Koenigsegg plans to build hybrid supercar for 2020

Koenigsegg vehicles are rather expensive but the company is aiming to provide something more “affordable,” as Top Gear reports. The idea is to offer something positioned below its current crop of ultra-exotic cars as means to attract new customers, and in the process, increase the company’s sales volumes.

“We’ve been looking to expand our offering because basically, our brand has outgrown our production volumes by quite a big margin. We have several years of delivery time on the super-exclusive hypercars we’re building today, said the company’s CEO, Christian von Koenigsegg.

The yet-unnamed supercar is said to carry an estimated price tag of one million euros, and could get the (sales) volumes into the hundreds from the current 20 cars per year.

In this endeavour, the company is leveraging on its improved strategic partnership with National Electric Vehicle Sweden (NEVS), which is the all-electric successor of Saab. Recently, both companies announced a joint venture, with NEVS investing 150 million euros to acquire a 20% stake in Koenigsegg’s parent company.

“Our ambition is that this car will be completely CO2 neutral,” Christian told the publication, adding that the vehicle will be a hybrid that utilises its camless engine technology.

“Given the FreeValve technology, we can actually cold-start the car on pure alcohol, down to -30 degrees Celsius, so there’s no need for any fossil fuel mix then. The idea is to prove to the world that even a combustion engine can be completely CO2 neutral,” he notes.

Christian also explained the decision not to go fully electric: “if you imagine that Tesla today is producing around half of all the battery cells in the world, and that’s just about enough for 300,000 cars. Then you hear Volkswagen is going full electric, BMW too, and that’s millions of cars. It’s quite easy to realise that there will be a cell shortage coming up very quickly.”

Despite the “lower” price point, the new supercar will look “like a Koenigsegg,” with the company CEO assuring that there will be no cannibalisation of its current over-a-million-euro offerings.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2019 at 6:16 pm

I hope Proton fanboys don’t come here and say their X70 is better than this Koenigsegg.

I have seen in forums, some Proton fanboys say their X70 got AMG technology from Mercedes because Geely owns 10% of Daimler AG Germany.

Some Proton fanboys go to the extent of saying their X70 is better than Pagani Zonda….malu wei

• Spin Too Much on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:23 am

FYI. A Volvo truck almost beat a Koenigsegg One1. (https://paultan.org/2014/11/14/video-volvo-fh-truck-vs-koenigsegg-one1-track/)

As everyone knows, Geely has a major stake in Volvo AB (owner of Volvo Trucks).

• Roti john Sendirian Berhad on Feb 04, 2019 at 6:59 pm

The real game changing supercar with hybrid technology, habisla ancient Proton!

• Shonen on Feb 08, 2019 at 9:31 am

Hi, Paultan.org,

I think you guys might want to consider revamping your Comments section to some other “system”, perhaps like what Soyacincau has done to theirs lately.

Maybe requiring people to register in order to comment. Cos the way the current comments section is going is just full of meaningless flame wars that isn’t constructive at all. The few insightful or thoughful comments are being drowned out by all the trollings and flame baits.

Sincerely,
    Shonen.