GM to develop 400 kW Extreme Fast Charger – 96.5% grid-to-car efficiency, 290 km range in 10 minutes!

Future electric vehicles under the General Motors (GM) umbrella may soon be able to recharge their batteries with 290 km (180 miles) of driving range in less than 10 minutes, reports Bloomberg. The solid-state transformer-based Extreme Fast Charger (XFC) with 400 kW capacity is currently being developed by the Detroit-based automaker and one of its research partners, Delta Americas, as part of a three-year project.

The new XFC system – presumably using the SAE Combo Charging System (CCS) protocol as pictured above – is expected to offer grid-to-vehicle efficiency of up to 96.5%, and should give about 29 km of range per minute of charging. That’s three times quicker than Tesla’s 120 kW Supercharger system, which gives 9.6 km of driving range per minute. Porsche, on the other hand, claims that its Taycan electric sports car is capable of getting 20 km per minute, thanks to a 350 kW DC fast-charging system.

GM said the technology will be readied in 20 electric cars by 2023, all of which will be capable of rapid charging. “Everybody would like to replicate what we can do when we’re filling a tank of gasoline,” Abuelsamid said. “This is especially true for people who live in cities. It makes a lot of sense to have an EV in urban areas, but people who live there are least likely to have access to charging.”

Currently, Tesla says its Version 2 Supercharger stations (up to 145 kW, but vehicles are capped at 120 kW) are capable of replenishing the batteries of its EVs in 30 minutes. The company is planning on developing a 200 to 250 kW Version 3 Supercharger system soon, reports Electrek. GM’s Chevrolet Bolt however, requires 30 minutes of fast-charging (from a DC fast charge outlet, rated up to 90 kW) to get approximately 145 km of electric driving range.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Fast charging is known to shorten battery life on pongs. Will this be the same case? Tactic to sell more replacement batteries later?

• Cars with battery management systems (BMS) manages the charging rate to the batteries and solves this problem.

• Pongs to have BMS as well, but quick charging stresses the battery cells and increases temps which will shorten battery life.

• Mikey on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:15 am

Ha ha ha. When its convenient to U, U use I-pong to whack Hua-Wei. Now U are bashing I-Pong. john Memang Boleh!!

• This is applicable to ALL pongs with rapid charging lar not just Huawei. Memang bodoh!!

• With limited infrastructure for network of chargers around our cities, whose design are centuries old, there’s no way that these chargers can have city-wide coverage.

Probably one way to make chargers accessible is to bring it instead to vehicles through deployment of mobile chargers, brought around by a network of vans who bring chargers to these electric vehicles.

All you have to do is place an order. So, you can be in the comfort of your office, knowing that you don’t have to worry about running low on batteries while stuck in traffic jam on your way home.

If you copy my idea, please at least pay me royalty.

• Nine Dragons Slayer on Sep 03, 2018 at 10:39 pm

So your idea of mobile charger is eighteen wheelers gigantic battery bank? Or similar to tnb diesel powered mobile generator set which defeating the purpose of owning a green car?

• BbalingBiru on Sep 04, 2018 at 7:57 am

Danger! Don’t stay in your car while charging…

• Mikey on Sep 04, 2018 at 9:22 am

Good news for EV enthusiast. The problem is MY/World will only get this kind of tech(fast-charge) in approximately 5 years time on the road. Just be happy with whatever U have for now.

• Even GM estimate to have this technology by 2023, means in 5 years time. If we will get the technology also in 5 years, it’s fantastic!

• Why everyone are still worry about charging while on the moves?? The battery efficiency and technologies will improve a lot in the future. Even now, the driving range of EVs have increased and improved tremendously. Nobody is going to drive EV up and down from Perlis to Johor every single day (Unless commercial vehicles).. As for private vehicle, you might only need an overnight charging at home.

• EV still stuck with Lithium battery. Unless solid state battery found its way to be commercialized in EV, its limitation still exists.
      Good luck charging your vehicle on roadside of condo parking or even roadside of landed house overnight.