Toyota opens up 24,000 hybrid technology patents, offers royalty-free access for everyone till 2030

In a move to promote hybrid cars, Toyota will be offering royalty-free access to its hybrid vehicle technology patents with immediate effect, and it is to last until 2030. According to a statement by the Japanese automaker, it will grant licences for nearly 24,000 patented technologies (including some pending applications) that relate to electric motors, converters and batteries.

The royalty-free patents include advanced technologies found in electrified vehicles, particularly those used in hybrid, plug-in hybrid and fuel cell electric vehicles that have helped Toyota achieve enhanced performance, reduced size, and cost reductions.

The auto giant will also provide fee- and contract-based technical support to other manufacturers developing and selling electrified vehicles when they use Toyota’s electrification technologies as part of their powertrain systems. This includes helping other automakers achieve high-level product performance in terms of fuel efficiency, output, and quietness.

Ultimately, by granting royalty-free patents and providing technical support on its vehicle electrification systems, Toyota aims to help further promote the widespread use of EVs, and in so doing, help governments, automakers, and society at large accomplish goals related to climate change.

Toyota’s executive vice president and board member, Shigeki Terashi said: “Based on the high volume of inquiries we receive about our vehicle electrification systems from companies that recognise a need to popularise hybrid and other electrified vehicle technologies, we believe that now is the time for co-operation.”

The decision is part of the company’s move to help combat rising emissions and bridge the industry’s transition to fully electric vehicles. “If the number of electrified vehicles accelerates significantly in the next 10 years, they will become standard, and we hope to play a role in supporting that process,” Terashi added.

Through this, the company hopes to spur the development and market introduction of EVs around the world. Toyota has long considered this a top-priority management issue, and it believes that environmentally-conscious vehicles will contribute to the fight against climate change, but only through widespread use and global reduction in CO2. Good guy Toyota, yes?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• FudgeMeSideways on Apr 04, 2019 at 2:31 pm

To my limited knowledge, Tesla and Toyota have both put their patents up for sharing, that has been picked up by Chinese EV manufacturers. So i would assume the efficient thing to do is to use this EV designs as well.

• Engineer on Apr 04, 2019 at 2:54 pm

In EV, the gist of the tech isn’t the motor but the battery itself. Which is why Tesla & Toyota were crafty to not release battery related patents.

• Panjang on Apr 04, 2019 at 2:59 pm

Proton cars with free Toyota hybrid techno.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Apr 04, 2019 at 6:32 pm

I am still waiting for Iriz EV 5 years now. Proton said it needed few billion more to do more research on hybrid.

Well here it is FREE. Tesla also was giving FREE blueprints from A to Z how to build a hybrid 8 years ago.

Any car company ca get it free and no need to ask billions in grants to do research on EV/Hybrid

• EDITOR on Apr 05, 2019 at 1:24 am

Ready for mass production when the market is ready. And?

• EDITOR on Apr 05, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Proton iriz EV is only a concept car. It’s not for the public. And now, Proton will only rebadge Geely cars. They won’t make anymore cars on their own

• EDITOR on Apr 05, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Iriz EV is using well proven EV tech and using LG Li-Ion batteries. It it as ready for production as any car, but only waiting for the go ahead when the market is ready for it. Anything else?

• topkek on Apr 05, 2019 at 8:36 am

Yeah later if price 100k you bash pulak

Topkek

• Go back to lowyat. This is not a keyboard warrior site

• Lets See on Apr 05, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Yes Kunta. Take your advice, go back to lowyat. This is not a keyboard warrior site.

• So I can expect Perodua to announce they will come out with hybrid car later today? I have been waiting so long for Perodua to rebadge any of Toyota hybrids but every I am getting more and more disappointed.

If Perodua is not intending to come out with hybrid despite Toyota’s generosity above, I can only surmised they are not honestly making cars fit for the public but just to clean up the junks and outdated tech thrown out by Toyota.

Perodua, I am counting on you later today. Don’t make me disappointed for much longer.

• Proton Iriz EV the game changer.

• EDITOR on Apr 04, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Proton iriz EV is only a concept car. It’s not for the public. And now Proton will only rebadge Geely cars. They won’t make anymore cars of their own

• john Makan Kuih 10X on Apr 04, 2019 at 10:00 pm

*Game Over

• Azman Kurt on Apr 04, 2019 at 3:38 pm

Royalty free my ass. Other sites mentioned the entry fee per patent varies between 450k to 900k and each patent is interlinked in between. Some suggest to access a tech, at least 72 patents is required. Just imagine the actual cost per tech is staggering. And half of the patents are from circa 00′ meaning they will expire soon, so i guess Toyota just milking their archives to fund their next fridge box.

• Celup King on Apr 05, 2019 at 1:46 am

Not just that. Toyota is continuing to milk their museum by donating their ancient cars for Perodua to rebadge and sell it to us at over the top prices with pisspoor specs.

• If the news on patent up for grab is free, then it must be too odd to believe.. No one gives anything for free in business world!! Mz be “Udang Galah di sebalik batu” !!