Gov’t to look into stiffer penalties for reckless drivers

The transport ministry says the law could be amended to impose stiffer penalties on those who cause road fatalities, especially involving driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Transport minister Anthony Loke said that those responsible for such offences must be held accountable, and that there should be no compromise on the matter.

He said that the government will however first need to study the feasability aspects of such a move before amending the Road Transport Act 1987 to increase the penalty for causing road fatalities, Bernama reports.

Loke said that the views of the police will be sought on the matter, because enforcement on traffic offences, especially causing death due to driving under the influence of alcohol, comes under the jurisdiction of the police.

“The ministry will study the matter in depth before making any decision. The views of the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) and the transport industry will also be sought for consideration,” he told the Dewan Rakyat last week.

Last year, Loke had said that it would review existing laws in dealing with drink driving cases to ensure their effectiveness, and that an immediate solution will be sought to address the issue if existing provisions under the law were not deemed sufficient to deter erroneous drivers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• rally_fan (Member) on Mar 25, 2019 at 10:19 am

biggest problem is enforcement.. not just to curb drink driving, but to curb the fact that the vast majority of riders, drivers do not follow the laws that govern driving and riding safely. there must also be a problem with driving/riding lessons as new drivers and riders just do what everyone else does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Brian on Mar 25, 2019 at 2:30 pm

How to enforce when this gomen is freezing more monitoring systems, waiving fines, & legalising breaking rules & regulations? The head starts rotting 10 months so soon.

• Gabriel on Mar 25, 2019 at 3:09 pm

Gov’t to look into stiffer penalties for reckless drivers. Read again.

• Ya, penalties on those Myvi and Vios drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2019 at 12:40 pm

my message to all the Perodua drivers: pls dont act like samseng on the road! perodua is lucky to have toyota engine, quality, and high RV!

jangan busukkan nama toyota! we are all driving classy cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • FkVios on Mar 25, 2019 at 4:15 pm

and those vios driver!!! PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR FOG LIGHT!!!!!

• Tahir the Traveller on Mar 25, 2019 at 11:12 am

Should be done years ago by previous Govt.

Went to iceland back in feb. Speeding is surely no laughing matter there. Got pulled over at 4am for speeding by a police cruiser, parked right in front of my car. The police officer came up to my window and asked me to get out of the car. And they clocked me driven 147 km/h above the 90 km/h speed limit .

The saman was a hefty around $615 USD equivalent to RM2,500 here. The same can be imposed here in Malaysia and Gantung lesen 6 bulan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Kent L on Mar 25, 2019 at 12:26 pm

The motorcyclists are the worst. They ride and lane splitting all the way. They supposed to keep to the left always. No wonder they have the most fatalities. Stiffer punishment on those just won’t help much, when you have discount on summons. Moreover, those outdated rules had been forgotten and not enforced. Yet they can’t even differentiate traffic lights or the purpose of left lane, middle lane and fast lane. Getting worst the traffic in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Ollie on Mar 25, 2019 at 1:30 pm

60% of fatalities involve motorcyclists. No enforcement, every single day I see motos ignoring red lights, IN FRONT Of traffic police, illegal uturns, opposite traffic. What in the heck is going on

• Don’t forget about the motorcyclists too, they are not above the law & they should not be above the law.

Motorcyclists are the ones who is most reckless and yet when an accident is caused by them, other road users have to pay for their mistakes.

• Josh Mui on Mar 25, 2019 at 1:01 pm

That will be interesting if reckless motorcyclists kill him/herself with another car driver….. How solve?

• John Doe on Mar 25, 2019 at 1:39 pm

Enforce penalties on bribery and you’ll have all the problems solved. Isn’t that what you’re supposed to do in the first place?

• Bribery has been legalised bro.

• John Doe on Mar 25, 2019 at 2:57 pm

It has never been so rampant.
        I feel like i’m crossing a dodgy border nowadays when i pass them.

• Ben Yap on Mar 25, 2019 at 2:14 pm

charge them for murder la… no need to enact new act.

• We need more police traffic patrolling the roads & highways….their present is important so that road user knows that they are being constantly watched. You can see all drivers drive within speed limit every time there’s a patrol car nearby…

• Dom Toreno on Mar 25, 2019 at 5:56 pm

what about these type of Drivers?
    1. Forget to take medication.
    2. Driving under the influence of drug/medication.
    3. Poor eyesight.
    4. Hand arm leg foot Arthritis.
    5. Mental disorder.

• Joseph Tan on Mar 25, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Government is required to educate most driver of the difference of distance between side mirror and the actual.

I had nearly collided with cars that changed to my lane even I am only 5 feets away.

• vVivi Zurianti on Mar 25, 2019 at 8:25 pm

Malaysia enforcement is a joke. Everything here is legal, until getting caught.

• Look until another 100 years. Yawning

• Sparcov on Mar 27, 2019 at 8:53 am

I think this is a good move to educate people. No means not. Rule of law, follow law.

Same goes to enforcement.

• Stop double standard from enforcers. During traffic congestion, traffic polices directed you to use emergency lanes When no emergency, it is illegal to use emergency lanes. Sometimes, when you thought it is alright to use emergency lanes during peak hours because traffic police allowed before but you can get a summon. This let me think that it is okay for you to rob a bank when you are so desperate provided that you get a green light from enforcers.