sweeping roof features a double-bubble design with a deep central channel, which together with the taut, beefy rear haunches give the car added muscle. The GT-R’s “samurai sword” air vents aft of the front wheels have been lengthened and are again embellished with gold inlays.

The rear end is the most outlandish part of the car, carved out to look like a modular piece – a design emphasised by, you guessed it, yet more gold. The rear windscreen has been reduced to a single slit that stretches longer and deeper than the standard GT-R, and the trademark quad round tail lights have become hollowed-out pods that sit on the rear deck. A large adjustable rear wing completes the look.

Inside, the gold theme continues with accents across the futuristic race-inspired dashboard, finished with a black Alcantara wrap and carbon fibre trim pieces. The flat-bottomed steering wheel is also covered in Alcantara, with the central hub and spokes made from carbon fibre as well. The bucket seats, meanwhile, have been upholstered in black Italian leather.

Based on the GT-R Nismo, the GT-R50 has been fettled by Nissan’s motorsport division, with the 3.8 litre twin-turbo V6 now producing an estimated 720 PS at 7,100 rpm and 780 Nm of torque from 3,600 to 5,600 rpm. That’s a significant 120 PS and 128 Nm jump over the donor car.

Nissan GT-R50 by Italdesign revealed – an Italian GT-R

The increases come by way of larger GT3-spec turbochargers, bigger intercoolers, redeveloped internals, higher-flow fuel injectors and optimised ignition, intake and exhaust systems. All this is routed through a strengthened, rear-mounted six-speed dual-clutch transmission to the GT-R’s magical ATTESA E-TS all-wheel drive system, equipped with reinforced differentials and driveshafts.

The chassis has also been tweaked through the addition of the Bilstein DampTronic I continuously adjustable damping system, connected to Brembo disc brakes with red six-piston front and four-piston rear callipers. The 21-inch alloy wheels, uniquely designed for this car, are wrapped in Michelin Pilot Super Sport tyres measuring 255/35 R21 at the front and 285/30 R21 at the rear.

“Although this is not the next-generation GT-R, it is an exciting celebration of two anniversaries in a provocative and creative way – wrapping one of Nissan’s best engineering platforms and Japanese design with Italian coachbuilding,” said Nissan’s senior vice president for global design Alfonso Albaisa. We think it’s gorgeous, but what about you? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• rightwinger on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:03 pm

the same design house that designe P1 Preve… because of that sure buruk wan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Awang Selamat on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Preve is a strange car. Got 5 star NCAP rating but yet a big failure in sales. We really don’t know why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • That’s coz it arrived too late to save Proton’s quality-issues sullied name plus it was in the era of Perodua’s rapid ascendancy.

• How isit a big failure in sales when theres so many many of them on the roads? This guy seems to be quite disassociated with reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
        • John May 9 Nangis on Jun 30, 2018 at 12:27 am

Proton CEO himself said 75% of their sales come from Saga and Persona. The balance 25%, bulk of it consist of Government ordered Perdanas.

If PDRM does not order Preve as their patrol cars….habis lah….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Toyota sudah habis on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:46 pm

Habisss

• Sure sure. Like u said majority of P1 sales came from gov fleet but PT burst ur fake news bubble when they repoted 97.5% of sales came from retail end customers. Sure we belip u. Lolz!

• Sathia on Jul 02, 2018 at 9:22 am

this guy already kalah teruk teruk with malu, still want to come here and talk kok. john pls grow up

• johnissohai on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:33 am

i just sold my preve, swear to myself never to get a proton again

• More like myvi to me, haha!

• U lucky u still get to sell it. Some Mivi owners never gets the chance to do that after early KO.

• loler on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:43 am

Hahaha your toyota also got 5 star what. but sales number is like merc , i can’t stop laughing! lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Awang Selamat on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:14 am

Toyota is owned by UMW. Fully Government owned. It shows that the previous Government could not manage UMW Toyota well. I agree with you sales are bad because of incompetent GLC workers

• loler on Jun 30, 2018 at 9:42 pm

You are not competent as toyota cybertrooper, lol

• Kereta Murah on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:24 pm

Cakap tak serupa realiti. Betul2 kes RDD macam Dr Strange diagnosis kat bawah.

• Dr Strange on Jun 30, 2018 at 10:52 am

As a doctor, I pronounced your symptom as caused by Reality Disassociative Disorder, but some of us just call it Really Dumb Dungu.

• Caslern on Jul 01, 2018 at 4:06 pm

As a Inspira owner and have driven Preve owned by friend and collegue. For the interior quality, the quality still sup par against Inspira stock. My collegue Preve owner impressed with Inspira and regretted ever since buying the Preve.

• Awang Selamat on Jul 02, 2018 at 12:12 am

Preve owners are syiok sendiri lah, think their car are on par with Porsche. They are the ones who have Reality Dissociative Disorder, which they themselves call RDD.

• GTRFAN on Jun 29, 2018 at 6:09 pm

IMO, the epitome of the GT-R design was perfected in the 2017/2018 model. Don’t think it can get better than that unless the Japanese re-design it again.

This “Italian influenced-design” is just meh.

• “special concept version”
    Current GTR oso born from concept design, to mockup, to real car. Maybe this will be the new GTR, no?

• vVivi Zurianti on Jun 29, 2018 at 7:22 pm

what is next?? Sending an italian supercar to a Japanese designer???

• Fedap on Jun 30, 2018 at 12:36 am

You trade a little bit of insanity and flair for reliability and resale value.

• They already have too many of those, Liberty Walk and Rockey Bunny butchered Italian hypercars for years.

• MusangKing 2 on Jul 01, 2018 at 2:21 pm

LB and RB are just fender flairs attached to cars…
        Heck, even pickup trucks today had tonnes of plastic fender flair…sold at accessories shop in Mesia.

• Anonymous on Jun 30, 2018 at 5:01 pm

It’s been done.
      The designer for the Ferrari Enzo Ferrari and P4/5 was Ken Okuyama. He also designed 7 other cars for Maserati and Ferrari.

• Jonn Dol on Jun 30, 2018 at 2:58 am

The best designed GT-R version of all, is definitely the groundbreaking R32 with its clean & pure form..

• Garry Goh on Jun 30, 2018 at 3:15 am

As a owner myself, the car with its ‘torque-up’ power is not whether or not is too reasonable about it has done for but I m inclined to think in a car upgrade from its original form must at least have done two most important aspects which are the engine and the cosmetic body art form while this has certainly done another two components, interior and mechanically though minor but overall it appears to have a cooler look, sleeker though not over provocative and quite a smart combination in entirety including the colour and shape will be enough to turn heads to have a second and more look at the handsome prince whilst wishing 50th anniversary to Godzilla and Italian creativity in this partnership.

• Mikey on Jul 02, 2018 at 10:49 am

A Nissan GTR is still a GTR with a heart from Nissan/Japan. U can give him an Armani suit or Italdesign but U cannot change the way they drive. It’s an awesome piece of machine nickname GODZILLA for a GOOD reason.

• absolutely sensational , cn i hv a go in asphalt?