FIRST DRIVE: Mercedes-Benz S560 Cabriolet, RM1.4m

Malaysia certainly isn’t the best place to drive an open-top car, what with our temperamental weather conditions (hot, humid or rain, with little in between), traffic jams, lovely haze and of course, old smoky trucks lining up our roads. But that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t do so. Quite the opposite, actually.

This is especially so when the car in question is the latest Mercedes-Benz S560 Cabriolet. More boulevardier than a corner carver, it’s perhaps the ultimate drop-top experience you can have. Get lucky with the weather in Malaysia, and it’s an absolute blast.

Sure, you’ll be driving it with the top up for most of the week, but that only makes the one morning or evening that you get to drop the top feel that little bit more precious. So yeah, if haven’t figured it out already, I absolutely adore this car. Enjoy the video!

This video is part one of our Mercedes-Benz Dream Cars drive series – stay tuned for the CLS 450, AMG GT C and E63S soon.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz S 560 Cabriolet

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Carrera Owner on Dec 20, 2018 at 6:55 pm

Bentley Continental GT grand tourer carry more prestige and street cred in that same black hues.

• Benard on Dec 21, 2018 at 7:39 am

The S560 looks exactly like the E-class cabriolet, which costs half of the S560. So what is the point of getting the S560 actually?

• it’s bigger, better suspension, better seats , better interior, better engine, nicer wheels.

it’s actually better everything.

• and bragging rights at golf and country clubs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 21, 2018 at 10:23 am

what bragging rights? that u cannot afford the s600? s63? s65? hahahaha

• topkek on Dec 21, 2018 at 10:24 am

Even in the morning too hot get the top off, when afernoon hujan pulak

• It is luxurious until bird’s poop lands on the driver’s head

• john is otak batu on Dec 20, 2018 at 11:07 pm

RM 1.4 mil worth of metal???!!!
    Crazy price only at Bolehland!
    Anyway, someone’s taste is different than other???!!!

• Better spent RM 1.4 mil on One Semi-D at Setiawangsa + Civic TypeR + X70 premium

• Korean Fan on Dec 21, 2018 at 1:15 am

Talk to an Ah Soh… what????? 1.3 million for a car without a roof?

• Mesidis dream cars is Maybach & AMG

• jackchaivoonchoon on Dec 21, 2018 at 1:09 pm

This maseli is on par with my bmw z5 quad turbo 8 pot brimbo brake in term of aesthetic.

• Sonyman on Dec 21, 2018 at 2:47 pm

Dam…. I really hate my job. Hafriz Shah is having a dream job.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 21, 2018 at 3:27 pm

Wah, Hafriz lookin’ sharp macam Latok in that suit.

Bro, wear that when you review your new X70.