Proton offers 50% extra internet data promo for Raya – RM8 for 1.5 GB, RM21 for 4.5 GB, RM30 for 7.5 GB

In conjunction with the Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations, Proton has announced its Raya Additional Data Promotion which rewards customers with an extra 50% internet data upon topping up. Do note that the promo begins today (May 29) and ends on July 5, 2019 (5pm).

For example, those who purchase the 1 GB data plan (RM8) will get an additional 500 MB, while the 3 GB option (RM21) comes with an extra 1.5 GB. Heavy data users might benefit most from the 5 GB plan, because RM30 now gets you a total of 7.5 GB data. Pretty self explanatory, right?

There’s no catch, too. However, keep in mind that this offer is only available for cars equipped with the latest touchscreen head unit (localised version of Geely’s GKUI system), those being the Proton X70 range, the Persona Premium, Iriz Premium and newly-launched Exora Premium.

As standard, the Proton models mentioned above already come with 1 GB worth of data per month for free. This promotion is for those who require a little more data than that, and owners can purchase these add-ons through the Proton Link app for the X70, or the MyProton app on the rest. Stock up, peeps!

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• suomynona on May 29, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Such affordable data plan, i guess im getting a brand new Proton to enjoy this Raya promo ,

• Sambal udang on May 29, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Even if you buy the game over data plan, we can expect the headunit will not going to have good internet connection. Because of that, the internet data will be wasted as we cannot use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
      • Siam kap on May 29, 2019 at 7:49 pm

This is connected by a SIM card. If there’s any place that internet will be bad, chances are your phone connection will be just as bad too, ‘genius’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • newme on May 29, 2019 at 5:53 pm

Buying a car because of it’s ‘affordable data plan”? Wow, that’s ‘genius’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Aikon on May 30, 2019 at 11:28 am

Nope, this promo is targeted primarily at those who already HAVE Proton cars equipped with the feature. More CRM programme than sales tool. Do think a little deeper…

• 2019 j on May 29, 2019 at 5:53 pm

This data plan is so expensive. Better not to buy it because our phones data plan price is cheaper with more internet data. I dont understand why Proton is doing this kind of game over business when it’s obvious that nobody is buying internet data plan for car headunit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Amran on May 30, 2019 at 12:28 am

Fuu merecik… just in time for Raya balik kampung

• Gulai ayam kampung on May 29, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Actually these internet data is useless. It is because people use the headunit only for listening to music, watching videos and making a call. Why waste money for these game over internet data promo when we have our phone with internet connection… I hope Proton can learn more and realise that Proton always make game over strategies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • R j Berhad on May 29, 2019 at 5:48 pm

I agree with you Gulai. My phone have tons of internet data, why need to waste money for internet data that only can be used at the headunit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • DriveNewWays on May 30, 2019 at 2:30 pm

The head unit has capabilities to allows you to stream music online, that uses quite a lot of data… plus u can use it as hotspot…

Anyway..this is value added promotion for those who wants it… no one forcing you to buy it if you don’t need it… why bother complaining? duh!

• Giler unlimited on May 29, 2019 at 5:18 pm

Umobile gx30 got unlimited call/data meh..

• Not Toyota Fan on May 29, 2019 at 5:32 pm

Tethering lah. Your mobile data plan most probably has heck a lot more data than this miserly amount. Some more no need to pay extra.

• Absolute Rider on May 29, 2019 at 6:29 pm

May I know if we always use the infotainment system for navigation, online streaming music and so on, will it create log files or equivalent that can use up the 16GB esim memory?

Can we reset the GKUI infotainment system ourself just like our Android phone to factory setting?

Please help, thank you.

• Yes, you can. Tried it with my new Iriz. It is under the Setting menu. You can clear your cache like your normal phones, reset to factory settings etc…

• Absolute Rider on May 30, 2019 at 9:15 pm

Thank you very much NAP. My friend already book one and need some info. Who knows… I might get one later…. Just kidding…. My current ride is still okay to serve me.

Happy motoring!

• Alibaba Chiam on May 30, 2019 at 6:13 am

1.6cc no underpower

• 6G donald duck network 2030 on May 30, 2019 at 1:18 pm

So tiny 1.6cc of yours smaller than average radio controlled car nitro engine!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 30, 2019 at 11:33 am

just tether?

• Aikon on May 31, 2019 at 11:11 am

Exactly! Some people complain just for the sake of complaining…they probably have some beef with the company and can’t stand if the company offers something useful to customers or is doing better than expected