Tesla cars will get KITT-like AI assistance – Elon Musk

This might sound silly, but Tesla boss Elon Musk has just revealed that he plans to have a KITT-like artificial intelligence system in Tesla cars. Of course, this was announced on his personal Twitter account, which seems to be his go-to platform when revealing key features.

A Model 3 Performance owner asked on Twitter if his car will get “K.I.T.T like AI in Tesla cars any time soon?”, to which Musk replied “Yes.” CarAdvice reports that this isn’t the first time Musk has promised a smart voice assistant for Tesla, having previously claimed the AI-based control system will be able to do “pretty much anything via voice command.”

For those who have not seen the TV series, this is in reference to the supercomputer-powered voice assistant in the Pontiac Trans Am from Knight Rider. The system is even capable of self-thinking and conversing effectively with humans. It could also run movies, music and games on the dashboard, besides boasting crime-fighting features such as oil jets, grappling hook and a smoke screen. If you have not seen it in your younger years, don’t do it now.

As for Tesla, it’s possible that the AI system would be similar to what Daimler is offering through Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX). Debuted in the W177 A-Class, MBUX can be activated by saying “Hey Mercedes,” and apparently it also understands indirect speech, such as “I am cold” instead of instructing it with “set the temperature to 24 degrees.” Mercedes-Benz said there is some level of machine learning involved as well, so the tech is closer to Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant or Siri.

It’s unclear how far Tesla is with its AI development, but the team is being led by Andrej Karpathy (computer vision and AI). He was formerly a research scientist at OpenAI (a non-profit company Musk left in February 2018) and is described as “one of the world’s leading experts in computer vision and deep learning.” Tesla is also working on a new AI chip, reports Electrek.

Now, over to you. Are you in favour of voice assistants to help with in-car functions such as increase or decrease audio volume, adjust climate control and the like? How would you use such a technology? Leave your thoughts below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Be end is nigh.

• Mahmood Razak on Aug 01, 2018 at 12:26 pm

I enjoyed my powerful Mondeo which had the voice command feature. I make calls, change radio channels, change temperatures all via voice command. Can’t wait for the Proton SUV which will have that feature as well. Including for windows and sunroof. :)

• tesla has so much debts. musk can learn from tun m how to reduce all the debts.

1st of all tesla surely has to scrapped, or postponed all their plan, including all this KITT technology. Then later there will be a tabung harapan which all the employees can donate to pay off tesla debts.

i highly recommend musk to learn from the best prime miniter in the world :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • seancorr (Member) on Aug 01, 2018 at 4:19 pm

Lol u got to be kidding me. Tesla intentionally put themselves in that situation. Look at how they operate before, it’s the same style. Debt ridden when a new model is about to launch then back into the green once they have ironed out the issues plagued with each new model.

• Dark Knight on Aug 01, 2018 at 5:16 pm

Average Malaysian not even know what is defination of DEBT. Example purchased a property, valuer giving price goes up, they thought they’d in profit when the unit haven’t able to sell off and still owing bank.
      Back to Tesla scenario, when investment haven’t been returned, that could describe as LOST or the profit hasn’t arrived yet? The future I seeing the company definitely on the bright side. BTW, comparing with Proton is a joke

• Each answered requests will be followed by the knight rider’s theme slowly fading away

• RawRaw on Aug 01, 2018 at 2:04 pm

Hopefully there will be turbo-boost feature as well

• Bryan on Aug 01, 2018 at 2:25 pm

Just wondering if this is overdo? Are we going to have spoon-fed by AI next time? Human became idiot while we created AI.

• Tesla AI likely become K.A.R.R instead. Yelp!

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 01, 2018 at 4:16 pm

Not surprised, Tesla is leading the way in this autonomous segment. Too bad we will not live to see the day Tesla arrives here in Bolehland. Have to fly to Japan or China to try it out.

• there is a good reason why all my cars are black

• Knight Rider on Aug 01, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Meanwhile Porsche concept car just hype on 0-100km/hr performance and km/ full charge.

• panjang on Aug 01, 2018 at 5:20 pm

The AI will be a good and entertaining chat partner when i’m stuck in jam. Unlimited possibility to try….