Government may remove price cap on RON 95 petrol when targeted fuel subsidy scheme is introduced

The government may remove the price cap on RON 95 petrol once the targeted fuel subsidy scheme comes into effect. According to domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, no decision has been made as yet, but Putrajaya is exploring the available options, The Star reports.

“We have two options. We could remove the cap once the targeted subsidies come into effect, or we could maintain it. The Cabinet has not decided on this yet. We will also have to decide on whether the targeted subsidies will be based on the current capped price, or on a float pricing system,” he said.

Following the introduction of the weekly fuel price float system at the start of the year, it was announced in February that the retail price of RON 95 petrol would remain capped at RM2.08 per litre even if the market price of crude pushed the pump price beyond that level.

The targeted fuel subsidy – meant for the bottom 40 (B40) low-income group – was announced by finance minister Lim Guan Eng in Budget 2019, and is expected to be introduced sometime in the middle of the year.

The scheme will offer a subsidy of 30 sen per litre up to 100 litres a month for cars with an engine capacity of 1,500 cc and below, while motorcycles with engines below 125cc will get 40 litres of RON 95 a month at the same rate.

Earlier this month, the government said that the subsidy, which is expected to be limited to cost of living allowance (BSH) recipients, will likely be banked in directly into the accounts of those eligible each month.

Saifuddin reiterated that the ministry plans to use the BSH to finalise the number of those eligible for the aid. “We are keen on using this method, among other methods that have been proposed. If the Cabinet agrees that this method is best, we can immediately start disbursing the funds to recipients at the end of each month,” he said.

He added that the ministry was awaiting the updated BSH database before the scheme can proceed, but said it should be ready very soon. “They are currently cleaning up the data and are at the final stages. We want to ensure the data is credible – the deserving must be included and those who do not deserve assistance must be removed,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rugal on Apr 23, 2019 at 12:30 pm

Untunglah CRV and Civic 1.5 owner. They can enjoy the scheme. Poor Persona owner, they are not eligible to get subsidised fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 9
    • Ben Yap on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:33 pm

that’s why i’m the proud owner of the civic turbo. for persona, since the horsepower only 107, they are better off buying a bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
      • Shrec on Apr 23, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Good on your civic turbo bro. Then subsidized birkins and kapal mewah Equanimity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Everest on Apr 23, 2019 at 5:58 pm

Are you sure Civic 1.5T is eligible for the subsidy? What are you smoking?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:40 pm

According to PH car CC category, a big YES!

• Everest on Apr 25, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Have they announced the details? The subsidy is mainly cater for B40 group. Do you think Civic 1.5T is the car for the B40 group? Where the hell is you YED coming from?

• Ksatria on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:33 pm

Persona owner oredy saved so much, Persona priced Rm50k only. CRV 150K and Civic 1.5, 120K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • panjang on Apr 23, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Unless they catgorise that models as ‘premium’ vehicle……

The gomen is trying to save and one cheeky way to do it is only gives the subsidy to below certain cc and below for non-national car and certain cc below for national car.Think about it, its possible coz its their power. Then they went to save further and say rebadge car wont count….ouch!

• ThAboIt on Apr 23, 2019 at 9:56 pm

Wait, are CRV and Civic owners considered as B40?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 23, 2019 at 11:55 pm

According to PH car CC category, a big YES!

• ThAboIt on Jun 12, 2019 at 10:10 am

Don’t tell me that these CRV and Civic owners apply car loans using postcards.. because from what I know, you need to use MyKad for that. And you submitted your car info to be evaluated by the govt in order to get the petrol subsidy. From there the govt can easily track down your bank details etc.. so I think you’re on the right track.

• Subsidise the rich, tax the poor. Orz

• panjang on Apr 23, 2019 at 12:39 pm

Adoi….why only limit/constraint/corner yourself with only 2 choice?
    I still remember a petroleum company openly mentioned they are ready even for open competition where station will set their own price.

Idiots will bash saying station owners will unite and sell at high price but idiots forget that the station owners are also trying to earn a living and lived based on volume. Just how Malaysian bothered to drive out and que for hours when fuel price hike for few cent, they wont bother to drive a bit further for cheaper petrol.

• Just how Malaysian bothered to que for hours to park right next to hypermarket entrance , they wont bother to drive and park a bit further , then walk to entrance

• manifestotototo on Apr 23, 2019 at 12:51 pm

Me not rich, not b40, have to pay tax oso, now no more petrol subsidy. Give me reason to support this gov.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 5
    • Ben Yap on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:34 pm

there is a famous term… u tak suka, u keluar. alternatively, wait until the next GE and vote.

• P. Alyanna on Apr 23, 2019 at 3:54 pm

Wait until next GE our country betul-betul will pokai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • ganni on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:50 pm

Wait until next GE, this govt overzealous actions to uncovered mismanagement and shenanigans in LTH, FGV and LTAT. Causing all depositors and peneroka lost huge money. Shady deals and books being cooked hid the losses from squandering off money to give the perception that all was well. Wokay ajer

• M.Hamzah on Apr 24, 2019 at 11:37 am

Wokay kepala hotak. Many of the mismanagement happen during his first reign, many of those who mismanaged were his groomed underlings, many of them who got caught now got pardoned or NFAed when they switched sides to his party leaving their shit behind for UMNOBN to clean. Previous shady deals were only in the millions RM, now current government shady deals are in the Billions RM. Wait for next GE? Sorry I can’t wait til next GE to kick them out and close the door for another 60 years!!!

• YB Albert on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:03 pm

Shall we get bersih or any ngo to mogok besar besaran
      why always only B 40 gets goodies?
      WE r retired.95 percent of our children do not support us,baby boomers.In fact,some of them need parental help to pay the downpayment to buy properties.
      This gomen is known for u turns secara besar besaran.
      We are getting sick of initial promise of the cap at rm 2.08,and now free float pricing.Petronas is doubling their profits this year.Give it back to the rakyat,Mr.LGE.
      YOU can give bailouts to felda,TH..no issue.But dont forget the common folks who voted out the bandit regime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Alyaniff on Apr 23, 2019 at 5:01 pm

Dah kena kencing, lagi nak kata kerajaan dulu bandit? That is why PH always kencing berkali2 pun you guys supports, sebab you guys are dumbass!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
    • Sick & Tired on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:07 pm

So you don’t see the insides of Kamunting or Bamboo River?

• salgoodguy on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:40 pm

already got the chance… wasted!

• Domotomo on Apr 24, 2019 at 11:17 pm

you still need reason. really!!!

• They should let it be a open competition market for fuel stations just like every develop nation did. Let fuel stations set their own prices to be competitive in fuel sales.

• Aabbcc on Apr 23, 2019 at 5:25 pm

That may not go into the direction you have.

Since only few players (not petrol stations operators, instead their suppliers, like Shell, Petronas, etc.), they can team up with other players to push the petrol price up when international market price dropped.

You sure this is direction you want to go? Let the market move itself don’t always move in the direction of what majority people hope.

• Wong Kian on Apr 23, 2019 at 8:23 pm

Bro, travel a little bit. What he meant is
        Float the price but with MAXIMUM CEILING PRICE. Just like what all the nations did.

• panjang on Apr 25, 2019 at 4:51 pm

I guess u must have been buying things from one shop only since forever.

How many supermarket/hypermarket/convenience shop are there?
        Did they pakat and fixed their price?

• Daddykasi on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:34 pm

Subsidi tersasar.. Old Waja 1.6 no subsidy, new civic 1.5 turbo gip subsidy..

• I used vento 1.2 turbo and golf 1.4 turbo. I can enjoy the subsidy. While my friends use old persona gen2 no subsidy..

• newme on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:40 pm

Another boot licking on B40. And this is how taxpayers are repaid. Kill the golden goose and see what happen.

• Poor man on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:45 pm

Then, it all back to the same issue again, price hike on retail items. High cost of living for all Malaysian. Cause gomen use the money to rescue country..
    Susahlah MCM ni.

• Abesla on Apr 23, 2019 at 1:54 pm

Abesla Rakyat Malaysia! Only kroni2 & anak2 untung.

• Susbarbatus on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:36 pm

This govt is worst than the previous govt. Flip flop decision, unreliable, empty promises and the worst thing is, the manifesto is not quran that they will follow. The promise to reduce the fuel price is now gone down the drain. Every promise is made only to make their way into the govt. Once that is achieved, they become the devil themselves. Sorry, next GE you will not get my vote.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • alex chan on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:37 pm

buy groceries have to pay tax-sst
    use public toilet need to pay
    buy house need to pay tax-sst
    lawyer service to buy house need to pay tax – sst
    every year need to pay tax to local council – cukai taksiran & cukai tanah
    buy a car – the car already have multiple stages of tax imposed.
    then if buy the car must pay tax – sst
    roadtax summore
    insurance for the car also have to pay tax – sst
    want to go small vacation also kena tax at airport.
    parking? if use T&Go card at KLIA / KLIA2 oso 10% service tax imposed.

salary 5.7K only but income tax oso need to pay.
    when to BATA (I only can afford BATA shoes) to buy shoes oso need to pay SST.
    going back hometown to visit mother/father, need to pay tol.
    bring mother father to shop their groceries at Tesco need to pay tax-SST.

now need to pay petrol in full, no more subsidies since im not in B40 category.

what a wonderful life of M40 hahah…i will not vote PH anymore on the next election.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 23, 2019 at 3:57 pm

One second of rash decision, 4 years of suffering. No more PH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • 1MDB. Bring on 2MDB puhleese !

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 24, 2019 at 11:31 am

1MDB I see Bandar Malaysia taking shape, TRX standing high and mighty, PNB118 coming up fast. One rash decision, what do I see? Flying car that can’t take off, weeks on end without TNB electricity (need to run generator), now coming up no water for 3 days. If that case, yes please bring 2DMB, 3MDB, 4MDB to fix what PH is breaking the country.

• TheGuest on Apr 24, 2019 at 4:51 pm

there were only two things certain in life: death and taxes – Benjamin Franklin

• lut you on Apr 25, 2019 at 7:28 pm

Rebadged GST

• newme on Apr 23, 2019 at 2:50 pm

What happened to “Hari ini kita ambil kuasa, esok harga minyak akan turun”?

Now almost 365 esok already masih tak turun turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • kumaravel on Apr 23, 2019 at 3:18 pm

subsidy based on vehicle cc only is not acceptable as rich people also have low cc vehicles. all system bound to be manipulated. iron clad system ?? wait and see.

• ThAboIt on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:14 pm

You don’t read do you? Or you don’t understand? The first criteria of people that will receive the subsidy are amongst those B40. Rich people are not in that category. I doubt that people with no income also considered to be in that category. There are many ways govt can find out our income. From KWSP & LHDN for example. Furthermore, if you read carefully, the subsidy only eligible for them who is qualified for BSH (or previously known as BR1M). So, that require some tedious filling-in forms and updated yearly. You think that rich people have time to do all that just to receive merely a few hundred from govt every year? They probably earned more in a day.

• Crony on Apr 25, 2019 at 9:41 pm

No. They have their PAs to do that for them. Who says they aren’t willing to go the extra mile just to earn that extra buck? The only thing is, it isn’t them who is running that mile.

• ThAboIt on Jun 11, 2019 at 4:59 pm

You are seriously saying that a rich person who have records in banks which can be easily obtained by the govt to get away with their PA submitting forms etc. so they can get a mere few hundreds of petrol subsidy per year? Really? ‘Willing’ is one word but when I say ‘tedious’, don’t you think that first of all, the requirement to receive this subsidy is you have to identify yourself using your MyKad. From there the govt already know your identity. Then, how are you going to hide your bank transactions when your identity is already known? Don’t come back with “using a fake MyKad or fake bank account” because that won’t even work.

• Ouch Dee on Apr 23, 2019 at 3:24 pm

PH boleh! They can say! They can promise! They can do! And they can change whatever they promise! I guess it is for your own good?!

• No Cancer and No Freak Storm for future generations. on Apr 23, 2019 at 3:25 pm

We want more gasoline option to refill our modern cars truly fuel efficient engine euro6 compliant.
    We are willing to pay for unsubsidized Ron 92 euro 5 regular grade fuel.
    We do not want EURO2M carsinogic fuel.

• Mesin rumput on Apr 23, 2019 at 3:25 pm

I have a 660cc and a 1800cc car. Can I cheat?

• panjang on Apr 24, 2019 at 12:13 pm

U can try but only to discover they are smarter by ruling that only people whom own 1 car is eligible.

• Tlg jgn buat keja gilababi, tindakan ni terburu2 dan berpontensi terjadinya rusuhan besar apabila harga myk dunia x stabil dan naik mendadak dan menaikkan tekanan rakyat bawahan disbbkan sara hidup yg mendadak naik. Rm30 sbulan skadar membantu 1% sahaja.

• Tlg jgn buat keja gilababi, tindakan ni terburu2 dan berpontensi terjadinya rusuhan besar hingga memerlukan penglibatkan tentera, apabila harga myk dunia x stabil dan naik mendadak ianya menaikkan tekanan rakyat bawahan disbbkan sara hidup yg mendadak naik. Rm30 sbulan skadar membantu 1% sahaja.

• pomen on Apr 23, 2019 at 4:31 pm

“esok kita menang, petrol rm1.50”

hahahaha…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • john is otak batu on Apr 23, 2019 at 5:00 pm

So the B40 r Malaysian get it?!!!
    What about the rest ?!!! non B40 r not Malaysian???!!!
    Hey, rakyat put PH into power doesn’t only benefit B40.
    If they PH say so, next PRU rakyat will decide a new gomen that works without B40 preference!

• Alyaniff on Apr 23, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Dah kena kencing, lagi nak kata kerajaan dulu bandit? That is why PH always kencing berkali2 pun you guys supports, sebab you guys are dumbass!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Chris on Apr 23, 2019 at 5:26 pm

One term government…

I am extremely disappointed with this PH gov…

They have the money to do flying car, Protiga and they couldn’t care much about M40 group…

Bye bye PH… Thanks for ousting Jib Gor but no thanks for your useless contribution to the well-being of Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • lut you on Apr 23, 2019 at 6:12 pm

From RON 95 hit RM2.08 until now, how many government subsidized?

• Petrol no more subsidy , need permit to sell durians, add more AES cameras and what other surprises already 1 year and so many good news

• UTurn M on Apr 24, 2019 at 9:36 am

Good new for BN? After good news in Cameron Highlands, Semenyih, & Rantau, it looked to be good news as well in Sandakan.

• Umedlal Patel on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:23 pm

Don’t care what car is driven. Subsidy by the owners income tax and financial status should be taken into account even if the car registered to him is a Kanchil

• Mauricio Iancono on Apr 23, 2019 at 10:53 pm

Hahaha…never trust the politician people…orang politik tak pernah jujur…cakap tak serupa bikin…sebelum berkuasa janji macam2…dah pegang kuasa hilang semua janji2 yang ditabur…

• Call me by your name on Apr 23, 2019 at 11:21 pm

Rafizi mana rafizi?

• B40 guy on Apr 23, 2019 at 11:36 pm

Yo M40 people, if you get 3k salary and above and you buy nice imported cars like BMW, AUDI or Merc, you don’t complaint about not getting subsidies. We B40 people earning 1.6k paying tax as well, not just M40 people paying tax. Sorry not sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Lolwhut? on Apr 24, 2019 at 11:38 am

lolwhut? Don’t lie, RM1600 income doesn’t get taxed. You don’t even get taxed until your income breaches RM3000.

• Sammy Loo on Apr 24, 2019 at 12:50 am

good, hopefully lesser traffic jam after removing subsidy

• Luicha on Apr 24, 2019 at 10:45 am

Again M40 is being left out. Every year paid so much tax but get nothing in return. Are we not Malaysian? Remove all stupik tiers and just give the damm flat rate to all Malaysian!!!

• aiyaya on Apr 24, 2019 at 11:40 am

Always wonder why no property tax for those own more than 2 properties. Is it due to those setting the rules fall under this group? All the policy just scarify M40 but never touch the rich….

• GG PH govt on Oct 07, 2019 at 8:53 pm

Congratulation to PH govt! You did it! You successfully become a new BN! Sorry to say that PH want to suck money from every possible way. No diff from previous govt either!