VIDEO: Sunway Pyramid begins pilot testing of number plate recognition for parking, replaces tickets

Visitors to Sunway Pyramid may soon no longer need to worry about flimsy, easy-to-lose parking tickets, as the shopping mall is testing a new system that scans your number plate instead.

Details remain light at the moment, but the company has released a video showing how a car can simply enter the carpark without having to take a ticket. From the looks of it, the whole process is seamless, with the car not even having to make a complete stop before the boom gate opens.

For now, it remains to be seen if the system requires an app for payment, similar to Touch ‘n Go’s eWallet app for RFID toll payment (tech website SoyaCincau gave the kiplePark app as an example), or if a surcharge would be applied. It also remains to be seen how the system deals with custom number plate designs (which are illegal, by the way).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• John Minum Teh 8X on Nov 27, 2018 at 10:52 am

This is because unlike GLCs and their lazy attitude, Tan Sri Jeffrey Cheah always have vision for the future.

He believes in giving the rakyat good healthcare, good education and now, good technology to scan cars to replace tickets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • kenot on Nov 27, 2018 at 1:08 pm

TnG shud scan nomor plate not RFID.

• anak duta on Nov 27, 2018 at 1:32 pm

3R
      reduce manpower
      reduce maintenance cost
      reduce paper and ink environmental friendly

• hala suria on Nov 27, 2018 at 1:37 pm

His next project will be automated jockey parking system no need to hire car jockeys sub contract out anymore.
      Can he able to do it?

• A car user on Nov 27, 2018 at 4:58 pm

Possible.This is not new.The technology is already available.Just install automated car parking system.The driver will only need to drop off the car at a designated area & the system will automatically move the car for storage somewhere. Very common in cities with very limited land area for parking like Tokyo.

• New Malaysia menu on Nov 27, 2018 at 1:54 pm

Good healthcare but expensip, only for the M40.
      Good education but expensip, only for the M40.
      Good technology but expensip parking to take from the B40 and fund for the benefits of the M40 above.

• stastasta on Nov 28, 2018 at 2:44 pm

of course expensive, sunway group dont receive a single sen or tongkat from taxpayer money. you can choose to go UM hospital , study at uitm, and take taxi or ride motor to sunway.

• lihwoei on Nov 27, 2018 at 10:56 am

how about people using fake plate number?

• Chang Wei Sew on Nov 27, 2018 at 11:07 am

most likely will be enhancement from their sunway pal wallet.

• John Tan on Nov 27, 2018 at 11:13 am

Why can’t T&G toll use this? Why fuss with RFID? If your car is reported stolen, probably it will be red flagged too.

• Optimus on Nov 27, 2018 at 11:14 am

Regular visitors to Sunway knows to park outside. This is just to catch waterfishes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Sunway Regular on Nov 27, 2018 at 1:56 pm

That is a load of rubbish. Sunway regulars (like myself) know that parking outside is way more inconvenient because it is a long way to walk from the nearest possible outdoor “parking”, which are almost always full anyway and therefore the same as looking for parking inside. Stop making idiotic comments if you don’t have anything productive or useful to say.

• Optimus on Nov 27, 2018 at 2:40 pm

Regular visitors like me knows to go early and get parking at the commercial area opposite Sunway. If you late then you can only blame yourself and complain on blogsite. Otherwise, just get your wallet prepared to be ripped off by Tan Sri JC. Don’t blame others for being smarter than you think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • stastasta on Nov 28, 2018 at 2:44 pm

go hours earlier just to save few ringgit ? for some people , time is more valuable than small money.

• Saga & S-Class can hav same number plate.

• Azman Hashim on Nov 27, 2018 at 11:23 am

So many illegal number plates because our PDRM and JPJ kuat makan duit kopi.

So how this system can scan?

• i believe it will tie to ewallet. you mau pakai fake plat, you ambik card.

• tak patut on Nov 27, 2018 at 11:25 am

Stealing a car out from the Mall may seems easier in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • panjang on Nov 27, 2018 at 11:50 am

One thing for sure..
    one cannot have security and convenience sitting together having coffee at one table.

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 27, 2018 at 1:03 pm

Nice. They already have PREMIUM Parkig for nicer cars that prefer to park more exclusive parking to protect their cars from being dented or scratched by careless drivers and passengers, can park and shop with peace of mind

• Ah beng Level 2 on Nov 27, 2018 at 1:06 pm

As a driver of new Vios me prefer visit shopping malls wih WIDE Parking space, or exclusive parking, or those with spaces for trolleys to pass through safely without risking denting cars..Starling Mall and Sunway Pyramid defintely have these features..imagine driving brand new car and after back from shopping to fund yur door dented or scratched

• Subangers on Nov 27, 2018 at 2:23 pm

wow…if they can combine it with video parking guidance much better I think..similar to KLIA1 C&D Parking. May be Paultan can get info for KLIA1 C&D Parking system too..look futuristic

• I hv experienced no-ticket parking in Melbourne this year. The entrance scan my number plate. Before exiting, went to payment booth enter my number plate, system will tell me how to pay. After payment, no ticket also (but can ask for receipt) then just exit. But scanning system has some problem differentiating Zero (0) and “O” for orange. Also One (1) with “I’ for Iceland.

• Actually for Msia number plate, besides diff fonts issue, we don’t have problem of 0 & O (orange) and 1 & I (Iceland), because both O & I alphabet is not used. So by right it should be easier. I think it is a workable system but need users to step up in skills. Uncle & Auntie may struggle initially but they might pick up later.

• Malaysia’s car number plate don’t even have a standard font. What if your phone no battery and your credit is zero? Stuck there forever? This system is stupid.

• stastasta on Nov 28, 2018 at 2:46 pm

if you are that stupid to have both no phone battery and no credit then you are probably too stupid to drive anyway.

• Plate number can be faked and changed. If they charged upon exit, I can at least change my car’s plate number with the new customer’s plate number and get waived on fee as i exited before the first 10 minutes. it can be improved. but overall, this is a good initiative.

• Based on my experience in Australia, they hv scanner to scan the car number plate & store in the Payment Booth, you go there & enter your number plate then it will retrieve your entry time to calculate the parking rate, you pay as per normal, the system will update that your number plate already paid. When you exit, the scanner pick up your number plate & exit bar opened to let you thru. Not sure you use this system or China system. So by right, faked number plate is not in the equation.

• Add A Comment on Nov 28, 2018 at 7:43 am

Ohhh…this looks better and faster than the TnG RFID

• In China, ppl already park and pay using WeChat la…we are still so far behind :(

• Czekeric on Nov 28, 2018 at 12:21 pm

I have personally seen and experienced this technology at many malls in Dubai. About time we catch up with the world’s best!