Seremban-Nilai-KL Sentral KTM Komuter Express Service starts July 25 – for weekday rush hours

Good news for residents of Nilai and Seremban commuting to KL for work daily. The Seremban-Nilai-KL Sentral Komuter Express Service by KTM is back and services will start this Wednesday, July 25. The service will be offered only on weekdays, once from Seremban to KL Sentral in the morning, and the return trip to Seremban in the evening.

“The train will leave Seremban at 7.08am, arriving at Nilai at 7.25am for a-minute stop for passengers before expected to reach KL Sentral at 8.19am. In the afternoon, it will depart KL Sentral at 5.55pm, arriving at Nilai at 6.50pm and expected to reach Seremban station at 7.10pm,” said transport minister Anthony Loke, reported by Bernama.

He said that the fare for the revived express service, which was cancelled several years ago, will be the same with the regular KTM Komuter service – RM8.70 from Seremban to KL Sentral, RM7 from Nilai to KL Sentral and RM3.60 from Nilai to Seremban.

“I met the management of KTMB a month ago and asked them to bring back the express service as there are more Seremban residents working in KL. The train would be an additional train and will not disrupt the normal train schedule,” Loke said, adding that the service can accommodate 1,118 passengers at one time, with 328 seats and 790 standing passengers.

“I will try to make sure that the express train is always on time and I have also asked KTMB to create a web and mobile application to facilitate passengers to check the travel times without having to wait at the stations,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• At RM17.40 per day, this will end up the same as the previous effort. Cheaper to drive to Kajang MRT, park and take the MRT from there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
    • Car petrol, parking and MRT fares combined way more expensive than KTM tiket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Time n Cost Efficient on Jul 23, 2018 at 11:57 am

Good move Ah Loke!

• elpotato on Jul 23, 2018 at 2:01 pm

MY pipu save on toll too. no road jams

• Spin Too Much on Jul 23, 2018 at 2:13 pm

If the Gomen honours its promises, then why need pay toll at all? Ah Loke, what happen to the promise to abolish tolls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • the gomen prefers public transportations. then why need to abolish tolls at all.

• Doesn’t seem that way, looking at how they’re cancelling or downscaling all public transportation plans & their boss penchant for another national car project.

• Mikey on Jul 23, 2018 at 11:40 am

john, for argument sake, the distance from Seremban to KL is around 68 km. Lets say it cost 15 cents per km, it means RM10.20 one way toll not included. Total 2 way is RM20.40 & I’ve not even factor in maintenance of car.

Yes RM17.40 may not be cheap for many people but it is way better than driving, looking for parking & then change to MRT. That’s wasted time & hassle bro. What happen to your advocating that public transport is BEST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
      • U seriously din read what I say kah? Read again cuz I never mention drive all the way from Srbn to KL lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
      • Spot on Mikey bro. after riding Komuter, i save alot from AES speedtrap fines along Seremban-KL expressway^^

• actual cost on Jul 23, 2018 at 2:20 pm

You hv forgotten that train final stop is at KL Sentral. From KL Sentral to workplace?? by Grab, by Bus, by MRT, by LRT?? $$$ can up to RM5 one way. So 2 way RM10. RM10+RM17.40 = RM27.40.

How about from home to Seremben Station? this one add cost also. So final figure can come to RM33.00.

Not to mention the time taken for the whole trip to and fro home and workplace.

So finally, most ppl settled for car.

• Pmo rafikul on Jul 23, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Malaysia on course to become a high income developed nation by the year 2020.
          A developed nation is not a place where the poor have cars. It’s where the rich use public transportation.

• 12yrsold john on Jul 23, 2018 at 3:15 pm

U may tell that to john as he is the one who advocate public transport is the best but sad to say, most public transport do not take U right up to your door.

• Better planning from previous gov was striving to address that, but alas… all gone now.

• Ghani on Jul 23, 2018 at 11:01 pm

Its not the fault that public transports can’t take you right up to your doorstep but its just another sign of Malaysian laziness and their propensity to complain much but not put in the effort and make it work.

• Can extend express train to Senawang (i.e sg gadut station) also?

• Charsiu on Jul 23, 2018 at 4:41 pm

Can also travel from Sg Gadut station. Catch Seremban-KL express at 7.08am.

• Poi kijo pekan on Jul 23, 2018 at 10:44 am

Brilliant move YB Anthony Loke! Now i can go to work & support my family with peace of mind..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • dorian on Jul 23, 2018 at 11:05 am

Almost good news to me. Almost. I finish work at 7 pm. Can’t really utilize this good news for my own benefit. I hope they can provide more train and more trip in the future.

• Read the article properly.

This timing is for express train, meaning no stop between stations except Nilai.

If you finish work at 7pm, you still can take the normal KTM train, but with stops in between.

It doesn’t mean 7pm = no train.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • dorian on Jul 23, 2018 at 2:47 pm

That is why I said “almost a good news”. I know well about that normal train. I hope you understand.

• Can extend the service from Batu caves to Seremban or Klsentral during peak hours morning 7-10Am and evening 5-8pm (every 30 mins- during the construction of double trac )and Residents from Batu caves also main users and always depends on KTM.

• hondaman on Jul 23, 2018 at 3:43 pm

This is a re-intro of the same service offered years ago… hopefully it won’t fail again like last time. KTMB must make sure no technical fault occurred cz noticed in their twitter, it is a almost a daily occurence

• Kenapa kat mesin rm7. 20 dari seremban ke bts… Tpi tnya kat kaunter rm60 untuk 4… Sedangkan harga rm7. 20….mahal gila… KW nak naik haji Kah jual tiket smpai mcm tu… KW tngok la shatf KW Krja jam 4 pada 18.12.2012… Btl Kah harga 4 org smpai rm60 wahhhh