SPIED: V167 Mercedes-Benz GLE interior seen in full!

We’re closing in on the official debut of the all-new V167 Mercedes-Benz GLE, which is said to be unveiled at the Paris Motor Show next month. We’ve already seen glimpses of how the new SUV will roughly look like inside and out, but this time we’re able to take a proper look of its cabin.

Now, the vehicle in question appears to be an AMG model, featuring the familiar dual-tone twin-five spoke alloy wheels, huge diamond grille with a gaping lower valance finished in gloss black, blacked out roof rails and dual hexagonal exhaust pipes. The rear portion, particularly between the C- and D-pillars remain covered, but we have already seen a prototype that’s nearly uncovered.

Say the rear is still covered, but we’ve already seen a nearly uncovered one before

For the cabin, we previously saw a heavily-covered prototype, but certain elements stood out, such as the huge widescreen display. It’s confirmed now that the entire panel will be a single unit, although one can expect the driver’s instruments to be separate from the infotainment system, which will command (no pun intended) the bulk of the screen’s real estate.

Below that you’ll find a quartet of air-con vents, a row of in-car controls (parking camera, HVAC controls and the like), cubbies and a wireless smartphone charging tray. Between the two prominent grab handles on the centre console rests the new Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) system that first debuted on the W177 A-Class.

As for the driver, there’s a three-spoke leather-wrapped steering wheel with buttons, switches and touch pads (in the form of small black squares; enables swiping functions). It’s not nearly the same as the steering wheel on the updated W222 S-Class, but the button arrangements are similar.

Peeking through the rear passenger window reveals an interesting new addition – electric adjustable seat controls for the outer seats. This particular AMG variant even comes with the Burmester sound system.

To recap, the new GLE will be built on the same Modular High Architecture (MHA; basically a modified MRA underpinning the C-, E- and S-Class) that will be shared with the next GLS. This means the new GLE should be significantly lighter than the current W166 model, with entry level models expected to ditch the all-wheel drive system, putting it just shy of the two-tonne mark. It’ll be more aerodynamic as well, with drag coefficient dropping from 0.32 to 0.30 Cd.

So, are you liking what you see so far? Based on what we’ve seen so far, would you pick the V167 Mercedes-Benz GLE over its arch rival, the G05 BMW X5? Let us know in the comments section below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• limpeh28 on Aug 16, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Dear Paul Tan
    please can you mention about this new GLE with its new 7 seat feature

i came across this in link below :

https://drivemag.com/news/all-new-2019-mercedes-benz-gle-prototype-is-happy-to-be-reviewed

thank you

• Copy Boyue grab handles? Geely-Mesidis synergy has started.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • M Fauzi on Aug 16, 2018 at 7:10 pm

The adjustable rear seats in the new GLE would be a big consideration for buyers. From online reviews abroad, the rear seats of the new BMW X5 will be fixed.
    This should be a significant factor especially with the premium executive market segment. With S-Class, 7 series and Audi A8 only available in Malaysia in long wheel base versions, buyers with chauffeurs who feels the long wheel base premium sedans are too unwieldy for self drive during the weekends or too conspicuous, the new GLE will definitely be a great option.

Hopefully Mercedes Malaysia will be provide the CKD and AMG versions as early as possible. For many reasons the current GLE did very badly against BMW X5. Even more so as X5 4.0e are priced very competitively at RM388,000.

But this time round GLE should do significantly better with sportier exterior and much improved interior designs. GLE need not compete with the new X5, but instead the base model should offer easy options for premium package options such as air suspension and driver’s assistance package such as Dystronic function, autonomous braking as well as Designo options for the interiors; even if it is priced above X5.

If kerb weight is really just 2.0 tons, new GLE will also do well against X5 hybrid which weighs 300kg heavier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Digidigi on Aug 16, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Seriously… ugly, they really think this lcd really looks that good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • someone need to break the conventional, evaluation sense is very subjective, like it or hate it

• Gle Coupe 2020 on Aug 16, 2018 at 7:51 pm

I heard rumours that it will have a 7 seater options. Although the most interesting feature is this
    Youtube : 2019 mercedes gle prototype – final testing video report – (at 2:03min)

• DrRif on Aug 16, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Am I the only person who thinks that Merc interiors are super ugly with that HUGE MUTANT iPad glued to the dashboard, with no attempt to encase it. Look at the new Audi A8 Mercedes!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • The steering looks like it has been plugged out from a G30 and placed in there…

• DrRIF on Aug 16, 2018 at 11:45 pm

Looking to change my car next year, was seriously considering the new GLE, but the f-ugly interior…put me right off…now hv to consider X5…cayenne too mahal at 7xx

• passion on Aug 17, 2018 at 10:13 am

ugly rims though. and what a large hand phone. wow!

• We need more vents!! on Aug 17, 2018 at 12:26 pm

MB: 3 aircond vents are not enough. We need 4!!!!

• d interior designer deserves a cookie

• So. Many. Vents.