Penang state government urged to implement new, better road surfacing techniques to fight flooding

The Penang state government has been urged to review the standard operating procedure and techniques employed for road resurfacing in the state. The call was made by DAP assemblyman for Batu Lancang, Ong Ah Teong, at the state legislative assembly sitting, Bernama reports.

He said that the current technique used was simply to resurface the road with a new six-centimetre layer of tar, a move that only treats the surface of the road. “I am afraid that after being re-tarred several times, the road will become thicker. If a road is re-tarred six centimetres every five years, in 50 years it will be 60 cm – or about two feet – thick, about 10 times the original thickness,” he said.

He said that a better method to employ was the ‘milling’ technique, which could support the dispersion of 15,816,000 litres of rainwater. With the current road re-surfacing method, that rainwater will run-off to lower areas.

He added that concrete road dividers also contributed to floods, as the rainwater could not be absorbed, and stated that if the situation continues, Penang will face the risk of major floods in the coming 50 years.

Ong also pointed out the the quality of material used to surface roads in the state was lower than those in other countries like Singapore, South Korea, Japan and China, which had sturdier roads. Comparatively, each time heavy rain falls, tarred roads in Penang end up with puddles and holes, he said.

“We also have roads in Penang full of patchwork and puddles. This projects a backward image, especially with the constant digging and patching of roads which affect the surfaces,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:03 am

This is a good suggestion by the DAP assemblyman. I am glad DAP give good ideas for the betterment of Penang.

We need constructive comments and not fake news to make our country better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:17 am

Dap has been in power for two terms and into 3rd term now…so all this while what are they doing…talking nonsense…so are you now only they can give constructive suggestion…whatva joke…such a lame state government…cant even think outside the box

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 31
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:59 am

Yeah, just like the Kinabatangan MP right? What did the oppo do besides opposing and saying rude things? Adat pun takda want to give constructive suggestion? What a joke. Katak bawah tempurung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
        • Redah rompin on Aug 09, 2018 at 1:12 pm

Floods is act of God, happen anywhere.

Floods its annual event in Pahang. my own hometown, Pekan oso got major flood so bad Januari dis yer. Hundreds local family evacuated … State gahmen waiting monsun to come again, musim tengkujuh mud water everywher..

• tiadaid (Member) on Aug 09, 2018 at 1:24 pm

Lol, you want to talk about Kinabatangan – why don’t you look at Jelutong la wei. Everything also 1MDB, talk about constructive suggestion?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
        • Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 10, 2018 at 8:26 am

That only tells you one thing, Mesians voted for rudes who takde adat and opposes everything without constructive suggestion.

• tkhengong on Aug 09, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Roads in Penang are maintained by JKR. With this being raised by a government backbencher, I am sure the matter will be looked into and implemented in the near future.

• In old MY, there is hardly any pipu complaining about uneven roads. Why in new MY have this problem? Just want to waste taxpayers money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • A road user on Aug 09, 2018 at 4:39 pm

Sounds like you live in the jungle & don’t understand what roads are for and how the condition should be.Maybe you should just say that people should go back to riding horses which don’t need any properly tarred roads to run on and you should not be riding in any motorised vehicles.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:49 am

When it comes to flooding, a multi factorial multi agency approach is required. Not just road resurfacing, Tuan Assemblyman.

Proper drainage (able to divert large amounts of water quickly), clearing rubbish clogging drains (short term), reducing rubbish clogging drains (long term), planting trees to reduce soil erosion, perhaps considering a long term solution like SMART tunnel for stormwater management.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 09, 2018 at 12:25 pm

The biggest problem that contributes to flopding in Penang, in my opinion is the drains and drainage holes. They are so full of junk.

• Poor Road on Aug 09, 2018 at 11:52 am

“If a road is re-tarred six centimetres every five years, in 50 years it will be 60 cm – or about two feet – thick, about 10 times the original thickness”

This is a cut cost method as they don’t want to remove the old layer. Keep on stack up. Especially in taman area, lots of houses end up lower than roads as well!

• Pakulupapito on Aug 09, 2018 at 1:14 pm

Because the comment for the UUU plat is turned off, i put my comment here: I though there are no more special reg no by third party company? It is said earlier only JPJ will sell any kind of reg no right???

• stastasta on Aug 10, 2018 at 1:53 pm

UUU plate was approve by previous government. for dont know what reason, the sale is allowed to go ahead by current government.

• awg1031 on Aug 09, 2018 at 1:20 pm

the road is one of the many reasons for flooding ler..should’ve suggest the development on the island to stop terus, that’s major flooding reason what

u want to talk about improving road quality and road maintenance method is ok la..but other than that, pls don’t

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 09, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Please learn from Thailand. Their tar roads are able to withstand harsh wear & tear from heavy vehicles.

• Why superior Penang Government would have anything to learn from Thailand? Road bad is not Penang Government fault but Act of God!