Grab must use government-approved vehicles: PM

Grab will soon be required to use vehicles that are approved by the Malaysian government to conduct its ride-sharing operations, and the vehicles will be subject to insurance and tax requirements similar to those of taxis.

“I have brought this up. I told the minister of transport to fix it, but unfortunately there has been no progress. I will try again. I too, feel it is unfair. This matter has my attention but I cannot give my assurance that Grab will be abolished, but we can make them equal like taxis,” prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said in a meeting with taxi drivers in Langkawi, as reported by New Straits Times.

This was in response to the question of whether or not Grab will regulated just like normal taxis in order to ensure fair competition, at the dialogue between the prime minister and the group of around 200 Langkawi taxi drivers. A small group of taxi drivers staged a walkout as Tun Mahathir was explaining the situation on e-hailing in Malaysia.

In July, it was reported that e-hailing service providers – such as Grab – will be required to hold a Public Service Vehicle (PSV) license which costs RM115 annually, and vehicles used must undergo annual inspections at Puspakom. Two months prior, the Malaysian Taxi, Limousine and Car Rental Operators and Drivers Association called for the new government to ‘abolish’ e-hailing service providers and for e-hailing to be given to them.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• “required to use vehicles that are approved by the Malaysian government”

like only national car brand like Proton or Perodua only?? looks like Perodua will have a monopoly in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Fazil on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:44 pm

Persona for premium teksi, Saga teksi merah putih …

• Ex-Uber driver on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:35 pm

a lot of e-hailing driver major costs is on fuel. hoping govt will come out with a plan to introduce EEV like bezza or city hybrid, or ioniq hybrid for this purpose. even taxi drivers can benefit from this as well.

so no need for LPG anymore since the saving is about equal. and no more companies like suntaxi or public cab becoming like lintah to taxi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Izzat Kasim on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:46 pm

Grab shud collabo GoCar provide clean EEV taxi.
          HRDF help taxi driver w etiquette training and personal grooming course.

• Safe and Clean on Oct 22, 2018 at 7:54 pm

As long as the car is clean then is alright. Prefer to have at least NCAP Safety 4-star cars

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:05 pm

All these problems is because the lazy teksi drivers are making so much of noise, threats and walkouts.

Hello teksi drivers, you guys are so lazy. All the time want to be pampered and want bantuan all the time. Typical Putrajaya mentality.

Try to work hard and if can, go join Grab. Nobody is stopping you from joining Grab.

Don’t just lepak bawah pokok and sembang with other teksi drivers for hours. All the time smoking under the tree, chit chatting and looking at girls.

Be like the NTUC drivers in Singapore. They work non stop. You are lazy, how you expect money to come to you?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 8
        • Taxis are actually enjoying themselves.They can relax under the sun, talking to each other, less work to do. So why complain.

• kingslayer on Oct 23, 2018 at 9:13 am

Though I’m all in for e-hailing system, you can’t blame those taxi driver.

1. It was (still is) culture brought by certain political pact to vilify, curse, bad-mouth, indecent acts.

2. They were promised by now the Gov of abolishing the e-hailing service. Pls Google for the speech and many photos.

3. They have the balls to press hard for what they believe are their right based on no. 1. Unlike many others, many chicken out and suck & swallow nonsense reasons.

Again, I’m a e-hailing user, they are much better than normal taxi but do understand where those driver arguments come from & why they did what they did.

• lut you on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:11 pm

Protiga

• its not abt grab..
      its not abt my car.
      its not abt mula..
      and othrs e hailing..

its abt customer..passenger..
      ask them why they do not want use taxi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Anonymous on Oct 22, 2018 at 9:35 pm

I think u’re missing the point. It is definitely ur choice to choose Grab or a taxi. But the point of contention by the taxi drivers is the different level of playing field.

Taxi drivers are required to get and annually renew their PSV license, get their car periodically inspected and insured for public use. All these incur costs which are not required for a Grab driver.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Alamak Malaysia still going backwards even after government change.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 4
    • Haidi on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:22 pm

They wanna move forward fast in a backward way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • bawak bmw but x cukup matang on Oct 22, 2018 at 3:00 pm

Singapore also backward cz they not allow car below 1300cc to do Grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Lol, small country no need big cc cars.. Unless they want to go to genting everyday from singapore to malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Singapore is 20 years ahead of us because people there work hard and never rely on bantuan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
      • Pakulupapito on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:42 pm

Wait, what about those 1.2 or 1.0 turbo cars?

• Time for Taxi to embrace change on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:38 pm

Y not just come out with their own app to compete with e-hailing like COMFORT in SG and Blue Bird in Indonesia? This will surely heighten the competition and avoid the current GRAB monopoly. e-hailing concept is a better business model compared to old. but something need to let go like the monopoly and crony structure in the Malaysia Taxi hierarchy. this surely a lot of those cronies wont let go. want to compete but reluctant to improve. always want the easy way. Time for RTD to investigate the crony system in the Taxi structure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 22, 2018 at 3:45 pm

Fyi those e-hailing app available already eg myteksi, easy taxi, ezcab, comfortdelgro etc…

• John Minum Teh 8X on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:07 pm

Lazy drivers just to used to pampered by the Government. Everything also want free. Well time to work hard like all other people. 30 million people got lot of business. can set up your own app also still can untung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Damon Lee on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:45 pm

One such lazies is you. Get off that keyboard and get a proper job. We don’t need you or want you here. Get lost.

• Alredi got Dacsee

• kyoshooo on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:41 pm

Pls abolish Taxi not Grab!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • Need for improvement on Oct 22, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Upgrade taxis to e-hailing standard, not to downgrade e-hailing to current taxis standard…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • Winston on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:47 pm

My dear PM, I admire your enthusiasm to once again being our nation’s leader. I can’t lay any fingers on you as I got no facts with me, but is it true taxi licenses are mainly granted to those aligned to the government? I have heard from my own when I used to ride taxis, that drivers gotta cough up huge sums just to pay off leasing fees for the taxi they are driving. I mean, aren’t we supposed to move with times? Taxis are so run down nowadays that I supposed Puspakom (which also monopolises car inspection services) are so complacent that despite the half yearly inspection amounts to nothing. Does government approved vehicles mean Grab drivers got to purchase only government made brand like Proton? Perhaps Mr PM need to take a ride in a taxi to see for yourself how the service of taxi has evolved (take a ride randomly instead of having your secretaries to arrange one for you)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • hondaman on Oct 22, 2018 at 5:16 pm

99% of taxis used in langkawi are privately owned. It is not about who are the owners but their attitude to make fast money.

• Elchino on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Haven’t our taxi driver realised that they are d cause of their own problems!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • shogun on Oct 22, 2018 at 1:53 pm

why should gov protect taxi drivers so much? they are so irrelevant nowadays, should extinct by now. E-hailing is better alternative nowadays. Think about majority of the rakyat, not that minority taxi drivers. New government now like to take care on non law-abiding citizens. SMH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • All our taxis are doomed.

• Teksi malaysia bertopengkan grab. Kelakar..

• baru keluar dari gua mana? on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Didn’t you know Grab start as MyTeksi before rebranding?

• isengard12 on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:30 pm

Gov approved vehicles only? 5-star safety ratings is a must? 6-airbags so that rear passengers is protected? Upcoming Grab cars must be made in Malaysia? Later on 3rd national car can only be used?

Dr M is cooking something up & I don’t really like it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • ikan sepat on Oct 22, 2018 at 5:20 pm

3 stars NCAP rating regardless of make & cc which has been revealed to the taxi drivers by SPAD since last year. Don’t just jump to conclusions.

• No point on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:11 pm

Just barred A or B-segment hatch like MYVI, AXIA and IRIS to do GRAB.

• To be fair, teksi must also follow grab requirement in term of rating system, age of car, condition of the car, security system etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • thykrupp on Oct 22, 2018 at 2:56 pm

Taxi used rude words during dialog with PM. Such behavior is the root cause of them being rejected by the masses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Sohai (not ori) on Oct 22, 2018 at 3:16 pm

Once again, losers always complain and blame oters people for their fate..winners work harder while losers picket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Kam Hong Yeap on Oct 22, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Sure there is inspection every year ? Why most taxis still so run down and smell like hell ? Mahathir did you follow through and just to make sure Proton is forced down Rakyat’s throat ! Try taxi yourself , did you ?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 22, 2018 at 6:06 pm

The people don’t want teksi merah putih anymore, why does the government still listen to those mangkuks when the majority don’t want them. Cannot compete then pergi jual nasi lemak lah. These kind of stupid regulation will just increase cost and burden the rakyat and it’s uncalled for.

Kasi teksi mampus aje, we don’t need them.

• yes, countries’s taxi service should be protected. government should work on how to improve the taxi service and remove the crony structure in the Malaysia Taxi hierarchy. All taxi should be centralized control, instead we have so many taxi company, so many colors.
    im support e-hailing, but im not against local taxi. i want to see improvement in local taxi by the government. there are strict rules in Grab, local taxi also can apply the same thing. Taxi driver to be punished if driver did something wrong.

• Kenny on Oct 22, 2018 at 7:09 pm

If the govt is too harsh on Grab until it becomes impractical for drivers the service will just go underground. Taxi drivers who want Grab abolished are asking for the impossible. It will survive due to public demand.

• Rakyatsuara on Oct 22, 2018 at 7:17 pm

We only need petrol price go down and shut down toll, stop to protect taxi anymore, monitor grabcar from time to time, a lots of drivers complaint this company, government shouldn’t keep sleeping, don’t tell rakyat again and again the promises can’t make it, hutang banyak, this not a excuses, just step down if can’t perform.

• Amran on Oct 22, 2018 at 7:27 pm

PM tepi

• Ninja on Oct 22, 2018 at 7:31 pm

Ban all taxi services. The rakyat wants them to be banned.

Allow only e-hailing like grab or something better.

We have suffered immensely for 61 years with taxis. Let’s stop the suffering once and for all.

• Dr. Idros on Oct 22, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Better long term solution is to help transform the archaic taxi services into a modern service provider that is more future proof then curtailing the ehailing services. PH Gov should be more future driven and not held ransom by the laggards who wants to hang on to their old mindset.

• malaysiannn on Oct 22, 2018 at 8:28 pm

“the Malaysian Taxi, Limousine and Car Rental Operators and Drivers Association called for the new government to ‘abolish’ e-hailing service providers and for e-hailing to be GIVEN to them.”

They want FREE LUNCH. They KNOW Grab is a good for the rakyat!

Greedy + Lazy + Tyranny = UMNO stylo.

These are the typical Malaysian crooks.

• Victor on Oct 22, 2018 at 8:35 pm

Better to make Grab provide the car, petrol and all maintenance fees requirements and a monthly basic salary and commission for hard working employees.

• Carlover on Oct 22, 2018 at 9:06 pm

There are so many negative n bad things about taxis. So y the government wants to listen to their problems. Let the demand dictates the market. Period! How the government wants to regulate the grab?by making same regulations towards the part timers drivers? Tis part timers have to do grab because of, most are young people, which their salary are quite low, say, min income rm1050 gross. Living cost is higher. Now government wants to add additional costs and restrictions to this drivers.not helpful at all. Another thing, most taxis drivers are middle age
    and above ,which they might have issues. Government must educate and give assistance if possible , so that eventually all of them, change to grab or whatever ehailing services.we are supposed to move forward not stagnant. Traditional taxi services are not productive anymore. I think those ministers must try grab and taxis services in real life, not for show or staged. Then only, they can evaluate which is better. Come on, we have a new government, please dont burden rakyat anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Happy on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:50 pm

Hahaha! Why the government listens to them? Perhaps its coz they were the most ardent supporters in spreading PH negativity which won them the elections? So why not reward their most loyal megaphones?

• Grab Customer on Oct 22, 2018 at 10:39 pm

PM ini tak boleh fikir ke ape…. zzzz… give what customers want not laxy taxi drivers!!!! Ask PM to check the condition and services of taxi’s first!!!

• Pakulupapito on Oct 22, 2018 at 11:26 pm

Taxi system should be upgraded. Give them gps based fee system replacing the outdated meter, and please no crony or markup involves. The fee that taxi drivers nees to pay to their respective company also need to be monitored and regulated so it can be competitive with grab and others. Help the taxi driver laa not punishing the grab driver. This is so malaysia, bringing people down just to be ‘fair’. Backward thinking at its best.

• time for taxi to be retrained for something else. Do you see horseman, beca owner, carriage, horse farm complain and meet pm to force new industry to follow old laws and habits, just so they can force others to charge more, for service threat now deemed unnecessary. As humans advance, there are bound to cause some jobs to be obsolete. This is a perfect example. Any taxi driver wants to keep food on the table, retrain by HRDF to something else, electrician, golf caddy, tea lady etc…. there will be what’s left, who will be the premium segment, no need la do proton rubbish, do proper taxi, open market, businessmen will take those from their 5 star hotel to office/ airport. Don’t force others to take taxi, nor force e hailing unto archaic laws which will increase its price ultimately.

In few years, e hailing will complain that self driving cars which drive passengers around are taking their jobs, no money to buy milk powder for baby etc.

• Ren ren on Oct 23, 2018 at 12:49 am

time for taxi to be retrained for something else. Do you see horseman, beca owner, carriage, horse farm complain and meet pm to force new industry to follow old laws and habits, just so they can force others to charge more, for service threat now deemed unnecessary. As humans advance, there are bound to cause some jobs to be obsolete. This is a perfect example. Any taxi driver wants to keep food on the table, retrain by HRDF to something else, electrician, golf caddy, tea lady etc…. there will be what’s left, who will be the premium segment, no need la do proton rubbish, do proper taxi, open market, businessmen will take those from their 5 star hotel to office/ airport. Don’t force others to take taxi, nor force e hailing unto archaic laws which will increase its price ultimately.

In few years, e hailing will complain that self driving cars which drive passengers around are taking their jobs, no money to buy milk powder for baby etc.

• Salim the rakyat on Oct 23, 2018 at 2:13 am

It is not about fair or unfair competition between Taxi and e-hailing service. Clearly, the whole Taxi system and Taxi drivers are outdated products globally, not just in Malaysia. They are not welcome by the people. I repeat, taxi are not welcome by the millions of rakyat, huge majority of people from all walks of life.

So, it is illogical and very unwise for Government to try to force e-hailing service to adopt partially the taxi system and then compete “fairly”. The main point here is NOT about fair competition, it is all about a new popular business model and an old unwelcome old business model.

In fact, Government should force the whole taxi system in Malaysia to adopt e-hailing business model and compete. Then, it will be fair to everyone, especially the huge majority of rakyat.

• Shafii on Oct 23, 2018 at 4:16 am

This issue is knowledgeable to everyone in the taxi industry but couldn’t care less attitudes that makes e hailing companies become arrogant same goes to MOT N JPJ N SPAD .
    They are not bothered being authorities in charge. So blame these jokers for all unnecessary hardship to taxi drivers.
    The minister in charge Anthony Loke also being biased to RULES OF LAW. By right they must be responsible for all the issue raised by taci drivers. So please do not hesitate to enforce the ACTS immediately.
    ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER.

• Part timer on Oct 23, 2018 at 7:02 am

This move by the PH govt. will effectively kill off the majority of the e-hailing driver which makes up the bulk of this service. Retirer and those thinking of making a little more income will be greatly affected, and most likely most of these drivers will no be driving e-hailing. Will this be good for the taxi, yes likely. Will this be good for the general public, still to open to be seen.

• Gonggok on Oct 23, 2018 at 7:29 am

Too many rules. Instead of making grab follow the same conditions as taxi drivers, just abolish all the conditions then its fair for all. Taxis and grab

• Pete chow on Oct 23, 2018 at 8:17 am

It is all abt $ and the level playing field to appease both sides. Changing times require change in attitudes. No more pampering n whinning because of your own doing.competition is here to stay which is healthy for the economy.taxi domination for years have been sitting comfortably and now with the inception of e hailing service they feel threathened.rates gap should be narrowed..i.e 1.pg airport to batu feringhi for taxi is rm75..for grab is rm45. If only taxi bring down to rm65 and grab up to rm55 ..then passengers will not feel the pinch due to the difference.2.allow only big capacity i.e 1.5cc cars with proper luggage compartment to handle pickup from airport.small vehicle like axia viva myvii can only drop passengers to airport.3.check on heavily tinted glass of grab cars…cant even see who is driving.4.proper attire and courtesy to project proffesionalism …no slippers allowed.5.eliminate part timers who have fixed job and income of more than rm5000per mth,or allow them only on holidays or weekends.

• xoxox on Oct 23, 2018 at 8:17 am

please la…improve on the taxi side, not pressure on the grab to match the taxi side. idiots!

• MOHD. FARID APANDI on Oct 23, 2018 at 9:39 am

This is so stupid…

• Bangun on Oct 23, 2018 at 10:42 am

Taxi’s failure was unable to accept change over tech. Everybody feeding child… No job is easy in the world. Stop blame for e hailing as the world was changing fast from time to time. Who ever cannot accept will be disqualified from world.. Ur kid, ur child in near future are facing changes in all kind of job, Oil and gas, engineer, teacher etc etc, all same. Like it or not, u are on the path towards future, not sailing on sea with a small boat whole life.. Geeezz

• Zack7 Jb on Oct 24, 2018 at 8:38 am

Then the gov should make a new meter system for taxi, to make sure the rate become low as same as grab car rate. Much cheaper than before. That can be truly fair for both side. Btw Im a e-hailing user.

• Whatever, I will still stay away from taxis as long as the taxis are old and dirty and the drivers are rude, unscrupulous, unethical and refuse to use the meters!

• If Grab is on same level with taxis then Grab should also be paying the same tol class rate as taxis.

• Grab should pay same TOL rate as taxis also.

• RisingSunkist on Oct 24, 2018 at 11:26 am

This is ludicrous, the proton mentality is still found within the taxi driver’s. When you protect, you look after assets that are beneficial to the rakyat, not liabilities.

If they have time to complain, then they have time to improve. What services you can do for your country, not what your country can do for you. That is what Anthony Tan, Malaysian born, Grab CEO, provided for this country. Step up your game and learn, instead of complaining and being a drama mama.

Abolishment. Why is this word still in our dictionary? What a joke. That is a defeatist attitude; Abolishment is usually a last ditch effort when 1) there is NO way to reinvent /improve 2) NO winning solution to a problem. 3) NO control over the circumstances of a problem aka weather, your birth. You abolish liabilities, not assets.