PDRM not consulted on new tint ruling, says that it affects police work and the security of personnel

The new window tint regulations announced yesterday by transport minister Anthony Loke has received no shortage of response, and much of it is with regards to security, especially with the rear windows and rear windscreen now allowed to go full black. Apparently, the police was not consulted on the matter, and while they accept the new rules, they don’t agree with it.

“The police was not asked to discuss the new rules. I feel disappointed. They could have discussed (with us) and considered our point of view,” PDRM’s director of traffic investigations and enforcement department Datuk Azisman Alias told Harian Metro.

He added that the new regulations for private vehicles make police enforcement work tougher, and the safety of police personnel is also affected as officers will no longer be able to sight a car’s rear passengers during inspection. “Before this, we can see the passengers and driver, but with this new ruling, there’s no minimum visible light transmission (for the rear). It’s quite difficult for police to search and detect a passenger in the back,” he said.

The outgoing VLT rules, which is being replaced by the new one today

The traffic police chief added that the new rules also make it difficult for police to detect minor offences such as using mobile phones while driving and not wearing seatbelts.

“Yes, there are restrictions such as a fee (to go fully dark, including the front), and the need to fulfil requirements such as having no criminal record and such, but that’s like road tax for the car. There are motorists who don’t have licenses and can use that car too,” he added. The cop was perhaps trying to illustrate that anyone can use these heavily tinted cars despite the restrictions.

Before this new “unlimited darkness” ruling, the previous minimum visible light transmission (VLT) percentages were 30% for the rear windows and rear windscreen, as revised in February 2016. The 70% VLT for the front windscreen and 50% VLT for the front windows remain unchanged, but can be bypassed for those with valid safety or health reasons, for a fee of RM5,000. Read more here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Minum kopi on May 08, 2019 at 11:40 am

“The police was not asked to discuss the new rules. I feel disappointed. They could have discussed (with us) and considered our point of view,”
    The traffic police chief added that the new rules also make it difficult for police to detect minor offences such as using mobile phones while driving and not wearing seatbelts.

Can not minum kopi :(~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
    • Digidigi on May 08, 2019 at 2:19 pm

Instead of mobile phone and seatbelt , they should go patron more and lower our crime rate la …
      Oh ya but the best source of kopi is from road user

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Police themselves refuse policing, u know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Dredd on May 08, 2019 at 5:28 pm

With this new ruling, can we demand automakers to remove the rear view mirror so that cars can be made cheaper? You know, since it will be redundant because you won’t be able to see thru the back and all that.

• U-Tun on May 08, 2019 at 11:56 am

Today enforced tomorrow u-turn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • ShameOnYou on May 08, 2019 at 12:19 pm

Exactly! Jpj boss not matured not professional. Better catch those traffic offender. In this bolehland anything can happen in all black windows car. Windows whould be visible from outside.

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 08, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Come on. Past ruling already not doing good job some more want to talk. Why not you view the back passengers through the front windows?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 17
    • Safety First on May 08, 2019 at 2:35 pm

Past rulers never legalised something so unsafe. Past rulers have more brains than current ones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 32
      • Bossku Malu Apa? on May 08, 2019 at 5:11 pm

Yeah. Ask the one going to court with his Alphard. Never legalised but use it himself. That’s how past rulers do thing, do it in secrecy. That’s how they have more ‘brains’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
        • Safety First on May 08, 2019 at 7:02 pm

What exactly are you talking about? What “do thing in secrecy”? By law the rulers are allowed to have dark tints, and typically they don’t travel alone so safe to say they keep a well distance to other road users.

What about the public joe and janes? Do they have escorts to keep a buffer between other road users? NO!

If everyone start to tint theirs opaque, it will endanger all road users on a daily basis. So please think with that ‘brains’ and not spout irrelevant nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
          • Betol Kah? on May 09, 2019 at 1:00 pm

Rulers can have dark tints but not the rakyat? Where is fairness in this? And they have escorts just to clear the road for them, causing inconvenience and safety concerns to the public? Is this how the past ruling works?

Yeah, people with ‘brains’ will know whether it is nonsense or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Dredd on May 09, 2019 at 4:02 pm

It’s in the laws, it is legal. If you don’t like the laws, you change the laws to tighten it for all, not relax it so all hell can break loose. Since when New Malaysia became the Wild West?

• Betol Kah? on May 09, 2019 at 5:19 pm

If it’s the ruler, then it’s OK. If it’s normal citizen, then cannot. Double standard is OK for the past ruling. OKeey…

• Hafiz Hisham on May 10, 2019 at 12:09 pm

Past ruling? What are you, Bosku Malu Apa in another name? That would make it so obviously crystal clear who you really are. The gahmen has changed but what do I see? Daily some minister from the current gahmen traveling in dark tinted cars. You want to talk about previous gahmen, why not the current ministers remove the dark tints on their cars. Walk the talk. You want to blame the previous one but what is the current one doing? The same exact thing, and that makes them worse.

• Betol Kah? on May 13, 2019 at 11:55 am

Hello, who is the one who set the rules for previous gov? PH kah? This rule has existed a long time and you noobs think it is new. Nobody force you to tint your cars, so why blame the current one?

And everyone who says ‘past ruling’ is the same person? Hahaha. What a ‘good’ logic you have.

• Hafiz Hisham on May 08, 2019 at 9:40 pm

Ask the one going to court with his Alphard? For starters, he will tell you he has never made legal, dark tints for the general public. He will tell you he has never thought of endanger the public safety just for money. So how is the previous gomen worse that this money grabbing one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Ahmad Badawi on May 09, 2019 at 1:11 pm

Can you tell me why is he using even though it is not legal? You mean he is doing something illegal? Leader show show good example and not do illegal stuff himself. So how is the past Gov not worse than this one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Dredd on May 09, 2019 at 4:04 pm

Who told you it isn’t legal for members of the Parliament? It is legal. Check it out. It isn’t legal for the general public until now. If you want to talk about leaders showing good example, please look at those in Cabinet right now. They are truly scums.

• uk citizen on May 08, 2019 at 7:29 pm

uk also dont have limit for rear window.

• Nizam on May 08, 2019 at 3:27 pm

Easy to talk

• carazy on May 08, 2019 at 12:43 pm

I foresee U-turn around the corner..

• johnnas on May 08, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Anthony Loke has gone soft….in the head.

Should have increased the existing VLT regulation instead.

This is a huge fumble, seriously. Congrats to all dark window lovers. Good for you guys. Now ur dream of having a batcave is much closer now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Avenger on May 08, 2019 at 3:28 pm

Loki want’s to brood daily in his man cave Perdana. 0% VLT tint will help him get in the mood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Gamora on May 08, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Thanos in his Alphard would be more appropriate. To shield him on the day of sentencing.

• SK, Lim on May 08, 2019 at 7:05 pm

Funny how our resident PH troll continues with his blatantly obvious name changing acts.

• Dr Strange on May 08, 2019 at 10:03 pm

Thanos would say this government is an epic example of incompetence and mismanagement on a galactic scale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Thanos is dead… Due to corruption.

• Avenger on May 09, 2019 at 4:08 pm

No one ever truly dies. They live to fight again.

• Poo Singh on May 08, 2019 at 1:29 pm

But… is your opinion worth RM6 million annually?

• ANDY TAN on May 08, 2019 at 1:41 pm

all sorts of excuses, in my town 6 NINJAs patrolling at one time, wasting so much manpower and only catch drivers using phones. Nothing other than that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • C.P. MOHAN on May 08, 2019 at 1:46 pm

Wearing mask will also effect investigation tint or no tint

• Aniki on May 08, 2019 at 1:58 pm

It’s ok, those who want to make black behind just get more time from PDRM to check the back, it’s very simple. I still prefer 30% back so that car from behind still can see what is happening in front of me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Mr. Octopus on May 08, 2019 at 2:00 pm

Too dark tints are unsafe!

But if u can afford to pay RM5k every 2 years, it is no longer a safety concern…

So which is which now? Want money or safety concerns??

• Not Toyota Fan on May 08, 2019 at 2:18 pm

In a way I agree with PDRM but they need to get their minds out of the Cold War Communist Insurgency era. The regulation for tinting stems from this era but since 1989, the insurgency is officially ended.

Zero percent tint at the rear is absurd. It would have been better to reduce front to 60%, keep front passenger at 50% and reduce rear to 20%. That way, upon selling your car, there isn’t any need to remove front tint during PUSPAKOM inspection. Less wastage, less hassle, less red tape.

• obamamaa on May 08, 2019 at 2:24 pm

Rear windscreen shouldn’t be dark. What the purpose of rear view mirror if your rear windscreen is dark.

• banyakkan membaca on May 09, 2019 at 11:27 pm

lol. from inside you can still see outside. just not the other way around. UK also implement this kind of rule.

• choha on May 08, 2019 at 2:55 pm

i would say 90% of dark screen lovers are some sort of criminals

• Shane Mcmahon on May 08, 2019 at 3:23 pm

Funny but true. Just see how many JPJ officers got charged with corruptions. Still their supporters dare to come here and talk about money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • alldisc on May 08, 2019 at 4:24 pm

I truly believe this can make road blocks more interesting. When the back windows are all dark, police can insist the driver to wind down the windows or open the doors so everything is more clear. From the look upon your the driver’s face, police will know something is wrong already

• Brian on May 08, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Wind down and they risk seeing the barrel of a gun. So why take the risk with opaque tint?

• yawnz on May 08, 2019 at 4:31 pm

This is not the site to talk about corruption or biggest crook.

This is an automotive site. If you want to talk about corruption and crooks, please leave and go to those sites.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • JPJ need to regulate Puspakom as well. Why Puspakom standard does not follow JPJ ruling,when Puspakom is just a corporate company. JPJ need to look into this to standardize it

• John Doe on May 09, 2019 at 9:57 am

Really a Black Day.
    Kasut Hitam… Cermin Hitam… Negara Hitam…
    1 year to come up with all these petty issues…
    World Class MPs

• vVivi Zurianti on May 09, 2019 at 10:50 am

PDRM butthurt, malu and feeling the heat….becoz they have been providing outriders/police escorts to cars with heavy tints for so long. They seem to have endorsed the heavy tints last time

PDRM now making noise pulak…hahaah

• Bossku Malu Apa? on May 09, 2019 at 2:23 pm

Yeah, it’s been done a long time by the past ruling, people like ‘Safety First’ already admit it. See above.

• Unknown on May 09, 2019 at 4:11 pm

“In its statement, the ministry said that any individual may apply to darken their vehicle’s front windscreen and front side windows (either through the use of darker privacy glass or window tint film) for specific reasons, be it safety or health factors.”
        You obviously failed to read or comprehend. I will leave this here for you to stew on.