Malaysian motorcycles to be confined to left lane?

A proposal has been forwarded by a Whatsapp based group called Safety First to transport minister Anthony Loke for motorcycles on Malaysian roads to be restricted to the left most lane. The 500 member group said the ban on riders using the middle and right lanes was to reduce fatalities amongst motorcyclists and for their own safety, Bernama reported.

Additionally, road safety department director-general Rosli Isa said the department is considering limiting the speed of motorcycles 150 cc and below to 70 km/h on the basis the cause for most fatal road accidents is speed. Rosli said, from department statistics, out of 6,742 fatal road accidents in 2018, 60% involved motorcyclists and pillion riders.

However, Loke has come out to say while he is aware of the proposal, it will have to be reviewed. “If we want to reduce fatal accidents we definitely have to reduce motorcycle fatalities … we are open to suggestions but we need to evaluate its implementation. We can always agree to the proposal but most importantly how are we going to enforce it?” he said in a The Malay Mail report.

The transport ministry has not made any decision on the proposal as yet, Loke said. He added he was aware weak enforcement has contributed to a rise in road accidents and that enforcement and existing regulations would be tightened.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• U so free ah? on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:19 am

Proposal yang amat bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 118
    • Safety First on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:24 am

Agreed! Going by their logic, why not limit all cars with 1.5L below to not more than 90kmph, and 1.6-2.0L to not more than 110kmph, anything above is unlimited becos they can pay the speeding fines.
      Also set buses and lorries, maxed at 90kmph. So all cars 1.5L below must be confined to using lorry and bus lanes. How about that, director?

Think “safety first” must use brain matter. Obviously they skipped that part when coming out with this idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 46
      • Vellu on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:30 pm

Please ban all motorbike entering highway…. Or ask them to pay toll… Worldwide no motorbike can go highway…. Only in Malaysia…. I do agree on ban small bike such as 150cc and below…. Only 200cc above production available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 54
        • Darren on Jan 14, 2019 at 4:59 pm

“Worldwide no motorbike can go highway”
          Then please explain how come motorbikes can get to Sydney CBD via Harbour bridge if “no motorbike can go on highway”? This is hilarious!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
          • Nordin on Jan 15, 2019 at 11:10 am

Yes. If “Worldwide no motorbike can go highway” is true, how come on Germany’s autobahns motorcyles are allowed?

• Samy Vellu on Jan 14, 2019 at 8:10 pm

Katak dibawah tempurung punya cadangan.

• Brahma kashmir stone on Jan 15, 2019 at 2:52 pm

I have work in usa and europe. Your statement is not true and rubbish. The difference is that malaysian car driver drive likeidiot.

• from which world are you from that motorbike can’t use highway?

• YB kunta kinte on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Better for dangerous Perodua cars to be confined to left lane instead of motorcyclea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • Syamsul on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Kaji kaji dulu…

https://paultan.org/2017/01/17/minister-kl-kapchai-ban-requires-proper-research/

• pengayuhbasikal on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:38 am

Mat delivery McD, Dominos pulak plotes. hahah

• Anana on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:00 am

Puak2 yg pakai kereta rasa proposal ni bodoh jugak. Patut ban terus motor 150cc, lagi patut kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • YB Albert on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:32 am

Bodoh?The next victim may be yr friends or loved ones.The other day,I saw a horrible accident.The kapchai trying to overtake a trailer in middle lane.The lifeless body was causing a huge jam.Nowadays,it just take a.mistake from any road vehicle to cause fatal accident s.Better confine them whatever great their cc to left lane like buses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 19
    • Linden on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:24 pm

BEST PROPOSAL OF ALL TIMES

FULLY SUPPORT 100% TO BAN ALL THE MOTORCYCLES USING HIGHWAYS AS WELL IN THE BIG CITIES ROADS JUST LIKE WHAT IS BEING PRACTISE IN

1) USA
      2) UK
      3) CANADA
      4) AUSTRALIA AND NEW ZEALAND

SO ROAD FATALITIES AMONG MOTORCYCLIST ARE VERY RARE

ONLY NASI LEMAK ALWAYS WANT TO RIDE MOTORCYCLES IN THE MIDDLE AND RIGHT LANE OF THE HIGHWAYS ENDANGERING OTHER MOTORISTS ALWAYS.

SALUTE TO TRANSPORT MINISTER !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 51
      • Unknown on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:43 pm

Wow what a frog inside the well, speaking about FIRST WORLD COUNTRIES. Do u know that USA, Canada, & Australia is a huge market for touring bikes? And that UK is a huge market for mopeds? If they were banned from the highways, there wouldn’t be a huge market for these motorbikes.

Some of us readers have been to all these countries, you know. So who your trying to fool here?

• What do u mean by “only nasi lemak..”?? Are trying to be racist??

• Manden on Jan 15, 2019 at 10:31 am

Tin kosong talks, clearly u never been to above countries..

• Nordin on Jan 15, 2019 at 11:15 am

Hello. I’ve been to USA, UK and Australia. Motorcycles are NOT banned on highways, freeways and motorways. In Germany, lots of motorcycles on the autobahns.

• Malaysian vs. signal stalk on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:11 pm

Banning and restricting this and that are not very smart ideas to solve our problem. You can see in this comments section here that almost everyone plays the blame game, it’s always the other guy’s faults and never own faults, when actually many Malaysians have a common brain disease in which their brain cannot process the logic and necessity of using signal indicators either when making a turn or changing lane. They can drink, eat, smoke, talk on the phone, take selfie and even text while driving but they cannot fathom the concept and purpose of signal indicators. They may have a degree, masters, or even PhD but this is the only concept their brain fails to understand. Oh Malaysiaku. Malaysia baru but attitude is not baru, still the old same selfish attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Shirley on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:38 pm

There is a saying enough is enough.

Time to put some culture and civic conscience to motorcyclists mentalities.

• Fareed on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:23 pm

Proposal Yang paling Cerdik Dan Bagus sekali !!

• agreed but with condition applied to only below 150cc.
    dosent make sense if you ride a 1000cc on the left lane together with the below 150cc. more dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
    • Sohai on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:05 am

both 150cc ride the same speed 110kmh, Tgere are pipeline ridibg at the left not blocking each others, so where the dangerous come from…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:38 am

like this myvi cannot drive at fast lane also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • YB Albert on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:37 am

Nowadays,these bikers bang yr car with their fist if you change from fast lane to middle lane in a jam
      .They control the 3 lanes!!!These r morons using roads to show they r Tai Kors.Normally car drivers just give in,to avoid confrontation,YB Anthony.High time to ban them from middle n fast lanes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 17
    • Lingam on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Why dangerous? Confine all of them to left lane. It’s for their safety. Not for showing off that they have big bikes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Gti owner on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:24 am

My question is : does the motorcyclist will follow? Some highway which have motorlane their also not border to use….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • thepolygon on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:08 am

That’s why it’s better to do away with the motor lane and have a 5 lane federal highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:43 am

some motorcyclists here complain drivers on highway too fast….but as far as im concerned federal highway is 80 km/h and some of the motorcyclists are going way beyond that…. u slow a bit…they “peet” you then scold u lagi, want change lane smoothly also cannot, whenever the opportunity comes, comes a random motorcyclist flying and they just zig zag like a stray bullet

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
      • YB Albert on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:52 pm

YEM I see,
        You r damn damn damn correct.
        These bikers overtake u without warning.Sometimes,they brake suddenly causing cars to avoid them n, bang!!!
        Some of them show vulgar and threatening signs,when they hog the fast lanes.
        maybe YB Anthony is chauferred driven.He cant be bothered. But common rakyat suffer in silence cos of these bikers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Mr. Octopus on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:27 am

Great idea! Confine them to the same lanes that you confined the big trucks and buses to… soon motorcyclists will be extinct!

Who the heck are those ‘Safety First’ group? Are there even any motorcyclists in there??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
  • newme on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:28 am

What proposal are you talking about when bike still roaming on car lanes in Federal Highway? Current rules also cannot enforce, ada hati to talk about new regulation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • thepolygon on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:10 am

A more realistic suggestion would be to do away with the motorcycle lane and have a 5 lane federal highway.

• Mr. Octopus on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:04 pm

You try riding on fereal highway bike lane first before commenting like this. It’s a freaking death trap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • newme on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:20 pm

You should try driving on Fed Highway and see how the bikes behave too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Darren on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:03 pm

You all should try to be both. I read what john mentioned below and he was right. It’s both car drivers and motorcyclists recklessness and selfish attitudes that causes accidents. Both sides think they have the higher ground to condemn the other, but never realised both sides have faults. This is why Malaysia will never solve this problem.

• newme on Jan 15, 2019 at 2:53 pm

When some idiotic drivers drove on an emergency lane during traffic jam, we see bikers kicking the cars side mirror… kononnya vigilante. Now they ride on the car lanes illegally but macam2 alasan diberi.
          Don’t be a hypocrite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Ryder on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Be a biker first,then comment.

• JERRY on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:32 am

Heavy vehicle or passenger car breakdown occur, confine to right lane?

• U-Tun on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:37 am

They can use whatever lane they want. Just pay toll like other road users

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 13
  • Then what happens if come across selow moving lorries? Overtake at middle lane terus kena saman? Another Loki scam(I mean scheme) to make money kah?

In first world countries, motors have right to use any lanes, as long they keep to distance and speed limits. Motors now have much more power to weight ratio compared to cars so its foolish to ban motors from other lanes.

If Loki had use brains, then he wud better to ban filtering between the lanes. Most motor eksidens is due to motors going between lanes and into vehicles blindspot when they do sudden lane changes.

Which makes another thing that Loki shud have thought, he shud ban sudden lane changes, esp without signalling. No filtering and no sudden changes will greatly reduce eksiden.

Why din he think of that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 30
    • Safety First on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:27 am

Agreed on this point too! Speed doesn’t kill, it’s recklessness and selfish attitudes by both motorists & motors which causes accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • someone on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:35 am

ya… as long as they keep their ‘distance’ rite? but do they??? there are times even when there is less than one bike space left in between cars, yet they try to squeeze in between, thinking that cars are obliged to let them through. And when cars doesn’t have enough space to maneuver, the motorcyclist kicks the side mirror of the car.
      Not to mention also the times when they zig-zag in between cars. its so dangerous! car drivers will have to suddenly step on the brakes just to ensure they don’t bang on those silly motorcyclist! and with the ripple effect, it will cause jam along the way when the cars at the back started braking suddenly too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Damon Lee on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:32 pm

The point john is trying to make; it’s not as simple as limiting motorcyclists to the left lane or limiting their speeds. There are more indepth reasons and what I can see is Loke’s solution is too simplistic and not really solving the problem.

Tacking on more laws they eventually will have problems to enforce is not the way, better education is the solution coupled with enforcement of current laws. He would have known this if he stop to think, but apparently Ministers in Pakatan are not paid to think but to talk.

• someone on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:18 pm

I think to say that they dont think is a bit unfair. Probably they did think, and have considered a few options, and all options have their pros and cons. And when they finally decided on this decision, perhaps it is the only options with pros more than cons. If you look at it generally, it does make sense to expect motorcycles to be on the left side of the road.

• Damon Lee on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:49 pm

Expectations and mandatory by law is 2 different things. Expectations is educating them to stick to the left but having the flexibility to merge into the middle lane when it’s not feasible (car or lorry breakdown). Mandatory means if they stray into middle lane for whatever reasons, they are guilty. There are no pros to this shortsighted thinking.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:56 pm

We are not first world becaus efor 60 years, our country was riddled with corruption and we could not become first world.

But now, we are on our way to become first world because we got a clean Government

• Whereabout in the article does it say that Loke agrees with this proposal?

It actually states……”However, Loke has come out to say while he is aware of the proposal, it will have to be reviewed. “If we want to reduce fatal accidents we definitely have to reduce motorcycle fatalities … we are open to suggestions but we need to evaluate its implementation”.

Take the BN blinkers off.

• I’m sorry but where did John mentioned about BN? In the first place, if this idea had no merit why the Transport Minister would entertain a WhatsApp message with 500 members only? So free nothing to do is it? My housing area WhatApp group has more than 500 members, so should Housing Minister heed our grouses and make public that he is “reviewing it”?

Sorry, but if Loke has so much free time to consider this and that, perhaps he should be more efficient and carry another portfolio or do his real job properly. The roads are getting terrible, the traffic is worse with more highway constructions thanks to return of Father of Tolled Highways, and most importantly, solve the root of the issues which is education of the road users and better enforcement. Enforcement means having presence on the roads, not just fining people. That’s just looking for money.

Once you removed that PH bias, you will see the merits of what John said. He was spot on with his points.

• Damon Lee on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:54 pm

haha. You have a point there, Jack. Too bad Pakatan diehards can’t see this right in front of their faces.

• Daniel on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:40 pm

You wanna solve jam problem? Ban cars carrying only the driver from entering KL during peak hours. If motorcyclist are banned from the roads, they will end up driving & road become EVEN MORE congested with cars carrying only the driver. Dulu u sekolah mana?

• LRT User on Jan 15, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Solving jam problems is a very obvious solution, increase public transports infra. But what did our jooly PH gomen do? They cancelled MRT3 and downscaled LRT3. So are they trying to solve jam problems, a big fat NO!!!

• James on Jan 14, 2019 at 7:04 pm

Which part of this article says that Loke is proposing anything. Doesn’t it say it is under review? What are you accusing him off.

• Damon Lee on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:52 pm

Read Pakatan language, son.
        Review of National Car Project. Suddenly it’s ON.
        Review of Crooked Bridge. Suddenly it’s ON.
        Review of state wide racing tracks. Suddenly it’s ON.

I think it’s not a stretch of anyone’s imagination if this review is suddenly ON!

• Sparcov on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:38 am

Our Mat rempitss are all law abiding citizens ,

• the driver on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:43 am

In the absence of quality motorcycle lanes, the only alternative is education and training but our motorcycle training for licences is inadequate. The root of the problem is much bigger and far more complicated than it looks, however the symptoms manifest in dangerous behaviour like highway racing / showboating, slip streaming between cars, weaving in traffic, beating traffic lights, riding against traffic, etc.
    Though some reasons related to the root of the problem are boredom, lack of facilities near their homes to play sports, etc. Parental guidance is absent also. Career guidance would help to channel their skills in a more meaningful manner.

• Good idea, let’s limit them to the same lane as all the other heavy vehicles like lorries and busses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Safety 1st on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:03 am

To be fair motorbike with 200cc and above starts paying roadtax like kancil already, they have rights to use the road too. The problem now is some of motorcylist that weaving in and out of lanes and speeding between cars which not only endanger his life but also other road users. This act also is consider rude since they are intruding other road user space and right of use. So let be more courteuos on the road no matter you drivr a car lorry or bike.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • Ex rempit on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:09 am

No need.. Just let them use any lanes and pay toll for car lanes

• willie on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:12 am

just like any automobile, its all about the driver/rider etiquette, responsibility.

• Leonardo on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:17 am

In principle I agree to the proposal, as many slower bikes are still zig zagging across the traffic on our highways.
    But even bikes are restricted on the slower left lanes, like in Vietnam (whose slowest lane is on the right), there could be other hazards like breakdown vehicles, road repairs, detours, etc.
    And yes, enforcement is an issue…Is it the Traffic Police, JPJ, SPAD, or all of the above.
    Just to highlight the urgency and seriousness of this issue, one of our staff was killed just last Friday when he was going to work. He ran into a car that stopped on the emergency lane. And last year another colleague of ours, was swiped by car while going back from work was also killed riding a bike.
    So this is something the Transport Ministry must not dwell for too long and take action very quickly.

• encik boss on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:29 am

My NMAX is 155cc. so no need to abide 70km/h. full throttle all the way, yaw!

• We often seen motorcyclist riding without helmet on , bidding the traffic lights , riding against the traffic , its like no law at all .. do you think they will follow ?

• Ben yap on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:35 am

70kmph speed limit is too slow. it takes almost 5 hours to go to penang and 8 hours to get to kedah.

those riding bike to go back kampung will suffer.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:41 am

motorcyclist to me, need to be more aware of their own safety. u nak ride fast can, but make sure ure in control of your own bike and not put other people in danger.

review the idiotic car insurance policies of malaysia also, motorcyclist whatsapping while riding not paying attention bang into my friends car and the motorcyclist flew over and broke his neck. tapi, guess what happen? salah my friend salah….and go court lagi…. apa ini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • loke become joke

• Anonymous on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:02 am

This proposal is too simplistic in nature. Other than state n rural roads… motorcyclists use the highways and expressways. Each has different challenges and approach to riders. The proposal needs to be more comprehensive and specific. If 60% of all accidents involve motorcyclists with speed as the contributing factor… it cannot be just speed and for what capacity motorcycles…? Break it down to bikes below 250cc and above 250cc bikes. Lets see the real numbers.

If ALL motorcyclists to be ridden on the left most lane on a highway at 70kmh (?! which is ridiculous anyway where the expressway is concerned.. since 125cc bikes nowadays can reach to 100kmh and above)… what about the lorries, busses and other heavy vehicles…? What about when there’s a breakdown by the left side of the road…?

Right now, most smaller capacity bikes do ride on the left most lanes at the expressways. The bigger bikes ride thru all the lanes depending on their speed.

• Agree on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:36 am

Should imply this long time ago. Stop motorcyclist to zigzag across car lane and speeding between car when traffic jam.Enforcement is the critical issue.

• Suzuki san on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:56 am

Strict enforcement not done by authorities ,sekarang tangkap sekejap lepas.This contribute to more mat rempit on the road.

• KW Tay on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:19 pm

Should set 21years as minimum age for bikers on the highways. The immatured teenagers are the ones doing stunts and riding dangerously in groups, hogging lanes on the highways or zigzagging across lanes.

• If they are not reckless enough to make a wrong vote, why condemn them as if they will be reckless while riding?

• EDITOR on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:38 pm

I would really love to hear Mohan’s personal opinion on being limited to riding a big touring bike at 70 km/h on the left lane.

• Jonathan Tan on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:39 pm

As a motorbike, riding on the left side of the road is agreeable. Id urge the transport ministry to increase rd tax and double the insurance premiums for bikes ABOVE 100cc.
    This can then force more people to buy lower cc bikes and create a local industry to produce low cc motor vehicles for urban transportation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Alvin on Jan 14, 2019 at 12:46 pm

please make sure ABS on motorcycles as mandatory as well.

• Whatever new rules introduced, strict and continuous enforment is the key. If strict enforcement is carry out on existing rules, I believe accident rate will reduce a lot. No enforcement, no one will bother about the new rules

• as a motorclist, driver, and cyclist on the road, i would say this wont reduce much. we are weak when it comes to enforcing. our car driver are still playing with phones, changing lanes and cut queu. what makes u think car driver wont hog the left lane if even bicycle blue lane and emergency lane is being hog?
    start from the root cause. what we learn from driving school are basically useless apart from doing side parking and hill brake. why dont we change mindset and teaching method of driving school first?

• Motorcycle should pay toll in highways. then will realize. Now free rides for them, when they can afford luxury bikes, why not pay toll. Moreover want to claim the fast lane using for free.

• Agree, the route cause of problems such as speeding, accidents, car-bike finger pointing wars cant be solved by just coming up with certain rules or regulation alone.. We Malaysians are fast losing the affable and tolerant nature we used to have. We take advantage (rob) of other’s good nature and naturally ppl stop being good and here we are, a Malaysia full of intolerant and sarcastic drivers / riders on the road.. Cars dont give space and time to bikers, bikers smashes side mirror of cars, car ziz-zac racing to c who is better, bike ridden slow on the fast lane and ‘bikin dek’, cars using the emergency lane to skip the traffic Q and a bunch of other examples yet to be listed down.. My only suggestion to resolve this issue is, every individual adhere to the existing traffic rules and regulation. That’s more that enough to reduce the numbers of avoidable accident on the Malaysian soil..

• Hamadan on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:22 pm

PH will do their usual u-turn once the rempits show their displeasure…

• MengkuduMasam on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:25 pm

those who propose , clearly is not a bikers.

try riding bike at 70kmh or less and let trailer pass u on ur right side. Then u know what is like of being motorcyclist

• Sohai (not ori) on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:38 pm

Pls limit all Myvi to the slow lane for safety of all motorist

• Anana on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:38 pm

I propose if car gets an accident with a motorcycle in highway, motorcyclist will be held liable for all damages, injuries and loss of life incurred.

• RealMotorX on Jan 14, 2019 at 1:43 pm

As usual blame motorcyclist because the accident victim already die so cannot defend himself. Car drivers would not admit they hit motorcycles because the stupid drivers are busy reading their facebook or texting on their phones while driving. Smart phone stupid user. Like blind man driving. Why don’t activate all road cameras to catch these idiots?

• Pete Santana on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:22 pm

Yes, I agree and vote for the proposal. Motorcycles (far left lane), Heavy Vehicles above 1tan also propose to use left lane especially on federal roads. One more thing that I wish to be propose is to employ some traffic policemen at traffic light junction especially at peak hours everyday not only at particular days.

• Perhaps it’s the locations I drive around in, but I actually think the habits of many motorbike riders are actually getting worse.

To many, red lights mean nothing as they sail through intersections. So many ways they continually break the traffic rules and appear to not be in the least bit concerned.

This is not only limited to bike riders, as many motorists are just as bad and have no respect for their driver’s licence.

It really is time to increase the traffic police and set them up with unmarked cars to catch these muppets.

• Copy Paste on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:59 pm

Copy paste: “Enforcement means having presence on the roads, not just fining people. That’s just looking for money.”

• Aniki Tan on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:31 pm

good move, especially how they hovering over 50km/h through the middle of 2 lanes during traffic jam and horn car from changing lane, we should learn from Australia rules.

• Ur mum on Jan 17, 2019 at 1:42 am

Maybe if u lot actually checked your mirrors or turn on your signal for more than half a second
      I would say the riders 9 out of 10 times would have zero problems with you. IT IS A FACT KNOWN TO MALAYSIANS YALL DONT KNOW HOW TO DRIVE SAFELY AND BLAME OTHERS FOR YOUR SHITTY MISTAKES

• azrai on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:45 pm

It is actually an idea from Bernama chairman Datuk Seri Azman Ujang. He really advocates motorcyclist safety in our contry. I see personally, in Malaysia there are 2 types of people who really selfish and thinking only about themselves (or not even thinking of themselves). 1st, smokers. 2nd, kapcai motorcyclist. Let’s be frank and honest. Zigzagging, beating the red light, giving no signals, speeding, parking all over the pavement, car parking lot, in front of staircase,etc…the list goes on.

• Thurai on Jan 14, 2019 at 2:49 pm

Unless motorcyclists are made to ride only on the far left lane there’s no way fatalities Could be reduced.

• Qomar Al Zaman on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Saya tidak setuju dgn cadangan tersebut. Ianya mungkin sesuai bagi motosikal berenjin kapasiti kecil 160 CC ke bawah. Agi motosikal besar, kelajuan rendah boleh menyebabkan enjin motosikal rosak. Selain itu juga ianya tidak adil kepada pemilik motosikal berkuasa tinggi kerana cukai jalan bagi motosikal 500 CC dan keatas adalah RM 350 berbandingkan sebiah kereta 1600 CC yg hanya perlu membayar cukai jalan sebanyak RM 90.

• gonsungar on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:24 pm

Imo better just ban lane filtering than just confine bikes to the left lane. even 10++ wheller goes beyond 100kmh

• Frequent road user. on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:28 pm

How does say yes or no based on so little information over a complex issue like this, ie “Too many people dying on the road, speed too fast, let’s bar motorcyclists from the right lane.” Really? This is how decisions are made by our lawmakers?

Involve the stakeholders, have relevant teams carry out some research. Lay down the results and recommendations, then we debate.

Without sufficient facts to work with, car drivers would surely accuse bikers, and bikers would surely blame cars and truck drivers, and so on. Who’s right depends on whose voice louder.

I have license for over 30 years, own a sedan, a light truck, a 700cc bike, and a 125cc bike, and I can’t even tell you the best answer to the problem above. It’s sometimes the car, sometimes the bike, sometimes the road, sometimes the weather, and sometimes just pure bad luck. So please get some experts to recommend, and by that I don’t mean the minister.

• Zamri on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:40 pm

All riders will swap to cars and contribute to more traffic jams. Bravo.

• Simon Yee on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:47 pm

Some of those modified kapchai that sound louder that usual should be banned from the road.

• Centurion on Jan 14, 2019 at 3:51 pm

Ask this so called “Safety First group” to go & urge the Kementerian Kerja Raya & local council to fix those problematics roads first, reduce pothole road, & also get them to install brighter lights along the main roads, as along these time they seems to be very neglected to put these problems as one of the main reasons which causes accidents on the road

• More dangerous and likely to b hit by lorry and bus unless you limit lorry and bus to middle lane and cars to fast lane

• panjang on Jan 14, 2019 at 4:35 pm

I ride and drives when i ride, there will be drivers giving ways when i am trying to squeeze in jam.there are also drivers changing lane without warning. Even big bike rider will allow me to cilok first as they know i am smaller and can squeeze easier pass most gap.
    When i drives, i will give space to bikers in jam. There r other bikers cilok dangerously.There will be cars jumping que which causes other drivers and riders angry as they will block the road.

My point is its all down to the driver & rider attitude and understanding to each other.

Gomen should go back to road manner & rules 101….enforcement is key. Everyday i saw cars & bike jumping que, beating red light, not wearing seatbelt or helmet, using mobile phone….where is the enforcement in this?

• John L. on Jan 14, 2019 at 4:37 pm

Speed limit of 110 also break lah.
    Root problem is the authority never take serious action towards offenders, especially those “rich” people who who think money can solve everything and disregard all traffic laws.
    The law must be amended and action taken regardless the social status of those offenders.
    If not, any kind of rules also useless.

• Kriss Tidak Bersarung on Jan 14, 2019 at 4:39 pm

1. Ban and scraps all below 150cc bike and reduce or abolish tax on imported 250cc and above. Better give rakyat affordable high-tech superbike so that we can ride safely.
    2. Limit all lorries and buses speed to 60km/h only. There are a lot of irresponsible lorries and buses drivers out there.
    3. Limit 3000cc and below cars speed to 100km\h.
    By implement all these all superbikers can sprung their bike all time on right lane. Yahoo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Ollie on Jan 14, 2019 at 4:46 pm

As I’ve said before, Malaysian road users live in their deluded denial alternate reality. The stats speak for itself – road death is the 3/4th highest cause of death in Malaysia, after heart disease and higher than cancer. Among the highest in the world. But Malaysians think they are the best drivers. If you don’t understand that the right lane is meant for overtaking, not for motorcyclists, and lane-splitting at the right and overtaking lane is stupidly life-threatening, your licence should be revoked – basically 99% of Malaysian road users don’t get it.

• farid on Jan 14, 2019 at 4:54 pm

easiest way to enforce is abolish speed limit on every major hiway in malaysia..and for those who are using those road no insurance coverage what so ever..simple..people tend to move in opposite direction when they are being told to move the other way..this mentality has been forever in malaysia so why not capitalised in it..

• Unknown on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Speed never kills anyone. People suddenly going stationary, that’s what kills people.

– Jeremy Clarkson –

• jerrious on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Nice now going to Melaka from Seremban would take more than an hour. An even better, from KL to Melaka would take more than two. Its not even speed is the reason of these deaths. The ministry should look further into this problem and find a way to solve it. Not all of us are bad bikers and drivers. I ride a bike personally, and ive never even been above 100kmh.

• Lets See on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Your comments makes the most sense but too bad its relegated to the bottom of the comments section. Many above are by motorists with holier than thou attitudes towards motors, never look into the mirror and see their own argument fallacies and their own ugly attitudes on the road.

• rmsdam on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:21 pm

70km/h…a good punch line fr vip yaiwww…but if it sound on maharaja lawak stages …wll b branded..lawak bodo..sapa la punya proposal bingai tu…akalnya nk kutip saman la tu…

• Well, someone here did mention Pakatan ministers are Raja Lawaks. I can clearly see why now.

• This limit must also apply to lorry and trucks carrying excess load. They use the right lane like nobodys business and even race amongst them like track day. Their safety precautions are dismal and appaling. Once accidents happen.. The drivers will run off scot free and leave a trail of dead bodies.. Cars… Motorbike etc for behind for the govt to clean up. Why no authorities have come up with a concrete deterrant plan..i have no idea. Are we so happy with their tax payment.. We forget lives of many?

• Pariah Dog on Jan 14, 2019 at 5:58 pm

We need a change in mentality. Those idiotic motorbikers especially the delivery guys should be severely punished for speeding, running the red lights etc etc. No point implementing this rule, it’s just not going to work with these pariah dogs. They think they are undying and above the law.

• casual rider on Jan 14, 2019 at 6:13 pm

one thing cannot be denied, motorcycles reduce traffic jam esp if you’re using federal highway on daily basis

• Matmot on Jan 14, 2019 at 6:17 pm

Whos break the rules, will be called as matrempit or samseng jalanan

• What about those motorcyclists who always look to the Left and Right ,then dash across RED LIGHTS. Be called ?

A) SAKAI
      B) DUMB ASS
      C) ORANG JAKUN
      D) SI BODOH
      E) ANJING GILA

Answer: A or B or C or D or E.

• Ollie on Jan 14, 2019 at 6:51 pm

I wonder how old you are, but based on your understanding of bike riding, I’d say you are due for a fatal accident and become part of the statistics together with the 6,000 motorcycle deaths annually in Malaysia. Good luck.

• S.Ibrahim on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:05 pm

Being better protect in your car doesn’t give you a higher right in using the road compared to motorcyclists.

• A road user on Jan 14, 2019 at 8:48 pm

Improve public transport & limit the use of motorcycles in areas where good & efficient public transport systems are available.It can also help to reduce crime as criminals normally use motorcycles for fast getaway and they are also much easier to steal and to get rid of after committing a crime.Developed countries do not have so many motorcycles on the roads, especially those kapchai.There are also many motorcycle users who disregard traffic rules & cause accidents & endanger the lives of other road users.

• Biker to the core on Jan 16, 2019 at 1:25 pm

Disagree with your opinion to improve public transportation & same time limit motorcycles in these areas.. Come-on, should limit use of public vehicle usage as a whole, not bikes oni.. Also ur statement develop countries have less motorcycles is an impartial opinion, the usage of private vehicles are low as a whole in develop countries (only some by the way) when the public facilities are sufficient & efficient..

• I am mostly a car driver but used to ride daily many years ago and still a Full B rider at heart. The main problem is with both sides of Malaysian motorist don’t understand each other’s perspective.

In major countries motorcyclist are entitled to a one car space on roads and most car drivers understand this and won’t encroach the biker space. Overseas car drivers will signal for a few secs before turning a junction or changing lanes giving more time for bikers to take evasive action in advance.

Unfortunately in Malaysia some motorist are selfish and don’t have respect to other drivers especially during traffic jams example merging after toll and forcing their way during merging or not giving way to other car to change lanes. Also there are cases of drivers taking extreme advantage to cut queues, merging at the last minute and expecting others to give way immediately. These are the major contributors to traffic jams and accidents with motorcyclist. These type of drivers will jostle and change lanes all the times thus endangering bikers filtering traffic.

Lane filtering(driving in between two car lanes) occurs mostly during traffic jams and are allowed in most part of the world cities and car drivers don’t simply change lanes at will. On the other hand there are slow drivers hogging the fast lane and these are the worst kind. To me I don’t have problem people driving fast or riding on the fast lane but seeing a slow hog car or lorry on the fast lane is the worst problem. In fact I think 140km max cruising is just nice for our fast lane highways.

• Gixxeer on Autobhan on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:19 am

Exactly true bro, overseas whereby bikes & cars have equal space for states where bikes are banned from filtering.. Here in Malaysia, the proposal was to make bikes ride on left. But the proposal ignores the fact that riding on left means riding seriously at the edge of the road, not that entire lane. Buses, lorries, cars will also be on the lane and squeeze bikes to the far left.. In other words this is also filtering, filtering between vehicles and road barrier / emergency lane.. Such a nonsensical proposal.. Biker gets sandwiched by moving & stagnant objects – Mass massacre of bikers then…

• Seven on Jan 14, 2019 at 9:36 pm

Dumbass proposal, most ppl who come up with ideas n proposals like this are not bike riders or have even riden a bike for that matter. Believe me when i say the main culprits who cause accidents are women drivers,whom are oblivious n ignorant. Get them to drive on the left……ok to be fair,maybe the smaller cc bikes can be submitted to riding on the left lane but thats it…….

• Then Loke pls reduce our superbike roadtax to RM3 lor instead of RM380 and insured RM200 a year instead of RM2000 a year..byr roadtax rm70 setahun lagi mau bising..

• why talk about bikes when silly car drivers also cannot distinguished right is for overtaking lane and stay on left lane if not overtaking…. expect bike pulak know how to differentiate fast and slow lanes… :p

• Rafa Said on Jan 14, 2019 at 10:25 pm

Whatever your suggestions are please consider the well beings of our fellow citizens. They need their jobs too. I mean like our friends in the funeral undertaking business, forensic personnel, traffic police, hospital staff especially the surgeons and post-mortem department! Thank you.

• Not your mom on Jan 14, 2019 at 11:36 pm

Stupid as f***…go drive on your own la cb minister and see with your own god-gifted eyes and tell all that bus and lorries to use left lane only la…always blaming motorcyclist and asking why why why and how to reduce accident…and all drivers that use phone while driving just kill em please they don’t deserve to be on the road.

• Om Shanti Om on Jan 15, 2019 at 10:53 am

Chill bro, majority ppl on the roads especially dense areas drives or rides in such manner.. Who to blame, isit the culture? How did the culture became such at the first place? Sell more personal ownership vehicles, never ending road updrade works with shitty quality, force them to take tolled roads to so called save time, and then this tolled road aso jam like hell, blame the ppl for not taking the pathetic public transportation (which in fact packed like sardines during peak hours), last mile connectivity rarely exist, even if it exist then the property price sky rocket,take taxi kena pay so much, thus then continue to market/promote new vehicles with low interest rates and made everyone think a vehicle is a necessity, convenience, safe at a saving.. All this vehicles on the road now, jam packed like hell. wan go near by grocery stall we drive or ride.. wan walk not safe, take taxi over charged, recently grab (good alternative, at the expense of jobless ppl with private vehicle ownership). that how our live goes on.. make a change, already make during election. any change ?? wait n wait…

• Banning or limiting anything is not going to help. Because always nobody care and selfish road usage mentality in malaysia. Not to blame motorbike, lorry, bus or car, but the road user attitude. New malaysian should have more education on road safety and respect. Also road infrastructure must make safe for all. We have many life to spare, please love all the road users and dont discriminate or condemned anyone.

• Lim fit siang on Jan 15, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Loke ideas is rubbish
    Prepare to lose million votes from motocycle user in next GE.

• Yeeyow on Jan 15, 2019 at 4:40 pm

The minute you are behind the wheels or on a motorcycle, your life is at risk, so don’t just blame anyone cos such proposal just won’t help.

• Dee Onn on Jan 16, 2019 at 10:09 pm

it’s not the bike, car, bus OR lorries…
    it’s all human faults…
    individual negative characters when ’em on the road & behind the wheels…

• Motorcyclist who uses highways on Jan 17, 2019 at 1:34 am

Dumb one sided idea.

Lane filtering and the use of higways for bikes should be kept legal. Its not problematic if drivers practice these simple yet what seems to be impossible task for Malaysians

1: not driving while distracted (phones etc)
    2:actually give a damn about their blindspots and check them
    3:change lanes like normal and not like Lewis Hamilton
    4: signal>mirrors>execute not signal for half a second and bomb thourgh 3 lanes like their uncles freeway.
    5.dont ride the bumpers or fenders of other motorist. Swear you all want to kill people on purpose
    6.stay in the middle of the lane and not ride the white lines giving people who lane filter a easier time to filter smoothly. Honestly y do you think we need to cilok its because you block us.

Actually do research or try to ride a bike on a highway to see how cars/lorrys drive first before you blurt these BS statements

Btw i dont agree with the actions of the Mat Rempits

Its unfair to throw anyone who rides a bike under the same bus

• It is fair that enforcement is stepped up and repeated offenders’s bike confiscated and auctioned off. Look at Kesas during peak hours. Bikes dont use their bike lane , instead they just like to squeeze in between cars . When accidents happen, the car get the blame which the bike isnt supposed to be in the car lane in the first place

• Zeedzler on Apr 08, 2022 at 2:29 pm

What is the motorcycle capacity or cc to use the motorcycle lane? Can a 1000cc bike use the motorcycle lane?