Geely FY11 – interior pics of new coupe SUV revealed

We’ve seen the exterior of Geely’s upcoming “Sports Coupe SUV”, codenamed FY11; now here are official images of the car’s interior. Looks good, doesn’t it?

Geely says that as the FY11 will be its most driver centric model yet, the interior design places heavy emphasis on the person behind the wheel. The dashboard has an asymmetric design and the big infotainment panel screen adopts a “flying wing” design that is tilted slightly towards the driver.

The dual layer dash features a chrome strip outlining the infotainment panel, interlaced with and layered under the cover of the matte black surface. The contrast between the chrome and black dash creates a unique 3D visual effect, Geely says. Sitting on opposite ends are “embossed” air vents, each sitting on top of different layers of the dash, further emphasising the asymmetric nature of the cockpit.

The steering wheel is a small multi-function flat bottomed item and the design of the door cards was inspired by the traditional art of origami folding. Sharp lines outline the door handles and storage spaces.

In the centre console, one will find an airplane throttle-styled shifter and metallic handrails, elements that have featured in previous Geelys. Like the screen, the controls are also tilted slightly towards the driver. Ambient lighting can be found on the doors and central tunnel. Geely says that the FY11’s seats draw inspiration from race car bucket seats, while taking comfort into account. The headrests were designed based on those found in first-class airline cabins, it’s claimed.

Geely’s first model on the Compact Modular Architecture platform will be powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine with 235 hp and 350 Nm. The coupe SUV, which is designed in the style of Mercedes-Benz’s GLC and BMW’s X4, will have front-wheel drive and AWD variants.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• FY11 or reads as FY2, come here can be renamed as Gen2. Make it so.

Geely, P1, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Lotus, L&C, > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • The Roti john Company Sdn Bhd on Jan 29, 2019 at 12:15 pm

The real game changing replacement, HABISLA Gen2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Exactly bro. Now get X70, after trade in for Proton X80 Coupe Suv ,

• Roti john HOLDINGS Sdn Bhd on Jan 29, 2019 at 1:59 pm

The real game changer replacement for Gen2 is kambing soon, HABISLA Proton models!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Abdul Rahman Bin Kassim on Jan 29, 2019 at 1:13 pm

Dedak has made you go crazy.

It will not happen. It will be named after something else

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Yet another one plumbing new depths of stupidity. Your comments have nothing to do with car or automotive. Please stick to the topic. Ah wait, I just realised this is the same troll.

• Adrian Lim on Jan 29, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Read his comment again.

He talked about how the car will not be named after the Gen-2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Him throwing accusations of dedak is nothing to do with car or Gen-2 at all. Is he retarded or something?

• Lowyat K/tard Kopitiam User on Jan 29, 2019 at 9:50 pm

john is not any better though. john selalu bash the new govt as well as good brands like toyota, perodua, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • JOACHIM on Jan 30, 2019 at 11:21 am

I don’t see why is that an issue. John seemed to hit all the nails regarding the failures and more failures, and the unkempt promises of the new administration. It’s only those who keep telling us not to talk about it, and worse using multiple fake accounts to do so, are guilty of being ignorant and burying their heads in the sand. About him whacking Toyota & Perodua, I see it quite justified as well. Their best seller, Axia, is totally an unsafe car and both Toyota & Perodua should be made liable for selling such unsafe cars to the public. John’s way of education may seem harsh but it’s the bitter truth.

• Its from China, so thread with caution….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
    • *Tread. BTW, you must be one cautious guy because almost 80% of everyday things we use and eat come from China. Even at night, you sleep also need caution because big chance the bed and pillows you using come from China too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Safety First on Jan 29, 2019 at 12:09 pm

99% of things in ur house and what you wear & use is from China. Did you use them with caution as well?

• so does your iPhone. But yall queue up for it anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Western brainwashed.

• Wah, Geely hebat! Terbaik! Best automaker!

• RM200k SUV Coupe

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 29, 2019 at 11:41 am

BMW will have something to say about that LCD cockpit design …

• Having only 1 side with grab handle does make it look asymmetrical. Hope the slot under the aircon controls have wireless charging for pongs. And wud be sleek if the aircon controls can be enhanced with touchscreen type later.

• Proton X60

• QChan on Jan 29, 2019 at 11:59 am

Yep. I like……

A thoroughly modern interior! Clap, clap, clap……..

• albag on Jan 29, 2019 at 12:17 pm

the name Geely is so cartoonish.. unable to show any confidence and boldness in it. how to convince ppl to buy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • And yet it’s the 3rd largest car maker in the largest car market in the world, beating the likes of Honda and Nissan. In case you haven’t heard, Geely cars are sold under the Proton brand in Malaysia.

• Goes to show some kataks never left the coconut. albag is such.

• Goes to show some kataks never left the coconut. albag is one such.

• Toyota (Tou You Da) meaning Kepala Besar is very confident.

• benzs on Jan 29, 2019 at 12:29 pm

BMW X6 DNA spotted.

• X6 took its design from Gen-2.

• Was ist ein Proton Ja? on Jan 29, 2019 at 9:36 pm

Don’t syiok sendiri. BMW workers and designers (especially Chris Bangle) did not and still do not know about the existence of Proton, let alone their Gen-2 model

• JOACHIM on Jan 30, 2019 at 11:24 am

Then nobody has the right to say that FY11 has anything related to X6 since your logic tell you that X6 has nothing to do with Gen-2.

• Ksatria on Jan 29, 2019 at 12:43 pm

I do hope this design will reach to Msian shores via Proton.
    Suprima could’ve been a good crossover too..too bad

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 29, 2019 at 3:31 pm

x6 exterior audi interior

• X70 is too expensive for average malaysian. Start from RM 104K) Soon will be big discount for this car.

Should get a product that selling below RM 70K if you intend to sell well.

You should look at perodua product to get the answer.Morover, the Geely engine has yet to be proven reliable.

• Avenger on Jan 29, 2019 at 5:40 pm

If you want a poor car go for Perodua products. If you want a full featured, safer, and overall the better, more comfortable car go for Proton products.

• Proton will never reach this stage on its own

• Avenger on Jan 29, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Neither does any Japanese makes, but you don’t them Japs complaining.

• Seriously the best interior for geely car so far n not forget gle or x6 look alike but I just don’t really understand 1 tiny thing. What is that handle doing there? For sure it’s a urban suv so that hideous handle should not be there. Pls get rid it off

• Jingooo on Jan 31, 2019 at 12:37 am

When Perodua sales man .. start worried and comments… hahahaa

• Vijay on Mar 19, 2019 at 12:35 pm

Hey guys @paultan. I frequent your website regularly and religiously. You have the best automotive blog in Malaysia, ever, period. One huge pet peeve I have is your image gallery. I think it’s really easy to implement a left/right arrow navigation where you jump to the next image. It makes the experience far more intuitive and user-friendly. #justsaying