Aprilia RS 660 concept motorcycle to debut in 2020?

First shown as a concept motorcycle as the EICMA show in Italy in 2018, the Aprilia RS 660 concept motorcycle generated a lot of interest from the public. In a motorcycle market that is bereft of a pure middleweight sports machine, the RS 660 promises much for the rider who wants a bike that goes fast but isn’t encumbered with the weight and liabilities of a litre class bike.

According to French website Moto-Station and as reported in asphaltandrubber.com, development on the RS 660 is on going. “We continue the development of the RS660, it follows its path; there are no special reasons that would prevent it from arriving in 2020. At the upcoming EICMA fair in Milan, it will be presented in final version,” said a Piaggio spokesperson.

While there is a paucity of details on the RS 660, being a twin is a given since slicing the RSV4 mill in half would not be a big deal. As for power, a number a little above 100 hp would be a good guess as that is the median for bikes in this class.

Given that Aprilia expects this to be “the first model of a new platform,”, we can assume that a naked 660 will be coming some time soon. As for pricing, it is said the Aprilia RS 660 will be marketed to a specific price point, possibly in between work-a-day bikes like the Honda 650 and right up against super sports machines like the Yamaha R6.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Jonn Dol on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:41 pm

Can’t believe it took years for Aprilia to come out with a medium sportsbike..

• youngun on Mar 28, 2019 at 8:12 pm

If the price is approachable, she’ll be in my wishlist… I’m not sure by 2020 I’ll see CBR650R in M’sia.

• Rosdi Mahmud on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:08 pm

660? That looks like the perodua viva engine.

• Wow wow wowww, super sports class styling.. 660cc, tho mentioned twin cylinder but plllss pllsss come out with a v4 or at least loan triumph ‘s triple.. That wil mean a serious business!! Revive the lost glory days of 600s..

• Konrad gerats on Mar 29, 2019 at 3:57 am

Aaah! when I saw the RS I was hoping for a two stroker! Shame ;(((

• MengkuduMasam on Apr 03, 2019 at 1:23 pm

Those Brembo…

confirm will become most targeted stuff by Y15, RR and kaki modify…