Apple patent for facial recognition unlocking – report

Apple has filed a patent for facial recognition technology which will enable users who are registered with the vehicle to unlock doors as they approach, according to Futurism.

Though published very recently, the patent was actually filed early in 2017, according to the document sighted on Free Patents Online, which dates the patent back to before Apple transferred more than 200 employees from Project Titan, its self-driving car endeavour. As such, it is unclear if the development of facial recognition technology is part of a current, ongoing process, or if it is something from Project Titan’s earlier days which Apple wants to safeguard for possible later use.

apple-titan-render

Described as ‘system and method for vehicle authorisation’, the patent appears to illustrate a facial recognition system that can accommodate personalised settings for each registered user, from seat and mirror position settings which are commonly used presets in cars today, to other parameters such as climate control and infotainment.

Apple’s own facial recognition for its devices, Face ID, already grants users access to their devices by looking at the camera, bypassing the need for a passcode. Where this ease of access posed questions of legality in instances of devices belonging to suspects of criminal activity, there will be concern for the immediate security of users logged in to vehicles saved with their biometric data. What say you, dear readers?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• SK, Lim on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:54 pm

What about jockey services then? Apple car owners have to park it far away because it unable to recognise the jockey face?

• The End on Feb 20, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Habisla Paultan! This is a car site but a silly author just posted an article about smartphone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
      • BOYRACER on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:19 pm

Did you even finished reading the whole article?

• stupid or what?

• Engineer on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:29 am

What are prattling about? Read the article content! Apple is bringing their FaceID to the automotive sector, like how recent iPhones can unlock the screen via your face, future cars can do the same. Though I agree with the poster above, this will only work with self driving/parking cars.

• digidigi on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:57 am

You apple hater ah? Haha

• YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 3:58 pm

ha ha ha, have so much of technology, then when something goes wrong, to repair, the bill is a big bomb.

Just like Mercedes owner who kena battery hybrid bill of RM130k. He also pengsan I heard.

• Engineer on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:41 pm

Don’t use computers or smartphone then. In fact, don’t come here to display that caveman mentality. This blog can do without this Luddite stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Computers and smart phones are RM2000

Battery for EV car is RM130k

I think got big difference. This is why people like you always got no money cause you spend all your earnings servicing your high tech car.

• Shazwan on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:31 pm

john, where is your Proton EV car? Rakyat masih tunggu. Not the Geely GE11, but our Proton Iriz EV.

• Engineer on Feb 21, 2019 at 9:33 am

You accused others of upliking/disliking vote count, but from these comments alone I can see it was you who are the culprit. Have you no shame? Or perhaps shame haven’t reached caveman evolution yet? If the world had more people like you, we would still be riding the horse and buggy.

• Bro. He memang no shame, no honour, no pride as a human being. Let him wallow with his dupes. Only mad pipu does that.

• Sarong sakti on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:02 pm

3D printing face mask resembling femes celebs,

• benzs on Feb 20, 2019 at 4:39 pm

User : SIRI please unlock car
    SIRI : Your facial recognition failed
    User : Damn! How am I going to go back now
    SIRI : Would you like to request Grab
    User : Sure, I’ll ask Apple store to reset my car
    SIRI : Your Grab have arrive

• rchoo on Feb 20, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Copied from Huawei A.I.

• Osaka skater on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Many koreans will failed they had done plastic surgery.

• Jimny on Feb 20, 2019 at 7:51 pm

Kalau kena beguk ke tumbuh jerawat kena naik grab